We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Served With Style
Ranked #5 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I celebrated my birthday this year in Charleston. Our stay at Planters Inn was a wonderful addition to my special week. We love independent hotels such as the Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans. The Planters was just as wonderful! The staff were all courteous and helped us choose dining and tourist sites. The Peninsula Grill was a treat! Ask for Derrick and order the Lobster 3-way! On our next visit to Charleston we will definitely be returning to Planters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear John N,
Thank you for recognizing our team and especially Derrick at Peninsula Grill; as he is definitely one of our seasoned professionals. We appreciate you selecting the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill to enjoy your birthday celebration. Our staff is known provide exemplary service; however, it is the special occasions such as your birthday, where we have the opportunity to shine.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to assisting you on many special occasions to come.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    84
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
65
405
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As you enter the Inn, it seems the cares of the day just meltaway and you are suddenly relaxed and pampered. The salon in the first floor stocked with fresh coffee, ice water, and warm cider is wonderful. Rooms are spacious, clean, and there is attention to detail. Be sure to sample the turn down treats. They are made in- house and are delectable. Location is excellent for touring the downtown area, and only 10 minute trip to get over the bridge to the Mt.Pleasant side of town. The valet parking is a definite plus with the limited public parking downtown. Due to other family commitments, was not able to dine in the Peninsula Grill. I'm sure if it follows suit with the hotel, it does not disappoint. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear ATW2461,
“A Must Stay”…..is perfect suggestion to all reading our Trip Advisor reviews. Your descriptions and summation offer a candid view of our small boutique property that we certainly agree include a “must stay” for everyone visiting Charleston. As South Carolina’s only member of Relais and Chateaux, we stand above the crowd of numerous lodging choices. We are pleased to read your positive comments and do agree that a return trip is needed to experience the award winning cuisine of Chef Graham Dailey and the team at Peninsula Grill; a dining experience well worth another visit.
Until then, best Wishes and thank you from the all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend away. It is an excellent hotel, the room was large quiet and with good facilities. The food was very good can not complain at all. The location is great we could come and go as we pleased. The only comment is that it is on the expensive side...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Katie66UK,
Thank you for your recent 5 star posting! We appreciate your feedback and comments. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are perfectly located in the heart of Charleston’s bustling historic district; surrounded by the best shopping, dining, and areas favorite attractions. Our spacious guest rooms offer the historic charm and character of a luxury Relais and Chateaux and the comforts and modern conveniences of world class property. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you on future visits.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Planters Inn met all my expectations for a small hotel displaying what I believe was the perfect Charleston experience. My room was elegantly furnished and the bathroom very well appointed. The staff was courteous and helpful. Dinning at the Inn's Pennisula Grille was top notch and a wonderful experience for taste and atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Hugh P,
On behalf to the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill, we thank you for your recent posting and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our small boutique hotel in the heart of Charleston. Your summation of our property as “the perfect Charleston Experience” is music to our ears as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations while offering the best in location, accommodations, and service. It is nice to read you agree with our hard work and we all look forward to your next trip to Planters Inn and Charleston.
Until then,
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow... what a wonderful weekend we had. Planters inn is amazing and met all our expectations! When we got there, they placed us in a courtyard room. I was disappointed because I specifically made sure we had reservations for the main building in a grand king. We were told we were "Upgraded" so we gave it a try. The charm was quickly diminishing as we were trying to sleep and people were outside on the shared piaza having a good time. It was very noisy! The next morning, we went to have our room changed to the main building. HUGE DIFFERENCE!! This was what I was expecting at Planter's Inn. It was elegant, romantic, honestly, it was PERFECT! I feel like we wasted 1 night of our first getaway with my husband since we had kids, but the second evening was wonderful. And Tristen was such an amazing, knowledgable, helpful gem to the Planter's Inn! We are so grateful for all his help and advice! Also, Peninsula Grill is a must to complete a perfect weekend! We will be back... and we will make sure we do not get "upgraded" to the shared piaza rooms!

Room Tip: Stay in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Robin,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and we were able to help you locate a room in the 1844 building to conclude your stay. Our property includes up to six various room categories and two buildings surrounding a beautiful charleston garden coutyard. Each of our guest rooms are known to offer luxurious accommodation that all afford various vues of the property and historic district. One favorite aspect of our piazza location rooms is the shared veranda and courtyard location. The Deluxe King rooms are perfect to enjoy our continental breakfast or relax for an afternoon and enjoying the serenity of the courtyard below. However, we are positive you have made your preference for the next “getaway” trip in include a room in the 1844 building for the charm and character of our historic property as your preference.
We look forward to assisting you on the next visit,
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The ranking speaks for itself - good location, elegant rooms, and attentive service. Would definitely return!

The only gripe we would have had is that when the valet took the car, the cost was not mentioned to us. FYI - it's about $23, so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear AG
Thank you for your 5 star posting. We appreciate your summation and agreement with others that boast of our “great location, elegant room and attentive service” and pleased to hear you will join us again on your next visit to Charleston. Our historic city is known to be limited in its parking as we are surrounded by one the best historic districts in the U.S. Parking is definitely at a premium for most of the properties in our 24 hour valet service is actually more economical and more convenient for the nominal fee.

Best
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Peninsula Grill is excellent with attentive service and clubby atmosphere....
a bit pricey but the splurge was worth it... Excellent location, comfortable bed
and courteous, efficient staff. I would definitely return...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kim D,
Peninsula Grill and Planters Inn are the perfect combination of first class accommodations and stellar cuisine in the city’s only historic inn located on the City Market and South Carolina’s only member of the prestigious Relais and Chateaux collection of properties. Thank you for your acknowledgment of our courteous and efficient staff, comfortable beds and superb location. You highlight some of our finest attributes and we are pleased to read you will definitely return. In summary, we agree with your sentiments that we offer a “lovely spot” and occasionally one must treat themselves…. as the “splurge IS worth it” at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston
Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.