We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty room, didn't care for the Inn keepers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Save
You added King George IV Inn to your Saves list
32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Lacey, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty room, didn't care for the Inn keepers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at King George Oct 3-5. Good location. Nice cozy room. The breakfast was a joke. It was self serve. Very disappointing. For the money that Debra & Terry charge, we should have been waited on and pampered. Getting the food and cleaning up was tacky. I felt like I was at a Motel 6 not a fancy B & B. Had to pay for sodas and water. That sould have been included in our fee. The waffles were frozen, talk about lame! While the guests were eating, Terry just sat on the counter and watched. Creepy! He did not offer to do anything. When I checked in, I asked Debra, if I could have pancakes and she said she would let me know. Never heard. Great customer service! Yeah, right! Speaking of Debra, I only saw her once. She did not even tell us good bye or thank us for staying.

The young girl who is the office manger and the housekeeper who works on weekdays were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    91
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
230
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at the King George IV Inn Dec 06. It is one of the best. B&BS we have stayed at, in the US. It is situated in the center of historic downtown Charleston. The rooms are beautifully furnished spacious and perfectly clean with very comfortable beds.
Terry and Debra the hosts are extremely friendly and Debbie the house keeper a treasure very helpful.

The breakfasts cooked by Terry to order were wonderful, there are choices, but a tip, his omelets were delicious and his homemade breads a treat. Breakfast is taken in the breakfast room giving you a chance to talk to Terry, a great storyteller and gives you a chance to meet other guests for a chat.
If you fancy a late night snack there are cookies, fruit, teas, hot chocolate and coffee available any time in the breakfast room.

As we stayed during the Christmas period the entire house was decorated beautifully a pure delight.
This B&B is tfabulous if you fancy old fashioned hospitality and comfort.

  • Liked — The hosts beautifully decorated rooms.
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We loved the King George IV Inn! We spent four nights of our honeymoon here and enjoyed them all completely! The inn is a 200 year old Charleston home converted into 7 or 8 rooms, most with private baths (ours was). It is located just a 5 or 10 minute walk away from the historic market district of Charleston.

Our room was clean and beautiful. It had mostly older or older-styled furniture including a four-post bed. Our room had a private bath, kitchenette with mini-fridge, and access to a large porch that we shared with only one other room. The porch didn't have much of a view, but it was nice and private. The common porch on the floor beneath us had a bit of a better view. It was a lovely room. The only minor annoyance we noticed was that our room faced the street and the sunrise and the cars and light woke us up early each morning. It wasn't a huge deal but you might want to choose a room that does not face the street.

It is a bed and breakfast, thus breakfast was served each day from 8:30 to 10:30 in a breakfast room on the first floor. Terry, who owns the place with his wife, made breakfast each morning and each morning it was slightly different. We had eggs, grits, bacon, biscuits and gravy, sausage, waffles, and homemade cranberry-orange bread during our stay. Some guests enjoyed breakfast together in the breakfast room, but twice I collected breakfast on a tray and took it upstairs, which was completely acceptable. We never went out for breakfast because it was so good!

Terry was a wonderful host. He was a great conversationalist and had wonderful recommendations whenever we had a question. He pointed us to Jim N' Nicks BBQ, a terrific local restaurant, and when we were going to go to Folly Beach he recommended we go instead to Isle of Palms Beach. We are so glad we did! It was a lovely beach with inexpensive nearby parking. He even offered us beach towels, which we had forgotten to bring. He was willing to help in any way, but he was never too intrusive; we always felt like we could come and go as we pleased, whenever we liked.

The housekeepers kept the place perfectly clean, even washing the dishes we dirtied and left in our room each day.

Parking was free and on location, which is not true of every inn in historic Charleston.

The Inn was a great deal, a good location, it had wonderful innkeepers, a delicious and varying breakfast menu, and it perfectly combined the freedom to come and go as desired with the homeyness of a bed and breakfast. We would love to go back!

  • Liked — Historic Style, Breakfast, Terry
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

We just returned from our first visit to The King George IV Inn in Charleston, SC. (June 2-6). We were there to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we really picked a great place.

Our room on the third floor, #6, was very spacious and tastfully decorated. There was a little kitchen area leading to a huge porch shared with room #5. It was a cozy area to sit, have a drink, and reminisce about our married life. Even though there was a tropical weather system pushing through it didn't dampen our spirits. We sat there for the longest time and were never chased in by the storm.

The location of the inn was perfect. It is set in a quiet section of town, yet extremely close to a very nice shopping district and restaurants. There was never a problem with night time noise and interrupted sleep. We felt very safe walking around at night and coming in late. It was centrally located and we never used our car once we parked it upon arrival.

We were well taken care of by the inn keeper Terry and his staff. Terry had lots of good stories and kept the breakfast conversation going. Debbie was extremely helpful and if you had a question which she couldn't answer, she'd immediately jump on the phone and track down the information for you. What a dedicated employee and an enjoyable person!

Our room was always clean and waiting for us at the end of our day. Our breakfast was fresh and just enough. Coffe good and hot! Overall the inn was clean and well maintained and welcoming. We've stayed in many B&B's across the country over the years and this was by far a very exceptional establishment. We would not hesitate to return to the inn and spend more time in such a great old Southern city. We highly recommend the King George to anyone planning a Charleston visit.

Must mention best part of the stay at the King George: Victoria, the inn cat, who never lacked for attention. What a sweetie!

Mary Jo & Marte Yerkins
Cleveland, NC

  • Liked — Clean, friendly staff, great location, spacious room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed 5 nights in this historic inn while we toured Charleston and the surrounding areas. Our room was beautifully decorated with antiques. We could easily walk to restaurants and attractions in the city. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the staff friendly and helpful. One of the best parts was that after a long day of walking, we could come back to the inn and relax on a typical Charleston piazza (porch) before going out to dinner.

  • Liked — Historic Charleston house
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at this establishment a week ago. We had the red suite which was beautifully decorated, had a relaxing sitting room with tv, and a lovely bed with soft sheets. The room was clean and made us feel right at home. There was a lovely private porch which would have been amazing if it wasn't freezing. Would love to use it during a spring stay.

Location: Great for walking everywhere. We tore up the town on foot!

Owners: Lovely to talk to and had great recommendations, we loved Hank's seafood.

Breakfast: Not too bad, I would call it extended continental with good eggs and grits. Not fancy but filling.

Price: Great value. So many other B&B's are more expensive, but this is of good quality.

Resident Cat: Queen Victoria....loves getting pets.

Overall a great, homey place. Not fancy, but comfortable and relaxing. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The beautiful red room!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

i was looking for accommidations for my wedding guests. i called the inn and told him what i was doing. he told me they do not rent to wedding parties b/c most of the time the weddings cancel and he immediately got off the phone. i was shocked!! i would never stay there. i could not believe what i was hearing b/c charleston is one of the top wedding destinations in the country....

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790)historic home. The House is named The "Peter Freneau House", after a prominent Charleston journalist, and Co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The Inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches over-looking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George IV Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.