We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city, good hotel choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Named #1 Best City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great city, good hotel choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Four nights at the Planters Inn in Charleston was just right for a conference and plenty of time to see the city. Perfectly located, walking distance to the historic sights, the conference center at Marion Sq., shopping, restaurants, antiquing. This inn gets you in the mood with it's lovely drawing room filled with chinoiserie and chintz. A nice comfortable spot for morning coffee or afternoon sweet tea (complimentary).Staff were wonderful and helpful, as you'd expect from Relais & Chateaux. But the room choice just wasn't what we had hoped for, considering the price. The first room they showed us was 10 feet from the front desk, main elevator, and bell storage. Noisy inside. It was also directly looking out on the main street where busses go by. Noisy outside. Pretty to look at, but we declined that room. The one we took was on the second floor, not as updated, still on the street side, but comfortable. I would only stay there next time if they guaranteed a courtyard room.
The restaurant was really good, and service was outstanding, except for the girl who tried to seat us at the worst table in the corner. We asked for one of the several open tables in the center, and she said they were reserved. I said I had reservations, too; she said those were specifically requested. I responded that the hotel should have told us to do that when we booked. She reluctantly gave us a better table. Food and service were impeccable, well worth the price.
Good choice for Charleston, but others may be worthwhile looking into as well.

Room Tip: Watch for noisy streetside rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Debra B,
Thank you for your recent posting and comments and suggestions. Planters Inn offers the best location in Charleston for guests to enjoy the history, shopping and tourist attractions that surround our beautiful property. Our 1844 historic inn offers a variety of guest room options and we are pleased to read you were able to select a higher floor that suited your preferences during your visit. Our 64 room hotel includes a few premier courtyard views; however it is true our central location near The City Market allow for most guest rooms to include a view of the historic district at Meeting and Market Streets. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service during your Peninsula Grill experience once our staff was able to accommodate your seating location preference. Please call on me to secure your future reservations and I will personally assist in selecting the best locations and accommodate all your preferences.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    136
    58
    21
    7
See reviews for
111
619
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendall Park, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Staff was very attentive. Room was clean and bedding was very comfortable. This is a first class hotel. There is a room off the lobby where you can sit and relax. Drink coffee or tea, eat a cookie or have an apple. I definitely will back to this first class hotel! Carrie, one of our housekeeper's, was the best. Very friendly and made sure everything in our room was perfect. The hotel location could not be any better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear J,
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service and special thank you for recognizing Carrie, as she is truly an asset to our operation and offers the friendliest and most efficient service. As you mention, the Planters Inn has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Planter's Inn is expensive and offers only smaller rooms. Even the penthouse suite, which we had, was disappointing in size. But the hotel wins good marks for decor and for location. Many antiques. As for walking, its the only means of transport you'll need. You'll be smack dab in the center of shops and restaurants. But if the price here is too steep for your wallet, and you want to be just as centralized, try the nearby Double Tree, however we didn't look inside.

Room Tip: Only parking is by valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Rchard PB B,
We respect your appreciation of our location and location. As a historic 1844 property we are known to offer some to the most spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms in the city. We offer guests a vast array of options and unique character that is second to none in the city. Our Penthouse King offers a spacious sitting area and bedroom, but additionally includes one of city’s only private outdoor terrace decks from the top floor of our centrally located property. Should you desire a larger internal square footage for your next visit, we suggest the Governors Suite for your consideration. A spacious 600 square foot suite that offers a full living room and gas fireplace and separate bedroom and bathroom. Please call on us to discuss our other various options should you elect to try us again as we are sure to find a choice that suits your needs and preferences.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location is perfect for touring the historic district by foot or carriage. A wide varierty of fine restaurants and shops are also near at hand, with an excellent restaurant in the hotel. The turn-down service sometimes leaves something to be desired, but otherwise, the staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are conservatively but well appointed, including the public rooms. The feel of the property is that of a retreat from the bustle on the street and in the adjacent market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jim L,
As you mention, our location is “perfect”. Planters Inn sits at the corner of Meeting and Market, directly across from the historic City Market and conveniently located in the heart of Charleston’s historic district. We appreciate your description of the feel of the property as a “retreat from the bustle”. We take pride in offering the calm and charm as the only historic Inn on the city market and are always pleased to read when guests have the relaxing feel of home when they return from a day of shopping, touring, or sightseeing our amazing city. Your comfort is our priority and look forward to having you join us again soon.
Best Wishes
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for staying in downtown Charleston; you can walk to everything. From the attentive staff to the details of the room, The Planters Inn is full of charm. It offers what you would expect from a Relais and Chateau hotel. The main building is a bit old but has been updated, the rooms are unique and occasionally an odd shape; I have stayed here many times for business. There is a newer section that is more "expected" and boasts bigger bathrooms. I usually go with the charm of the historic rooms, but it's a personal taste situation. It is a bit pricey to stay here but it is very nice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear La1268,
Thank you for your recent review of our property and recognition of our attentive staff and superb location We are pleased to hear you point out it is “what you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux hotel”. As South Carolina’s only member, we are very proud our Relais affiliation as one the premier properties of the world. Our Deluxe King rooms you reference over the piazza courtyard are a favorite to many. For an even larger room and sitting area you may consider the spacious Plantation King in the 1844 building for your next trip. We appreciate your time and we look forward to assisting you on your next visit.
Best Wishes
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfectly situated at the beginning of the Market area, and well within walking distance to most of downtown Charleston. My wife and I had a lovely time and the staff was very friendly. The staff is very friendly and knows all the best restaurants around. Found it delightful that one of the staff spoke fluent French, which was an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Prince Tristan,
We can see from your recent reviews from various other properties and cities, the Planters Inn has been awarded a much appreciated 5 star billing. As you mention, our location is prime, at the corner of Market and Meeting Streets, we offer the center of Charleston’s historic district. Our 64 room luxury boutique hotel and award winning dining room Peninsula Grill are the ultimate combination in the city. We are pleased you enjoyed our multilingual service team and thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experiences. Please call us when you are ready to reserve your next visit to Planters Inn!
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at the Planters Inn. We were treated like a royalty by the staff. Wonderful! The hotel lobby is old-world Southern charm to a T. Rooms are clean, yet not uxurious (but this may be because we had a room in the building across the way.) It was super fun to know that we just missed Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds on our visit. Tea, coffee and drinks served throughout the day in the stunning lobby. A special place

Room Tip: Find out if rooms above lobby are of a different quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear YogiFoodiePA,
We are pleased to read of your pleasant experience. Thank you for acknowledging our staff and their ability to make you “feel like royalty”. With the many options for accommodations in Charleston, we are proud to offer guests the ultimate in service. This fact, combined with our superior location and historical character, make Planters Inn a unique blend of old world charm and modern luxuries. On your next trip, call us to discuss the numerous room categories found in our 1844 building for yet another experience. We look forward to assisting you find the perfect choice on for the next trip.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Planters Inn is nestled in the very heart of Charleston's spectacular Historic District. This 64-room luxury inn is the only Relais & Chateaux property in South Carolina. In 2014, readers of Travel + Leisure magazine voted Planters Inn the #1 Best U.S. Small Hotel. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details such as four-poster beds in every guest room, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic Antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property. The Planters Inn's blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 18-year legacy of being "the" place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake(R) have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.