We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Save
You added King George IV Inn to your Saves list
32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This 200+ year old home has been transformed into a great B&B, well located for anything you want to do in Charleston. A delicious full breakfast each day prepared by either Terry or Charlene...and the price was right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate93426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed in the King George IV Inn recently while attending a multiday seminar that required quiet study time in the evening. The Inn was a wonderful location and had everything I needed for a great stay. It was unfornuate that some very loud construction started early every morning but I never had to worry about oversleeping. No noise problems in the evening. The staff was most apologetic for the situation, over which they had no control. They offered tea, sympathy and ear plugs. I will look forward to staying there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank betsy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is in a a great location and within easy walking distance to more tourist places than can be counted. The staff is the greatest. The rooms more than wonderful. If we return to the area this will be the first place we try and stay.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is really a great location and wonderfully remodeled in the original style of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padi176715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The King George IV Inn is in a great location - close to shopping, dozens of restaurants, the visitors center, etc., etc., but the rooms are very quiet. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, and clean. During the week, Charlene is there to welcome you, feed you, and answer all your questions - she's a real treasure. Breakfasts are simple, but with lots of the standard choices. And if, like us, you want to eat before the "official" 8:30 starting time for breakfast, there is a counter of cold foods plus coffee/tea that you can choose from. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandC02482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Terry was a very gracious host.He cooks a great omelet for breakfast.The house was very clean and spacious.Our room was beautiful with the decor for the correct time period.The people throughout the historic district were the most friendly and patient people of any town we have visited.We will revisit this Inn again when we are in Charlston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAY38464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are traveling to Charleston, South Carolina, don't overlook the King George IV Inn during your stay. My husband and I recently stayed at the inn. I can not say enough about the lovely, spacious room., the friendly staff, especially Debra. She can tell you everything from where to eat, to what tours to take. She's very welcoming, and she makes you feel like family. The Innkeepers were wonderful, and the morning breakfast was great. We stayed in room 5 clean, very beautifully decorated, and spacious. We loved sitting on the porch at night after a long day of site seeing. The Magnolia Plantation was beautiful. If you would like to try southern style food, go to Juestine's. If you go for lunch, don't make dinner plans, you'll be to full. We stayed for 4 nights, and we will definitely be back. The Inn is located in the middle of everything, so it was very convenient.

Room Tip: Room 5 was very spacious, and the porch was private and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great service, booked dinner reservations during restaraunt week for us. Management left me a birthday gift of Benne cookies, how nice! Close to everything, used our car one time. We will return. I will recommend KCI to anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,307 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
The Restoration
#4 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790)historic home. The House is named The "Peter Freneau House", after a prominent Charleston journalist, and Co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The Inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches over-looking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing