We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast
5 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This B&B lacks the charm one would expect of such an incredible property on Battery. The house is huge, pink, & still owned and occupied by the family. Our disappointment is a result of the mediocre breakfast, cramped room and seemingly haphazard management. The room accommodation was a newer addition and located on the far end of what is called the carriage house. The king size bed is too large for the room, there is no closet, & nowhere to put your luggage. When the owner asked if we had everything we needed, I suggested a luggage rack and she said, "Oh, there isn't one?" Attention to detail seems to be an issue. The place needs better housekeeping as there were watermarks on the glass top of the nightstand when we arrived and were still there when we left 2 days later & the tile floor needs more than a broom. The bathroom is tiny, has a 1930 size commode seat, & there's mildew on the grout in the shower stall. The heat unit is a wall one and is loud so you have to keep adjusting the tv volume. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, toast or biscuits, & fruit. That's ok for one day, but it is served everyday. In 20 yrs of staying at B&Bs, this is the 1st time we opted to eat breakfast elsewhere.
Wine & cheese are offered at 5 p.m. The bed was comfortable but lacked a blanket. The view of the water is spectacular. Although things weren't awful, we expected higher standards from a bed and breakfast than a hotel chain. No, we would not stay there again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    52
    27
    34
    40
See reviews for
34
179
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Frances Palmer of The Palmer Home is the quintessential hostess for this lovely family home overlooking the harbor. My husband and I stayed in the suite on the third floor, which was huge! I wasn't expecting a refrigerator; it made it so easy to drop by Harris Teeter and get drinks to stay chilled during our stay. The bed linens were of the highest quality, and we got the best sleep we'd had in months there. On the second night of our stay, an impromptu concert by a string quartet made it seem as if we'd entered a time machine and landed in 1913. Such beautiful music! The daily hot breakfast and happy hour were bonuses! Ready to return right now!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite on the third floor in the back of the house. It's quiet, darker (but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Palmer House is a lovely home~ perfect location for walking, dining, and shopping. Its location/view are exceptional! Our stay was for my birthday weekend and while we are extremely seasoned travellers in all levels of accommodations, we enjoyed this stay immensely in spite of the need for some improvements.The Carriage house is old, but "helloooo!!" It was built in the 1800's! While I would have preferred it to have more in the way of antique-style furnishings (currently it looks like furniture from the 1970's except for a crocheted canopy on one of the beds) as well as a bathroom that I could move around in without bumping into the comode or sink, it was still really fun!! The mere historical aspect is just mind blowing and makes the stay worth all else. We did not use the kitchen in the carriage house (or anything but the bedrooms and bathroom, really) so the space wasn't needed, but it was nice to have the privacy.

The staff (Meredith) was extremely accommodating and assisted us greatly with dinner reservations, etc. While the main house is in need of some TLC, it is absolutely lovely and I could've sat for hours on the piazza sipping wine and imagining "Old Charleston".

This being said, yes, the afternoon wine/cheese offering could stand to go up a few notches~ a lot higher for both, actually. And the presentation itself could be improved simply by nicer crystal and perhaps a small plate to place some cheese and (maybe) some grapes/fruit on. As it is, it's quite mundane, although at least they offer wine! Most don't...a cup of tea elsewhere! And in addition you can sit for hours sipping and the wine is readily there for your enjoyment~ The breakfast was adequate; nice for those of us who don't care to sit down and consume a huge meal, yet enough to be ok... and I rather enjoyed the fact that the owner wasn't following us around regaling us with "stories" or encouraging us to interact with other houseguests! (annoying unless asked for!)

This home would benefit GREATLY from a professional visit from a home-stager (the rooms are large and poorly placed furniture lends to a visual that is unkempt) and a few VERY small tips from a caterer for some simple and inexpensive ideas on serving tricks of the trade...I would be more than happy to convey some advice!!

The term "shabby chic" was coined for a house like this~ if you look at the 'grander' mansions that are now b & b's you will be paying much more per night for this location!! So here is my advice~ If you got this with the GROUPON rate; RELAX. Enjoy. Life is GOOD!! Take in the whole of the City, use your imagination, and have some fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed in every room at the inn. We try to go at least twice yearly, we love all the food and charms of Charleston. In the past year we stayed four times because my nephew was getting married and the reception was held at the inn and was a wonderful location. When we stay it is like going on vacation to visit friends, always warm greetings from all the staff. They fuss over us making sure everything is o.k. and always ready to help with anything we could possibly need. Now to the owner Francess, she is like our best Charleston friend. She visits with us a lot during our stay. When we come back from a evening out we will sit on the porch enjoying the views and she comes out and visits with us for hours. This is a historic home that has survived a lot of history.
It is a lot different from staying at chain hotels or brand new inns. This wonderful home is true history. Every effort has been made to make this a comfortable inn with modern amenities and not disturb the true character of this wonderful gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I can't believe that the Palmer House is recommended by TripAdvisor. The recommendation should be: Stay Away!
The view is great and that is all the good that I can say.
My wife and I stayed here from 11/5/2012; checking out on11/9/2012. We used two Groupons to book four nights. The only availability they had was for the Carriage House---but, for this, I had to pay a $50.00/night extra fee, presumably because there are two bedrooms.
The place is not clean and very poorly maintained. The window pane putty job has to be seen to be believed! It's a lesson on how not putty a window.
The view was great; the rest was not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I travel to Charleston at least once a year. We love the shops, golf, rich history,gardens, food and simply the feel of the city. We try to stay in a different B&B each trip to get a different experience each visit. We simply loved our stay here. The staff was sweet and the care and hospitality we got was delightful. It far exceeded my expectations. We had no illusions of having a 5 star stay. We were not expecting glamor, glitz or excessive pampering. What we were expecting and what we got was an experience of staying is a stately historic home rich in family/city history. loved it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't understand all the bad reviews me and my mom stayed here for a girls trip in October and loved this place! We stayed in the Magnolia Suite and loved it very nice suite with a sitting area and great King size bed. It was very comfortable and although the furniture was old that is the whole point of staying at a bed and breakfast and authentic Charleston style house to get a feel for how the house really would have looked I loved that fact that the living room furniture was the old furniture of the house. If you want new go to a Holiday Inn...if you want a true Charleston experience stary at the Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast. It is so close to Battery Park you could throw a rock and hit it from the front porch and it is in the heart of Charleston. What a wonderful place and the breakfast was great even for a picky vegetarian such as myself. The owner was so lovely I stopped and talked with her for ahwile she was so nice and inviting. What a great experience!!

Room Tip: Magnolia Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Governor's House Inn
#4 of 44 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
#30 of 44 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestowne
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Barksdale House Inn
#19 of 44 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 44 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer Home Hotel Charleston
Palmer Home b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.