We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Named #1 Best City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a great place to stay when your in Charleston. Out the front door and your in the Charleston Market. Great restaurants, great shops and atmosphere galore.
Our room was comfortable and well appointed. We had a wonderful time and had dinner at the 5 star Peninsula Grill.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Doug N,
"Right in the middle if the city" could not some up our location in the center of the #1 City in the US any better. Thank you for taking a moment to share your appreciation and views. Our location, spacious and beautifully appointed rooms and award wining cuisine at Peninsula Grill are second to none I the city.
Until next time, we wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    126
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
101
574
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a rejuvenating, special weekend. We splurged and booked the Penthouse King (not as expensive as you probably think) and I can't imagine returning to any other room. The room had a spacious, private terrace overlooking the city and we spent quite a bit of our time there. The room itself was lovely: roomy, immaculately clean, and well appointed. The wet bar provided a nice assortment of glassware -- so that you always had just the right glass for any libation. The six-foot long bath tub was actually big enough to float in.

But the best thing? The quiet. I'm am admittedly hyper-sensitive to noise, and a very light sleeper. We heard a door close in the hallway. Once. That was the only thing we heard from our room all weekend. It was heaven.

There is a review on Orbitz that describes the inn as "Not as good as they think they are." That made me laugh, and perfectly summed up our stay here a few years ago; but fortunately things had changed for this visit. The biggest difference was that the staff were a bit more warm -- but still professional. That frosty chill that some hotels seem to think makes their staff appear more high-brow was thankfully somewhat absent this time. So, if you had a less than stellar stay here in the past, it may be time to give Planters Inn another try.

Room Tip: There are two Penthouse King rooms on the 4th floor with fantastic (and very private) terraces overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear AtlantaPch,
We are pleased to read your return trip to Planters Inn included one of our most favorite guest accommodations; the Penthouse King. As you mention, the decor, the privacy, and the luxury of this room is an exceptional value for all that is included. It is a true compliment to read you joined us for a follow up visit and we appreciate your compliments and comments. Our staff offers the warm, sincere and professional service that is expected of a great hotel while proving that little something extra that is uniquely Planters Inn.
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you and are ready to assist you in planning your next visit to your favorite Penthouse King room at Planters Inn!

Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a two day stay mid week. The hotel met all our expectations. Great service, great location. Lovely rooms. Nice feel over all. We were celebrating an early anniversary and to our surprise there was even a small bottle of French champagne, chilled and two glasses in our room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear groomswines,
Thank you taking a moment to share your recent experiences and for allowing us to take part in your anniversary trip to Charleston. We appreciate your "Highly recommend" review and nod to our service, lovely rooms and superb location. We look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversary trips to come!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

At first I was a little taken aback with the Planters Inn. I wasn't quite ready to be at such a classic property, but once I got my mind around not being at a boutique one, I really enjoyed my weekend here! In many ways, the Planters Inn is like staying in a fine old home: antique rugs and art, gracious parlor with tea and lemonade awaiting you; big plush beds and comfortable furniture. Unlike a fine old home, the baths were superb! The staff at Planters Inn exude warmth and hospitality. It's in a great location near everything. I give this one an enthusiastic recommendation! It's a delightful place that is so right for a visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: I found myself upgraded to a Plantation King; very fortuitous! The deluxe rooms that seem to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mikechi22,
It is always a pleasure to read of the “discovery” process that our guests share after a visit to our charming property. The Planters Inn stands above the crowded array of lodging options with it’s circa 1844 character and beautifully appointed lobby and parlor. A true southern classic; the Planters Inn combines the modern conveniences of a small luxury boutique hotel with personalized service of a world class hotel. Our “plush beds and comfortable furniture, antique rugs and art” offer an oasis of southern civility that captures the core of the Planters Inn experience. We look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Planters Inn.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Planters Inn last week. This hotel offers true southern hospitality at its finest. The rooms very very spacious, we appreciated the early evening towel refresh and tidying of the room. The valet service was exceptional. We loved the sumptuous continental breakfast. And the location is a short walk to all of the best restaurants and shops. I highly recommend the hotel and look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Christina R,
We are pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your most recent visit and are already looking forward to a return visit to Planters Inn. Thank you for taking time to single out our valet staff, our sumptuous breakfast and our prime location in the heart of the historic district. We appreciate your comments and are look forward to assisting you on many return trips to Charleston.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Step back in time.. excellent on every level. Old school charm, quality service, gentile vibe. Lovely hotel ~ greeted by doorman holding umbrella as we entered to a beautifully decorated lobby with hand towels to dab the raindrops. Gorgeous front room with coffee, tea and snacks were welcome. Spotless doesn't begin to describe entire hotel. Rooms were quite sizeable with comfortable Queen Anne poster bed and charming decor.. all with expected amenities..super cold ac and feather pillows. Central location. Staff went above and beyond.

Room Tip: A bit of traffic noise from Market street if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear 1Pickytravler,
“Epitome of old Charleston” with all the modern conveniences and superior service to match. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are the best small hotel and restaurant duo in Charleston. We are pleased to read you were able to enjoy and appreciate your time with us. Thank you for recognizing our service staff, spacious and comfortable guest rooms, and our charming décor. Our property offers an attention to detail from interior design and service that helps create the “gentile vibe” you mention. We look forward assisting to again on your next visit to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just read that the Planters Inn got the #1 rating for Best Small City Hotel from Travel & Leisure. It definitely has my vote.

After reading about many many hotels in Charleston, we decided on the Planters Inn, partly for the reputation and partly for the convenience. The historic City Market is right across the street and we could easily roll our bags the few blocks to the dock to take a 3-day cruise to the Bahamas.

First of all, the hotel is beautiful, but very comfortable and inviting. If you get there early, plan to relax a while in the front room that feels like someone's elegant living room - instead of a big noisy open lobby with no character. Iced lemon water and cookies are available on a buffet table. I'm a Yankee, but with a room like this, it makes you have thoughts of moving south.

The check-in was easy and everyone was pleasant and welcoming. They were also helpful about holding our bags after checkout on our last day.

Our room was on the corner in the front (not noisy) and so beautiful that I took many pictures before I even opened a suitcase. There are comfortable easy chairs to sit in plus a large desk and a tea table. The bed was so comfy it was hard to leave it, but there's so much to do in Charleston, we had no choice! The hotel is convenient to walking to all the sights around town.

You won't regret staying here, you'll only regret that you have to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Travelling Fan22,
We thank you for your review and for the nod to our recent #1 Small City Hotel in the U.S. from Travel + Leisure. We are humbled and honored to be recognized by our guests and readers of this prestigious travel publication and this accolade is a testament to our service team and amazing property. Your descriptions are spot on and your candor is infectious. We should only hope all have such a sentiment upon departure as yours:

“You won’t regret staying here; you’ll only regret leaving”
Priceless and True!

We will see you again, next time!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.