We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown and exceptional.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Served with Style
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Nashvillle, TN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Downtown and exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Planters Inn brings a European flair to running its' hotel. The Staff goes out of their way to see to all your needs. The roooms are luxurious; king size bed and bedding, marble bath with jacuzzi, plenty of room. Each night they have turn down service and put a little treat, from their pastry chef, on the table beside the bed. Overall, we had an awesome stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor of the new wing. You don't have to go through the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear JoeRichards,
Many of our return guests are fond of the Deluxe King rooms located in the piazza wing for many of the reason you mention. Beautiful shared courtyard overlooking the city market and our newly renovated central courtyard, these oversized jetted tub bathrooms are a favorite for many. A continental breakfast just outside your door on the piazza in the morning can make for a terrific start to the day or perfect for an afternoon beverage and or relaxing book in the sun. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next trip to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    113
    48
    16
    5
See reviews for
83
500
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Planters Inn and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! This was my first trip to Charleston and it exceeded all my expectations. We looked at several different places and settled on Planter's Inn and were completely satisfied with our choice. I am a history buff and would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys history but Charleston also offers excellent shopping, dining, and plenty of other fun things to do. We spent 3 days and only "scratched" the surface. We will certainly return!

Pros to Planters Inn:
-Great location right in the heart of historic district. We rarely used our car the whole trip. The street market is directly across the street. King street is one block away with great shopping from large retail stores such as (Pottery Barn, Banana republic, J. Crew, etc). There is also great shopping with more "local stores" a block or two away towards the coastline.
-Large, quiet, beautiful rooms. We had a room off the courtyard and one night there was a large group of people that were slightly noisy but it did not keep us up and otherwise it was very nice and peaceful.
-Peninsula Grill is awesome; very expensive but delicious.
-Staff all very friendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere is what you would expect from a fine hotel.

Cons to Planters Inn:
-Valet Parking is ~$20 per day. I really think most places do valet parking as well though so this is kind of part of the trip wherever you go.
-No complimentary breakfast. They do have coffee and hot tea in the morning and apple cider and orange spiced tea in afternoon which is excellent.

Other "nuggets" from our trip:
-If you enjoy history, you must go to the plantations. We only had time for Middleton and Magnolia but hope to go to more plantations next trip. Middleton has an excellent restaurant located on the property that was one of our favorite lunch spots. We only bought general admission to both plantations (there are lots of "tour" options, etc. but we decided to just head out on our own as it can be pricey). I think this was more efficient for covering the whole plantation but I guess we probably missed out on some history info.
-Hominy Grill is a great spot for breakfast. Just be careful, on weekends they don't open untill 9am (Which I think is absolutely ridiculous.)
-MUST go on a carriage tour. We went with Palmetto Carriage (located in a big red barn) and I would recommend to anyone. I would do this tour early in the trip to help get a feel for where everything is and get an "taste" of all Charleston's rich history.

Overall, Charleston is such a charming city full of beauty, great food, shopping, and history. My only complaint is that the trip was very expensive but some of that was because there was so many fun things to do!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear DoBriggsy,
We are pleased to hear you discovered Charleston and Planters Inn for your first visit. Your review takes time to address many of our attributes with a few minor suggestions that we always appreciate. Our city is famous for history, dining, shopping and numerous culinary delights. Thank you for taking time to summarize your experience and share for other to read. We look forward to seeing you and many future visits as Greenville is a very short drive to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the nights of 11/22 and 23 of this year in one of the hotel's Plantation King rooms. It was a definite splurge for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable, and the hotel's location is perfect for walking around Charleston's historic district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Vaoenophile,
Our Plantation King rooms offer guests the largest variety of “looks” in our charming circa 1844 property and are by far the best value and most spacious of our guest rooms. With fourteen versions of this room, the Plantation King is our most recommended room category. Thank you for your comments on the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and we appreciate the acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff; our most underappreciated and highly valued team members that make our property what is every day.
Best Wishes and thank you from all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this quaint and romantic place. Loved the room decor and in-room fireplace. Staff was attentive and provided nice touches.

Room location off the courtyard was nice and quiet. We had heard that rooms off the street side might be noisy, so we asked for a courtyard room and were rewarded.

Location was excellent, within walking distance of just about everything. A great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for room off courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear David,
Thank you for your recent trip advisor and pleased to hear your room choice was rewarded and partially attributed to suggestions from others. Our circa 1844 historic property offer guests an experience unlike any other property found in Charleston. We provide a variety of guest accommodations that include the seasonal benefit of a working gas fireplace which enhances almost any occasion by simply creating that little extra charm. Although this precious amenity is not found in all 64 rooms, it is a highly requested item during the holiday season and is a popular selection from your repeat guests. “Quaint and romantic” is a succinct description of the atmosphere we offer guests upon arrival to our property. As we have decorated for the holidays, the warmth of the lobby décor and our wood burning fireplace truly welcome our guests to the property and reminds us all of the special memories we help create for guests that are visiting during the holiday season.
Happy Anniversary from all of us and Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Planters Inn in Charlestown, South Carolina, in August 2012, for our wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a more romantic and glamorous place to stay than this famous old hotel and this amazing city. The accommodations in Planters Inn are beautiful and elegantly Old South but with great and large modern bathrooms and other modern amenities. The valet service and staff are superb. The staff and service is warm, Southern, impeccably efficient and helpful. The Peninsula Grill Dining Room in the Inn is to die for. We also love the courtyard beside the hotel. It is whispery lit and romantic in the evenings. Fountains and flowers and greenery abound. Our room looked right off onto the courtyard and onto the old Market. (We had a corner room, which was so beautiful!) Horse carriages, ladies weaving sweet grass baskets, and history abound right outside the door of the hotel and right outside one’s window. Charleston is one of our favorite best cities in the world and the Planters Inn is the perfect setting in which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Adam and Victoria S,
We always grateful of our guest feedback; however the lasting impressions we help create during an anniversary trip remind us all of the significance of our guests experiences even more. Your summation from your anniversary trip is superb in all areas and we are so pleased you elected to share your special occasion with us in Charleston. On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again soon for a return visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Over the recent Thanksgiving Holidays, we spent four nights at the memorable Planter's Inn, Charleston. As salient background, I am a corporate compliance consultant and travel frequently on a global basis, and because my firm has excellent clients, it has been my privilege to domicile in the best hotels and resorts in the world. (My favorite hotel in the universe: Claridge's, London.)

Well on my own nickel this time, we booked the Governor's Suite at the Planter's Inn and our stay at this marvelous property convinces me this historical gem (1844) resides on a stratospheric level with the world's finest boutique hotels. The service, lodging, food and ambience was absolutely perfect and we were especially mesmerized at the classy personal attention bestowed by the incomparable, peerless staff.

And speaking of the staff, General Manager Brian Dickerson and his carefully-selected and trained employees could give professional lessons to other properties as to how to manage a hotel and treat its guests.

At the risk of leaving out someone equally worthy, I would especially compliment Drew, Amy, Kara, Nick, Tristin, Steve and Josh for high praise. Drew runs a tight ship at night and joined me as I puffed on an infrequent cigar in the garden one pleasant evening. Nick, an urbane, sophisticated Englishman, has broken some female hearts, I imagine; Amy and Kara can secure reservations that no one else can--plus, both are drop-dead beautiful; Steve exhibits smiling charm to early risers seeking coffee; Tristin and Josh--friendly, accommodating and attentive linebacker types are fellows you want around just to steady things. (Although I can't imagine trouble of any kind ever pays a visit to the Planter's Inn.)


Here is the last word and the best thing I can say about the Planter's Inn: This hotel is a genuine credit to the exceptionally historic city in which it is privileged to serve a world-wide clientele.

Point being, we'll return--and often..

-Appreciatively to all.. Clark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Mr. Clark,
Your posting is simply perfect. OUTSTANDING HOTEL AND SERVICE! Individual recognition of our team members by name is what we strive for in the service industry and ultimately the standard we look for when recognizing our staff internally. On behalf of the numerous staff you recognized and those you include in your overall summation of our service, we are humbly appreciative. Planters Inn is known to provide guests a superior location, amazing restaurant, and beautifully appointed guest accommodations and outstanding service. We are proud to hear you were able to experience and enjoy all of the above. We are certain you will be back for many visits and we look forward to your return!
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a great hotel with a great location. Left my car with the valet on a Friday and didn't need to drive until Monday when I left. Ran into a few issues with my reservation and room service that the management worked hard to resolve. Speaking of "room service" , dont expect a romantic room service meal sitting in your fireplace suite. They do not have in room dining except for light continental breakfast. I would also note that one should not leave anything like newspapers or partial water bottles in room as the housekeepers will take them away. This happened twice in our visit and I see other reviewers have noted this in the past. Quite peculiar. Again staff is quite positive and always address you by name. Great free wifi here . Dont miss the relaxing and comfortable lounge off lobby, its a great place to read your weekend paper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Nolan,
As you mention, management made numerous efforts to address and assist with your concerns during your visit and we hope those attempts were taken into consideration during your recent review and posting. Your suggestions and feedback regarding our room service have been met and addressed with the management team and improvements are progress to better serve our guests and improve our operation. Thank you for your comments.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.