We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
#1 City Celebration
Ranked #6 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Destin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The summary first ... This is a great hotel perfectly situated in the middle of Charleston everything. From the very professional first impression to the parting well wishes, this hotel is a class act. The entire staff is very well versed and very professional. Service was simply outstanding.

Rooms are very attractively appointed and housekeeping does an outstanding job as well. "Black-out" shutters really keep the light out in the morning if you wish to sleep in. Every time we left the room someone was in freshening up with new towels, etc.. While there is no in-room coffee maker, coffee and juice are available in the mornings in the downstairs salon. Afternoon tea and lemonade are also served in the salon.

The hotel also boasts a restaurant and bar. The latter being a very important prerequisite for us. The bartender (Chris) has been there for 11 years and is a great conversationalist... A treasure trove of local trivia and information. Room service was prompt and efficient. The food was excellent.

But the restaurant? That will be a separate review, but leave it to say that it is every bit a reflection of the high standard established by the hotel itself.

OK, one slight complaint ... Wifi was a problem. The connection was great in the hall, but one step into the room and off it goes. The hotel claimed to have had their tech guy working on it, and it did improve before we checked out.

When next in Charleston, it will be Planters Inn for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Malinchaser3,
“Service was simply outstanding” is music to our ears. Many guests select the Planters Inn based on the reviews found on Trip Advisor, our supreme location, award winning guest rooms and the sublime dining of Peninsula Grill. However, it is the first hand accounts that are reported by our guests that summarize the exceptional service and genuine attention provided by our staff making Planters Inn stand above the crowd. We are very pleased to read of your many positive firsthand experiences and truly appreciate the sentiments in your review. Thank you for your suggestions and we genuinely look forward to having you return for another visit to the center of Charleston’s historic district and the Planters Inn!
Until next time,
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    101
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
75
437
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After our decision to travel to Charleston for our anniversary, we researched the various hotel possibilities in the historic district, and, even though one of our friends had stayed at the Vendue,
we were attracted by the southern charm and luxurious style of the Planters Inn. Maybe the gas lanterns had something to do with swaying our decision! For over a month, we looked forward to this trip, which, by the way, we were taking with another couple, who also shared our anticipation.
After hours on the road, we pulled up in front of the hotel, and from the time Josh, the doorman and valet, met us at the curb upon our arrival to the time Josh packed up our car for our departure, we had a wonderful four night stay at the Planters Inn. The hotel staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping personnel, were so pleasant and accommodating. Josh became our
"go to guy" and was always eager to assist or to greet us with his jovial smile. Our anniversary dinner was at the Peninsular Grill in the hotel. With all the positive reviews, we were ready for quite an evening, and quite an evening it was. Our dear friends had arranged for a bottle of champagne to start the evening and, our waiter, Cary, graciously poured, then guided us with our dinner selections, answering all our questions confidently, without hesitation. Wine was ordered and served with our entres, which met and exceeded our expectations. Our son and daughter, in NYC, had arranged desserts for the table, with one of the selections being the famous coconut cake, which we had been told, we must not pass up. Our anniversay dinner was a highlight of our stay. We wanted this night to keep on going, so, we all walked a few doors down to the Mercato for drinks and jazz. This was all a dream, and, speaking of which, the bed was sooo comfortable. We asked Josh what the mattress was and, right away, he found it was a Serta Suite Dreams mattress. Each night, the turndown service had the bed ready for us, with the teddy bear propped up, sitting with the pillows. Thank you Portia! We so enjoyed our visit to Charleston and our stay at the Planters Inn and want to thank the staff for providing such a high level of service and hospitality. The little extra we paid for our stay at the Planters Inn provided a real value we appreciated during our stay and a memory that will be with us until our next visit to Charleston and the Planters Inn. Bob & Carol, Okeechobee, FL

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear B Gable,
You have offered a very thoughtful and carefully worded review following your very memorable anniversary trip to Charleston and Planters Inn. We cannot thank you enough for kind words and various compliments offered up to our individual staff members as well as our operation. Making anniversary memories is our business and it is apparent we were successful at helping you celebrate and enjoy such a special occasion. From Josh at the door, Kerry in the Peninsula Grill, and Portia with our evening turndown; we all enjoyed assisting you during your visit and are so pleased to read of your heartfelt experiences. Thank you for reminding us!
Happy Anniversary trips may come but once a year; however, a visit to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill is always a great idea any time of the year. Come see us all again soon!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Planter's Inn. It was our 4th trip to Charleston. The central entrance feels more like a private, well appointed home. We actually used the living area and enjoyed planning our day or relaxing after dinner. The interiors were designed by Amelia Handegan, whose work I have only enjoyed in publications, so that was especially interesting to me. Our room entered from a large outdoor gallery overlooking the patio and fountain. Very pleasing. The room interior and bath was well thought out and very attractive. We became so at home, that we left some clothes behind, accidentally. The staff contacted us before we could get to the airport and are sending our oversights. The staff was exceptionally thoughtful and helpful, from the room reservation to helping with reservations in the city. Our doorman, Bo, deserves a special merit badge for his terrific local restaurant recommendations when you have done enough of the big name spots. He arranged transportation if we didn't plan to take our car and was endlessly helpful and fun to talk with. Everything about our trip was seamless. Having a good base makes the difference!

Room Tip: Ask about the options and they will explain what would best suit your needs. I'm allergic to dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear gh3travels,
You were able to capture the essence of arrival in your description which is a feeling and a sense of Charleston that sets the Planters Inn apart from all other area accommodations. Our charming lobby and parlor immediately set the tone as you enter our circa 1844 building; a unique characteristic of our Relais & Chateaux property. Your compliments to our team, our guest room décor, public areas, and friendly and knowledgeable staff are very much appreciated. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and anticipate their needs at every opportunity. It is with great pleasure that we read of your numerous areas of satisfaction and enjoyment with our operation. On behalf of the entire team, we extend a special thank you for your review. We hope to see you again very soon!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful, charming, guest-centered and luxurious small hotels anywhere! The value is exceptional, too. My teenage son and I were on college visits in NC and GA, and on the spur of the moment, I decided he needed to see Charleston's beauty and learn about its history. Nothing says Southern Charm like this jewel of a city, and the Planters Inn was the perfect launching and respite spot. I'm already looking forward to a future stay.

Room Tip: On my first visit, my husband and I had a fantastic room in the original building. I was a little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Dana B,
On behalf of the entire staff we are happy to hear enjoyed us during your recent college tour. Planters Inn is a frequent stop of visiting parents and potential students to the numerous area colleges. Our central location is conveniently located near the College of Charleston; which many families become very fond of upon a tour of its beautiful campus. Thank you for your “room tips” and appreciation of our “guest centered” property. Our luxury boutique hotel offers a serene and comfortable location that is perfectly positioned amongst that area’s finest dining, shopping and historic attractions. Combine our location, superior service and award winning cuisine of Peninsula Grill and you have the perfect home-away-from home for many college years to come! We hope your future will include many return trips to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great experience at the Planters Inn for a girls getaway. The staff was very knowledgeable and helped us with numerous reservations. The only thing lacking, was that for a four star hotel, everyone in our group thought the bed linens were sub standard. A little disappointing for such a quality establishment. Otherwise, it was a great hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Carol5432,
We are pleased to read you were able to visit us for your recent “girls getaway”. Planters Inn offers a superb location for the area’s finest shopping and dining. The City Market, King Street antique district and design districts offers an array of world class brands and some of Charleston’s finest independent shops, boutiques and galleries. We appreciate your posting and your suggestions. We hope you are able to join us again on your next visit to the area.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

You cannot go wrong with the Planters Inn. The location is fantastic, right across from the Market, within walking distance of numerous, first-rate restaurants, near King Street, Marion Square & The famous Charleston Battery. I arose early each morning and spent an hour running/walking along the battery & the historic side streets. Complimentary coffee, ice water & refreshments are provided in the front parlor; I especially appreciated the water since it was 90+ degrees.

We spent four nights here. Our first room was too small for our family, due to a snafu in the booking process (King bed, one bathroom, sofa bed, split between 2 adults & 2 teenage girls) The staff accommodated us as soon as possible, relocating us to a larger room with two bathrooms. They moved our luggage as we were out during the day and we came back to a larger room which suited our family much better. Whew! The sofa bed was fine for our girls and was made up nightly for them.

Housekeeping was first rate: our room was spotless. I surprised the housekeeping service by coming back to the room early and there were no less than seven ladies vacuuming, dusting, cleaning & suppling the necessary linens & towels. When we asked for additional towels, they were quickly delivered with a smile. Impressive indeed. Turn down service left small treats from The Peninsula Grill, something delicious & different each night.

Staff at the Planters Inn are friendly, helpful and available. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to spend some quality time in the heart of The Holy City.

Room Tip: All roms are quiet and we had no issues with street noise. The heavy, light-blocking drapes are won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kimsarunner,
Thank you on behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill for your wonderful comments. We are pleased to read of your numerous positive experiences and the seamless resolution and room change to better accommodate the family. Our attentive and thoughtful housekeeping staff very much appreciates your compliments. Planters Inn offers our guests luxurious accommodations and attentive service in the heart of Charleston’s historic district. Whether your time is devoted to shopping, touring, or simply enjoying the sites; our location provides a superb home base to enjoy this amazing city. We will certainly look forward to welcoming your family back to Planters Inn on your next visit to Charleston and we will be sure to note your preferred suite.
All the best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a wonderful example of true southern hospitality. The Planters Inn is lovely with a fine attention to detail. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. It's in the best location within an easy walking distance to everything you'd want. And if it's not, the staff happily arranges transportation.

And how lucky to stay in such a beautiful hotel with one of the best restaurants in Charleston connected to it! I would recommend the Planters Inn to anyone looking for outstanding accommodations in the heart of the historic district. This place is a gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not facing Meeting Street where the noise level is high throughout the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Christine,
We would like to thank you for your gracious comments following your recent visit. You were kind enough to acknowledge our friendly, helpful and attentive staff that was willing to cater to your needs and provide a warm welcome during your stay. As you mention, our location is second to none in Charleston as we are surrounded by the City Market, the finest shopping and an array of dining options that rival most any city in the U.S. Be sure to join us at our acclaimed Peninsula Grill on your return visits. Thank you for your comments regarding our spacious and spotless guest rooms as we proudly offer the largest variety of, and most spacious accommodations in the city. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you return for another visit very soon.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.