We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed rooms ... Very attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Named #1 Best City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed rooms ... Very attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and have truly been delighted each time. The staff is amazing! ... personable, polite, attentive, efficient, knowledgeable, frriendly ... I can't say enough. The property is beautiful (don't miss the courtyard) and the location could not be better (@ the corner of Meeting & Market). The attention to detail is impressive: from the gold wall covering in the hallways to the fire in the fireplace in the lobby to the understated elegance of the rooms to the very comfortable mattresses and the four post beds, thread count of the sheets, perfect weight of the white cotton blankets and firmness / softness of the pillows ... no detail overlooked. Also, The Penninsula Grill is without a doubt the best restaurant in town. The Oyster Stew we had as an appetizer was the best thing I've eaten in some time and the Wreckfish with Lobster and Pea Rissoto special was a close 2nd. ... We'll be back many more times !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Robert B,
The Staff! Enough said…. We agree! Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill make for the premier combination in a city full of options. We are very appreciative our guest feedback; however those that continue to return and share their views are a true testament to our operation as a whole. Your acknowledgment of our physical attributes and quality furnishings simply enhance the overall guest experience when combined with superb service of a world class hotel and restaurant. We are humbled by our review and continued patronage and always look forward to serving you on your many return visits.
Until next time, Best Wishes!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    130
    56
    21
    7
See reviews for
105
592
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We selected the Planters Inn due to its affiliation with Relais and Chateau. As we hoped, this was an excellent choice. Our room overlooking the beautiful courtyard was very clean and quiet, the bathroom was large, but the staff impressed us more than anything else.

Carrie who turned down our room at night was very friendly and obviously enjoyed her job. The front desk were helpful with dinner recommendations and suggested that we eat at the Peninsula Grill which was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Due to TripAdvisor reviews we also tried Halls Steakhouse which didn't live up to the number 1 ranking. Food was ok, but very expensive.

The hotel is located in the middle of the historic part of town, we chose to do a carriage ride which was a lot of fun. The carriages go right by the hotel.

We would return to the Planters Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Joe S,
We appreciate your accolades of our property, staff, and Peninsula Grill. Thank you for recognizing Ms. Carrie that always offers our guests a pleasant smile and efficient service during her evening turndown rounds. Planters Inn is proud to be associated with the finest inns and castles of the world as a member of the esteemed collection of Relais & Chateaux. It is rewarding to read of your praise and appreciation of our superior service team. On behalf of all of us, we thank you.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a few days there in mid-December. We had a room off the courtyard. The room size was satisfactory, and included a jacuzzi tub. Bed was very comfortable. The location was great...easy walking distance to all of the downtown attractions, and just across the street from the market. Only downside was the lack of a coffee maker in the room, but coffee was available in the main inn every morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Reagan10,
We are known to offer guests some of the most comfortable accommodations in the city. Our comfortable mattresses combined with our signature four poster beds, make for a classic Planters Inn experience. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences and pointing our terrific location in the heart of Charleston’s historic district. As you mention, our 24 hour parlor beverage service is always available for our guests and please remember to join us for breakfast and or dinner at the acclaimed Peninsula Grill on your next visit.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenants Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Planters Inn to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our room(deluxe king) was delightful,,,lovely to look at,comfy bed, delicious nighttime snacks, a 4pm jacuzzi each day to ease the stress of walking, and no noise with the additional pleasure of falling to sleep to the sounds of waves and bell buoys from a machine at bedside. The staff (everyone) was courteous and friendly.The night desk manager gave me a tip for an early am walk to catch the sunrise over the harbor at the end of Vendue range...I'm an early riser(my husband sleeps in) and each am I would avail myself of the hot coffee in the lounge and head out for a walk in the peace that is Charleston at 5:30 in the morning, The Peninsula Grill had the very best food and their pomegranate margaritas cured my pinched nerve. Kudos to all at the inn and restaurant and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Anne K,
It is always a pleasure to read of such a memorable anniversary trip from our satisfied guests. Your review graciously singles some of our best attributes. The relaxing enjoyment of our whirlpool tubs, the courteous staff and evening management suggestions and the Peninsula Grill’s awarding winning cuisine and pomegranate margarita’s appear to all played in role in making your 40th anniversary visit a success. We are looking forward to having you back again for another anniversary, if not sooner!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got a great rate on the room, more than half off. We stayed one night just for a get away after the wedding stress. We could not be more please!! The hotel even sent a comp bottle of champagne to our room! If we can get a rate like what we got again we would stay again. LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Brendon,
We are pleased to read of your “Mini- Moon” experiences during your recent visit and happy you’re able to escape the stress of your wedding planning. Thankfully, you were able to experience the Planters Inn during a prime season for a better rate. Excluding the holiday season, it is beneficial to consider travelling to Charleston and Planters Inn during the milder winter months for a little better price. We offer seasonal specials and packages during January and early February as well if you are considering another getaway. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to your return and thank you for your comments.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle, TN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Planters Inn brings a European flair to running its' hotel. The Staff goes out of their way to see to all your needs. The roooms are luxurious; king size bed and bedding, marble bath with jacuzzi, plenty of room. Each night they have turn down service and put a little treat, from their pastry chef, on the table beside the bed. Overall, we had an awesome stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor of the new wing. You don't have to go through the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear JoeRichards,
Many of our return guests are fond of the Deluxe King rooms located in the piazza wing for many of the reason you mention. Beautiful shared courtyard overlooking the city market and our newly renovated central courtyard, these oversized jetted tub bathrooms are a favorite for many. A continental breakfast just outside your door on the piazza in the morning can make for a terrific start to the day or perfect for an afternoon beverage and or relaxing book in the sun. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next trip to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Planters Inn and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! This was my first trip to Charleston and it exceeded all my expectations. We looked at several different places and settled on Planter's Inn and were completely satisfied with our choice. I am a history buff and would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys history but Charleston also offers excellent shopping, dining, and plenty of other fun things to do. We spent 3 days and only "scratched" the surface. We will certainly return!

Pros to Planters Inn:
-Great location right in the heart of historic district. We rarely used our car the whole trip. The street market is directly across the street. King street is one block away with great shopping from large retail stores such as (Pottery Barn, Banana republic, J. Crew, etc). There is also great shopping with more "local stores" a block or two away towards the coastline.
-Large, quiet, beautiful rooms. We had a room off the courtyard and one night there was a large group of people that were slightly noisy but it did not keep us up and otherwise it was very nice and peaceful.
-Peninsula Grill is awesome; very expensive but delicious.
-Staff all very friendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere is what you would expect from a fine hotel.

Cons to Planters Inn:
-Valet Parking is ~$20 per day. I really think most places do valet parking as well though so this is kind of part of the trip wherever you go.
-No complimentary breakfast. They do have coffee and hot tea in the morning and apple cider and orange spiced tea in afternoon which is excellent.

Other "nuggets" from our trip:
-If you enjoy history, you must go to the plantations. We only had time for Middleton and Magnolia but hope to go to more plantations next trip. Middleton has an excellent restaurant located on the property that was one of our favorite lunch spots. We only bought general admission to both plantations (there are lots of "tour" options, etc. but we decided to just head out on our own as it can be pricey). I think this was more efficient for covering the whole plantation but I guess we probably missed out on some history info.
-Hominy Grill is a great spot for breakfast. Just be careful, on weekends they don't open untill 9am (Which I think is absolutely ridiculous.)
-MUST go on a carriage tour. We went with Palmetto Carriage (located in a big red barn) and I would recommend to anyone. I would do this tour early in the trip to help get a feel for where everything is and get an "taste" of all Charleston's rich history.

Overall, Charleston is such a charming city full of beauty, great food, shopping, and history. My only complaint is that the trip was very expensive but some of that was because there was so many fun things to do!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear DoBriggsy,
We are pleased to hear you discovered Charleston and Planters Inn for your first visit. Your review takes time to address many of our attributes with a few minor suggestions that we always appreciate. Our city is famous for history, dining, shopping and numerous culinary delights. Thank you for taking time to summarize your experience and share for other to read. We look forward to seeing you and many future visits as Greenville is a very short drive to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.