We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmer Home Bed & Breakfast all the way from Ireland with love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast
5 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Palmer Home Bed & Breakfast all the way from Ireland with love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Before my big trip to the States I researched the Palmer Home as part of my holiday tour. Being a history buff I was excited to visit Charleston. My eyebrow was raised by what people had written, I am staying here anyway b/c I got a great deal. Upon arrival I was introduced to Southern Hospitality by the owner & staff invited to Happy Hour & given a tour with wine in one hand & a camera in the other, the owner who lives in the home gave a historically accurate tour.

I stayed in the Carriage House, the former barn & had a great stay. The people who wrote the negative reviews are clearly ignorant & feel they deserve to be treated like Queen Elizabeth. Yes there's construction so a bedroom & bathroom were compromised. Did these people realize that you can't use something under construction? The owner explained cable was out due to construction but will be restored upon completion, but I didn't travel all this way for TV. I found the bathroom to be quite tidy. It's a 150 year old historical home with a converted barn to expand it's offerings. I also enjoyed the outdoor pool with the lovely weather that tends to be rare in Ireland. I found the pool to be clean & functional. For educational purposes when city roads need repair, engineers patch it to reinforce it's structural integrity, same for this half century old pool. It does not matter that the patch colors do not match the original concrete but the integrity of the pool was just perfect & the water was clean as can be. A young family seemed to be enjoying their pool time & not finding fault with the pool.

Food complaints: here in Ireland you can have a Full Irish Breakfast or nothing, same thing in the South a historic southern breakfast or nothing & the food was very good . Again for those who don't think history is important the Carolinas take their culinary influences from African culture due to the past slave trade, hence simple hearty meals on limited groceries. The breakfast was pretty authentic to the old times with modern conveniences which fits with the historic theme. This again is a bed & breakfast, a person's home not a restaurant & the food was perfect.

It seems to be forgotten this is a historical home which means it's very old! Charleston is well-known in history circles for preserving history & this place did so quite lovely. If travelers understood preservation they would know there are strict historic City codes for renovation & painting same in Ireland. It's a wonder what people now-a-days would do if they didn't have power tools. This home was build before the invention of the sawzall, power drills, and cranes. The porch is structurally designed to be slanted to dispel water. The porch itself is exposed 24 hours a day to the harsh demands of the salty Harbor & for those who are under-educated, salt water over time is destructive so the people who complained about the tattered wicker are legally insane.

It really disturbs me that a few bad apples or shall I say naturally grumpy whiny negative people have to be so destructive about such a wonderful place with such great staff. For future travelers if you want a place with marble everywhere & butlers & spas, then stay at the Ritz, but if you truly appreciate the beauty of history & it's romantic story this old home tells, then this is your place & it's quite lovely on the wallet. I highly recommend the Palmer Home Bed & Breakfast to ANY looking for a wonderful Southern place to call home. Job well done, I will be back.

Room Tip: They are all different so it is quite fun to pick a different one each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHome, Owner at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!

We love this old home and despite its imperfections, we think it is one of the best historical places to stay in Charleston. It is always very heart-warming to know that other people think of it that way as well.

We do urge guests to relax and appreciate the historic feel of the city. We are so glad that you did just that!

Thank you for being a wonderful guest and we would love to have you back at any time!

Thank you,

All of the Palmer Home Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    50
    26
    32
    39
See reviews for
34
174
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed in the Italian room, because the rest of the rooms were taken. We were greeted and shown to the room, and invited to take lemonade and cookies on the porch, which was very nice. From 4pm to 6pm Wine and cheese was offered. When we arrived just after 5 there was hardly any cheese an biscuits left. The lady in charge had left and gone home! She did mention earlier that she was hoping to leave early! it would have been good if she had stayed to make sure all was good until 6pm. The bed was very uncomfortable in the bedroom. The porch area was lovely. Breakfast was basic, not much choice of cooked food.
The house needs a good paint, and tidy up in general. it was all clean though. Pool wasn't cleaned out of leaves which was a shame

Room Tip: Don't stay in the italian room. Try a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHome, Owner at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
First, thank you for your feedback. All of our six rooms at the Palmer Home are different, each one with their own charms, their own pluses and minuses. The Italian Room which faces the Charleston Battery wall is one of our smallest rooms and is priced as such. This is the first complaint about the Italian Room bed being uncomfortable and we will look into the matter. Also, for all of our guests present and future, the pool is surrounded by trees and will most likely always a have few leaves in it do to us being on the battery where it is windy. We are constantly vacumming the pool and the chemicals in the pool are checked daily. Thus being said, there will probably still be a few leaves in the pool, so if this does not suit you, the Palmer Home might not be the place for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house in July for our annual girlfriends trip. The place needs a though cleaning, paint and maintenance. The very small bathroom had mildew in the shower and on the walls and the shower did not drain properly. We placed a call to the owner. She agreed to go over and check it. She stated that she would not want us to be unhappy in her home. She gave us the option to leave today and we would not be charged for the remaining two days of our reservation. She said that she had a waiting list. Never being in Charleston and having only two days left to our trip what could we do? How long would it take to fine another place to accommodate 3 women? She gave us an hour to decide. We decided to stay and just deal with it. When we got in that evening, the shower was cleaner and you could smell clorox. The pool was nothing short of disgusting. One of lounge chairs around the pool was broken and animal feces around the pool. Breakfast was fair, the same everyday. Staff in the kitchen nice. Beds were decent. It's a shame. This place has a great location but really needs care. Sorry I can not recommend it nor would I ever go back. We never did get to meet the owner nor did she take the time to check back with us to make sure that were were satisfied with the shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHome, Owner at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
The staff and owner here at the Palmer Home were well aware of these three ladies complaints and expected this review. During their stay we tried to accommodate them in anyway we possible could. The owner herself, went to make sure extra attention was paid to their bathroom and made a call to the plumber about the drainage issue. This was all taken care of the first morning of their stay and we aplogized for any inconvience. When it was apparent that the ladies were still not happy with their stay, the owner made a special call to them and offered to find them another accommodation and refund their money since she did not wish for them to be unhappy in her home. We found several alternative places for them to stay since it was during the week, but they refused and said they would rather remain here at the Palmer Home. During their stay the staff supplied them with maps, dinner suggestions, cab company numbers, printed off thier boarding passes and directions while also answering all their questions. The owner did meet them and they were asked by several staff members if the bathroom was draining better and more to their liking. It is advertised that the Carriage House has a small bathroom that is shared by the two rooms. We are sorry that they found our breakfast dull. We provide a full southern breakfast every morning that consists of grits, scrambled eggs with cheese or eggs the way you want them, biscuits, toast, pancakes, bacon, sausage, yougurt, fruit, cereals, granola bars, an assortment of condiments and occasionaly a breakfast casserole.
We urge future guests to remember that this is a private home on the battery where there is an owner and a small staff. We have a 98% occupancy rate and a 75% repeat customer rate. However, we do understand that some guests are better suited for chain hotels with a 24 hr staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Palmer Home is a great and beautiful location, and especially for a family the carriage house is more affordable than hotel rooms downtown. Don't count on a third bedroom though, as the sunporch is being rebuilt. Also, don't count on cooking real meals here as the "full kitchen" is minimally equipped (few pots and pans, no frying pan, no cereal bowls). A thorough cleaning, some paint and routine maintenance would go a long way here. Breakfast was good but not very imaginative, and it is the same every day. Staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable. Cable wasn't working but who goes to Charleston to watch TV?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHome, Owner at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We again apologize for the inconvenience of the cable being out in the Carriage House during your stay. We had worked with Comcast for days to get it fixed and it took them longer than expected to get the situation resolved.

The Carriage House has been remolded. The non-usable sunroom has now been turned into a third (weather secure) bedroom with its own full bathroom on the third floor. We appreciate everyone bearing with us while we have preformed this upgrade.

Also, we are sorry that you found the Carriage House kitchen to be ill stocked. We will look into making sure the kitchen is better stocked with pots and pans and urge future guests to always ask the main house kitchen staff for extra bowls, pans, etc if they are missing in the Carriage House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Incredible views in this gorgeous home with a welcoming staff who made us feel like family. Bravo Francess for a job well done! Can't wait to be a guest with you again and sing on the piazza til the wee hours of the morning. Cudos to Meredith and Angie!! They were awesome. :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHome, Owner at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope to accommodate you again in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked a Living Social deal for 2 nights. Having never stayed in a B&B before, I really didn't know what to expect. We stayed in Dr Joe's King room, which opens up to the 3rd-floor veranda. I was blown away with the stunning views of Charleston Harbor. We also really enjoyed the fresh Southern breakfast each morning, and there were always snacks and cold drinks waiting for us when we returned. Athough we occasionally saw other guests in the house, we really did feel like Palmer was our "home" for the few days we were there. It is not a shiny new hotel, but an historic home on tbe Battery which truely made us feel like Southern elite.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our time in an old house on the Battery. The views, the house, breakfast and staff were all wonderful and made our visit a wonderful one.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer Home Hotel Charleston
Palmer Home b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.