We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite weekend places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Swamp Garden

Audubon Swamp Garden
Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 104 attractions in Charleston
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 60-acre preserve where visitors observe many wildlife habitats.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of our favorite weekend places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been members of Magnolia Gardens for about 10 years because it lets us go any day and wander the Audubon Swamp. All of Magnolia Gardens is magnificent, but we love keep track of all the nesting birds in the swamp and counting the alligators. We always see something new.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    22
    14
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing, but a little scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We saw lots of great animals, egrets, turtles, alligators. Got a little scared after we saw a huge snake and an alligator on the trail (we screamed and it ran away). Fun story to tell and we had a good laugh. Be alert!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Enhances Nature and Rookeries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This boardwalk weaves through former rice fields. One always sees alligators sunning themselves on platforms built out in the water. The rookeries are so full of birds that one barely sees the leaves in those particular trees. Flowers have been planted in amongst nature.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wild wild life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I like the way they preserve local fauna and flora. All of my European visitors were especially thrilled looking at gators.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best as part of a package, we imagine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had an hour or so to kill on our way north from Charleston, so decided to do the swamp tour on its own without visiting the rest of the plantation. The sign at the ticket window announced a price of $8 for the self-guided tour of the swamp. That seemed fair. HOWEVER, that didn't include the $15 "basic admission" fee on top of each ticket. So that meant we paid $46 for the privilege of traipsing through a swamp for an hour or so.
We dutifully drove to the isolated parking lot at the entrance of the swamp and entered the secret code that caused the imposing security door to swing open. We entered and were pleased to find a sign that gave a phone number and extension as part of a recorded tour. The extension was supposedly the number of the stop. This first stop was #10. By the way, it was the only phone tour stop we encountered during the entire visit.
The swamp was peaceful and calm and, at least to these observers, devoid of any conspicuous wildlife until we reached a large pond about 1/2 hour into the tour. There we could see at a considerable distance a few ducks, a dozing alligator and an egret.
We then preceded to get lost. Really lost. There were no signs to guide us, evoking distant memories of a corn maze that had baffled us some years ago.
Well, we eventually stumbled on the exit path, having spent an unplanned extra 1/2 hour or so before resuming our trip northward.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Swamp Garden also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Audubon Swamp Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Swamp Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Audubon Swamp Garden to your Saves list