We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value B & B in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Save Saved
You added King George IV Inn to your Saves list
32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Value B & B in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this inn for one night as a solo traveler in October. It is not a luxury B&B, but my room was beautiful and the service was fantastic. It is not particularly close to the battery/White Point Gardens, Waterfront Park, or Market areas, but it is definitely close enough to walk. Apparently there is also a shuttle that can pick you up, but I prefer to walk when in Charleston. I would stay again and would absolutely recommend this inn to solo travelers, business travelers, and travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    87
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
218
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is not your ordinary inn or b&b. Narrow rickety stairs, not-quite-antique furniture, breakfast made to order by the innkeeper, knowledeable and charming, friendly staff. Eccentric but just right for Charleston. And with off street parking and a low price for downtown accomodations, it is defintiely worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Terry and Debra were the perfect hosts at the perfect B & B. The room was gorgeous and very roomy. Our breakfast was personally cooked to order and there was an additional table full of fruits, cereals, breads and breakfast cakes to supplement the homemade omelet! A fabulous location - we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. In addition, we were given wonderful recommendations for getting around and dining. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can't say enough what a great time we had at King George IV Inn. Terry was a grand host and made us feel quite at home even from our first phone conversation! The Inn was fantastic...not overly fancy, but we thought it had just the right amount of elegance and tons of charm. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully appointed. My boyfriend and I kept saying how it felt like we were really staying in someone's home as opposed to a hotel. We stayed in Room 6 on the 3rd floor which had a shared patio/porch that we really enjoyed as well as the cheery red color scheme throughout the room. In fact, we had such a lovely time there that we stayed 2 nights instead of the 1 we had planned. Well-situated near the College of Charleston campus, the hotel is close to tons of great restaurants on King St as well as a short walk down to the Battery area. When we arrived, Terry sat down with us and gave us a map which he highlighted with restaurant recommendations, things to see, etc. I showed this map to a friend who has lived in Charleston for 15 years, and he was impressed with Terry's suggestions, saying that he hooked us up with the real local favorites! Breakfast was terrific as well, with plenty of options, and cooked to order. All in all, if you are looking for a very comfortable, well-located, well-run and beautiful hotel in Charleston...for the price, The King George IV Inn is awesome! It's our favorite hotel thus far on our 3 week journey across the South. It's a terrific value, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have stayed at King George IV inn several times...really like its location...easy to walk to most downtown places from the inn. Good breakfast served each morning. Rooms are nice. While its just off a fairly low-traffic road, sometimes that traffic can be noisy (e.g. garbage truck). Prices quite reasonable for room and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having had a long held desire to visit Charleston, the King George IV Inn was the perfect place to base our Charleston explorations. Charlene gave us excellent tips on getting around via the free trolley and restaurants to try. Owners Terry and Deb are wonderful hosts. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and do a good job on the rooms.

We stayed in #5. All decorated for the holidays, the space gave us plenty of lounging choices. Kitchenette provided space to enjoy a quiet coffee/tea. My favorite space was the west facing porch because I'm a sucker for sun and sunsets. The inn's location couldn't be better. We walked to the city market, down from Cannon St., over to the Visitor's Center, all along King's St., over to Charleston College campus and all around the south of Broad St neighborhoods. We drove out to Kiawah Island, Folly Beach and explored Mount Pleasant and still didn't manage to use up our one tank of gas. Airport is easily accessible.

Breakfast allowed for having the full whack or watching the calories. Terry's omelets rock! Charlene's scrambled eggs are creamy and tasty. Deb's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (Christmas treat) are nearly irresistible.

Only wish that Terry had arranged for less blustery chilly weather while we were there. <Grins>

Room Tip: Try them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assendelft
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a great time staying here! Southern hospitality has a name! The King George IV Inn!
Because we we're travelling with 3 people Terry gave us another room for only 20 dollars extra!
Now that's what I call southern hospitality at it's best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790)historic home. The House is named The "Peter Freneau House", after a prominent Charleston journalist, and Co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The Inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches over-looking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George IV Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.