We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect 40th anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
#1 City Celebration
Ranked #6 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Tenants Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the perfect 40th anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Planters Inn to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our room(deluxe king) was delightful,,,lovely to look at,comfy bed, delicious nighttime snacks, a 4pm jacuzzi each day to ease the stress of walking, and no noise with the additional pleasure of falling to sleep to the sounds of waves and bell buoys from a machine at bedside. The staff (everyone) was courteous and friendly.The night desk manager gave me a tip for an early am walk to catch the sunrise over the harbor at the end of Vendue range...I'm an early riser(my husband sleeps in) and each am I would avail myself of the hot coffee in the lounge and head out for a walk in the peace that is Charleston at 5:30 in the morning, The Peninsula Grill had the very best food and their pomegranate margaritas cured my pinched nerve. Kudos to all at the inn and restaurant and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Anne K,
It is always a pleasure to read of such a memorable anniversary trip from our satisfied guests. Your review graciously singles some of our best attributes. The relaxing enjoyment of our whirlpool tubs, the courteous staff and evening management suggestions and the Peninsula Grill’s awarding winning cuisine and pomegranate margarita’s appear to all played in role in making your 40th anniversary visit a success. We are looking forward to having you back again for another anniversary, if not sooner!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    95
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
72
430
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got a great rate on the room, more than half off. We stayed one night just for a get away after the wedding stress. We could not be more please!! The hotel even sent a comp bottle of champagne to our room! If we can get a rate like what we got again we would stay again. LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Brendon,
We are pleased to read of your “Mini- Moon” experiences during your recent visit and happy you’re able to escape the stress of your wedding planning. Thankfully, you were able to experience the Planters Inn during a prime season for a better rate. Excluding the holiday season, it is beneficial to consider travelling to Charleston and Planters Inn during the milder winter months for a little better price. We offer seasonal specials and packages during January and early February as well if you are considering another getaway. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to your return and thank you for your comments.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Planters Inn brings a European flair to running its' hotel. The Staff goes out of their way to see to all your needs. The roooms are luxurious; king size bed and bedding, marble bath with jacuzzi, plenty of room. Each night they have turn down service and put a little treat, from their pastry chef, on the table beside the bed. Overall, we had an awesome stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor of the new wing. You don't have to go through the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear JoeRichards,
Many of our return guests are fond of the Deluxe King rooms located in the piazza wing for many of the reason you mention. Beautiful shared courtyard overlooking the city market and our newly renovated central courtyard, these oversized jetted tub bathrooms are a favorite for many. A continental breakfast just outside your door on the piazza in the morning can make for a terrific start to the day or perfect for an afternoon beverage and or relaxing book in the sun. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next trip to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Planters Inn and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! This was my first trip to Charleston and it exceeded all my expectations. We looked at several different places and settled on Planter's Inn and were completely satisfied with our choice. I am a history buff and would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys history but Charleston also offers excellent shopping, dining, and plenty of other fun things to do. We spent 3 days and only "scratched" the surface. We will certainly return!

Pros to Planters Inn:
-Great location right in the heart of historic district. We rarely used our car the whole trip. The street market is directly across the street. King street is one block away with great shopping from large retail stores such as (Pottery Barn, Banana republic, J. Crew, etc). There is also great shopping with more "local stores" a block or two away towards the coastline.
-Large, quiet, beautiful rooms. We had a room off the courtyard and one night there was a large group of people that were slightly noisy but it did not keep us up and otherwise it was very nice and peaceful.
-Peninsula Grill is awesome; very expensive but delicious.
-Staff all very friendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere is what you would expect from a fine hotel.

Cons to Planters Inn:
-Valet Parking is ~$20 per day. I really think most places do valet parking as well though so this is kind of part of the trip wherever you go.
-No complimentary breakfast. They do have coffee and hot tea in the morning and apple cider and orange spiced tea in afternoon which is excellent.

Other "nuggets" from our trip:
-If you enjoy history, you must go to the plantations. We only had time for Middleton and Magnolia but hope to go to more plantations next trip. Middleton has an excellent restaurant located on the property that was one of our favorite lunch spots. We only bought general admission to both plantations (there are lots of "tour" options, etc. but we decided to just head out on our own as it can be pricey). I think this was more efficient for covering the whole plantation but I guess we probably missed out on some history info.
-Hominy Grill is a great spot for breakfast. Just be careful, on weekends they don't open untill 9am (Which I think is absolutely ridiculous.)
-MUST go on a carriage tour. We went with Palmetto Carriage (located in a big red barn) and I would recommend to anyone. I would do this tour early in the trip to help get a feel for where everything is and get an "taste" of all Charleston's rich history.

Overall, Charleston is such a charming city full of beauty, great food, shopping, and history. My only complaint is that the trip was very expensive but some of that was because there was so many fun things to do!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear DoBriggsy,
We are pleased to hear you discovered Charleston and Planters Inn for your first visit. Your review takes time to address many of our attributes with a few minor suggestions that we always appreciate. Our city is famous for history, dining, shopping and numerous culinary delights. Thank you for taking time to summarize your experience and share for other to read. We look forward to seeing you and many future visits as Greenville is a very short drive to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the nights of 11/22 and 23 of this year in one of the hotel's Plantation King rooms. It was a definite splurge for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable, and the hotel's location is perfect for walking around Charleston's historic district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Vaoenophile,
Our Plantation King rooms offer guests the largest variety of “looks” in our charming circa 1844 property and are by far the best value and most spacious of our guest rooms. With fourteen versions of this room, the Plantation King is our most recommended room category. Thank you for your comments on the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and we appreciate the acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff; our most underappreciated and highly valued team members that make our property what is every day.
Best Wishes and thank you from all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this quaint and romantic place. Loved the room decor and in-room fireplace. Staff was attentive and provided nice touches.

Room location off the courtyard was nice and quiet. We had heard that rooms off the street side might be noisy, so we asked for a courtyard room and were rewarded.

Location was excellent, within walking distance of just about everything. A great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for room off courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear David,
Thank you for your recent trip advisor and pleased to hear your room choice was rewarded and partially attributed to suggestions from others. Our circa 1844 historic property offer guests an experience unlike any other property found in Charleston. We provide a variety of guest accommodations that include the seasonal benefit of a working gas fireplace which enhances almost any occasion by simply creating that little extra charm. Although this precious amenity is not found in all 64 rooms, it is a highly requested item during the holiday season and is a popular selection from your repeat guests. “Quaint and romantic” is a succinct description of the atmosphere we offer guests upon arrival to our property. As we have decorated for the holidays, the warmth of the lobby décor and our wood burning fireplace truly welcome our guests to the property and reminds us all of the special memories we help create for guests that are visiting during the holiday season.
Happy Anniversary from all of us and Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Planters Inn in Charlestown, South Carolina, in August 2012, for our wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a more romantic and glamorous place to stay than this famous old hotel and this amazing city. The accommodations in Planters Inn are beautiful and elegantly Old South but with great and large modern bathrooms and other modern amenities. The valet service and staff are superb. The staff and service is warm, Southern, impeccably efficient and helpful. The Peninsula Grill Dining Room in the Inn is to die for. We also love the courtyard beside the hotel. It is whispery lit and romantic in the evenings. Fountains and flowers and greenery abound. Our room looked right off onto the courtyard and onto the old Market. (We had a corner room, which was so beautiful!) Horse carriages, ladies weaving sweet grass baskets, and history abound right outside the door of the hotel and right outside one’s window. Charleston is one of our favorite best cities in the world and the Planters Inn is the perfect setting in which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Adam and Victoria S,
We always grateful of our guest feedback; however the lasting impressions we help create during an anniversary trip remind us all of the significance of our guests experiences even more. Your summation from your anniversary trip is superb in all areas and we are so pleased you elected to share your special occasion with us in Charleston. On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again soon for a return visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.