We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Convenient Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent five days at Planters Inn in Charleston and were thoroughly satisfied and charmed. The Inn is located on a corner of the three block long market and a pretty busy street, Meeting St,. but still manages to maintain a relative calm. We were located on the fourth floor in a room with multiple large windows overlooking the market and experienced no significant noise. We were able to close inside shutters and heavy curtains each night to shut out any possible excessive noise and morning light. The king bed was very comfortable and well appointed with good linens. And the room itself was large and comfortable enough to read for extended periods if so inclined. I was also impressed with the staff from the housekeepers, the bellmen, the front desk personnel all the way to management. They were all friendly, helpful and very willing to go the extra mile to accomodate us. All in all it was a truly relaxing, comfortable stay. Additionally, the location is perfect for a convenient visit to many of Charlestons restaurants and historic sites as well as the College of Charleston. They are all in easy walking distance. We definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Goldold25,
Thank you for taking a moment to describe the “calm” our property and your guest room were able to offer with the “heavy curtains and interior shutters” that allow guests to experience a restful sleep and awaken to the BEST location the city has to offer. As a frequent TripAdvisor reviewer, you can appreciate our efforts to create a relaxing and comfortable environment within our spacious guest rooms and we appreciate it when guests share the little details that make a good hotel--Great! Charleston is an amazing destination that offers world class dining, shopping and historical character unlike most cities and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we are always ready to assist you on the next trip to Charleston and The Planters Inn.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    120
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
95
557
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our decision to spend New Year's Eve in Charleston, and our fortunate "discovery" of Planters Inn, was well rewarded. From the pre-visit assistance of Carolyn Stout through the warm and eager to please assistance of Tristian, Josh, and every other member of the staff, our visit was an exceptional experience. And New Year's Eve dinner in the Peninsula Grill was all that we could have wanted. Definitely a "must go back to" venue!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Michael L,
On behalf of Carolyn, Tristan, Josh and the entire team at Planters Inn, we are happy to hear you “discovered” our little property in the heart of the #1 tourist destination in the U.S. It is always a pleasure to read of guests that not only enjoyed our property and city, but especially gratifying when the process involves a first time visit and a declaration of future return trips. Our little 64 room historic property in the heart of Charleston is an oasis of southern hospitality and we all look forward to assisting you on many future visits.
Best Wishes and Happy New Year!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas, week at Planters Inn, what a wonderful experience. Our room on the second floor, new portion of the Hotel, was warm, charming, and spacious. We loved the jacuzzi tub. From the Parking attendant to the Hotel mgr. all were so very friendly, and accomidating. We ate breakfast every morning at the Hotels restaurant, the Pennisula. And we can only say WOW. The food, and chef, that prepared our delicious breakfast everyday, was out of the world. We also had dinner one evening. So delicious, and prepared perfectly.
The Hotel staff is to be commended for a group of gracious, professionally, and an all out wonderful experience.
We planning on making many future stays with the Planters Inn, in Charleston, SC. A wonderful experience. Please try it out.

Bob and Elizabeth, Kuhn
San Clemente, ca.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section, have walkout veranda areas, with wonderful views. A bit quite, than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Bob K,
We appreciate your comments and terrific feedback from your Christmas visit to Planters Inn. Our piazza location rooms offer spacious Deluxe King rooms over the shared courtyard and are popular selections with many of our repeat guests. Thank you for recognizing our service and team hospitality efforts. It is rewarding to read of our staff making such a memorable impression. As you point out, one of the best kept secrets of our Peninsula Grill is the amazing quality of our breakfast; a meal that is often looked over, but worthy of a mention. You’ve already informed us that you look forward to returning, so please call on us when you are ready to secure you next reservation!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend Christmas in Charleston this year as our children are grown and all busy doing there own things. While searching for a hotel I was fortunate to find the Planters Inn on a web site that included guest reviews. We were not disappointed in anyway with our choice. The entire staff from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping were the most accommodating I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a frequent business traveler usually logging 80+ nights annually for the past 15 years, this ranks as my number one hands down. We will be returning to visit the beautiful historic city again soon and there is no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ken L,
Thank you for naming us your #1 travel destination and hotel! As a frequent traveler, you understand service and hospitality are what brings guests back to a property time and time again. Although our property offers a premier Charleston location, superior quality of furnishings and décor and an award winning dining room…it is the service that allows us to stand out in the crowd. We sincerely thank you for your comments and look forward to having you join us for many a future visit.
Another belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and have truly been delighted each time. The staff is amazing! ... personable, polite, attentive, efficient, knowledgeable, frriendly ... I can't say enough. The property is beautiful (don't miss the courtyard) and the location could not be better (@ the corner of Meeting & Market). The attention to detail is impressive: from the gold wall covering in the hallways to the fire in the fireplace in the lobby to the understated elegance of the rooms to the very comfortable mattresses and the four post beds, thread count of the sheets, perfect weight of the white cotton blankets and firmness / softness of the pillows ... no detail overlooked. Also, The Penninsula Grill is without a doubt the best restaurant in town. The Oyster Stew we had as an appetizer was the best thing I've eaten in some time and the Wreckfish with Lobster and Pea Rissoto special was a close 2nd. ... We'll be back many more times !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Robert B,
The Staff! Enough said…. We agree! Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill make for the premier combination in a city full of options. We are very appreciative our guest feedback; however those that continue to return and share their views are a true testament to our operation as a whole. Your acknowledgment of our physical attributes and quality furnishings simply enhance the overall guest experience when combined with superb service of a world class hotel and restaurant. We are humbled by our review and continued patronage and always look forward to serving you on your many return visits.
Until next time, Best Wishes!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We selected the Planters Inn due to its affiliation with Relais and Chateau. As we hoped, this was an excellent choice. Our room overlooking the beautiful courtyard was very clean and quiet, the bathroom was large, but the staff impressed us more than anything else.

Carrie who turned down our room at night was very friendly and obviously enjoyed her job. The front desk were helpful with dinner recommendations and suggested that we eat at the Peninsula Grill which was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Due to TripAdvisor reviews we also tried Halls Steakhouse which didn't live up to the number 1 ranking. Food was ok, but very expensive.

The hotel is located in the middle of the historic part of town, we chose to do a carriage ride which was a lot of fun. The carriages go right by the hotel.

We would return to the Planters Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Joe S,
We appreciate your accolades of our property, staff, and Peninsula Grill. Thank you for recognizing Ms. Carrie that always offers our guests a pleasant smile and efficient service during her evening turndown rounds. Planters Inn is proud to be associated with the finest inns and castles of the world as a member of the esteemed collection of Relais & Chateaux. It is rewarding to read of your praise and appreciation of our superior service team. On behalf of all of us, we thank you.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a few days there in mid-December. We had a room off the courtyard. The room size was satisfactory, and included a jacuzzi tub. Bed was very comfortable. The location was great...easy walking distance to all of the downtown attractions, and just across the street from the market. Only downside was the lack of a coffee maker in the room, but coffee was available in the main inn every morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Reagan10,
We are known to offer guests some of the most comfortable accommodations in the city. Our comfortable mattresses combined with our signature four poster beds, make for a classic Planters Inn experience. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences and pointing our terrific location in the heart of Charleston’s historic district. As you mention, our 24 hour parlor beverage service is always available for our guests and please remember to join us for breakfast and or dinner at the acclaimed Peninsula Grill on your next visit.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.