We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to splurge in Charleston, SC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Named #1 Best City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice place to splurge in Charleston, SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the nights of 11/22 and 23 of this year in one of the hotel's Plantation King rooms. It was a definite splurge for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable, and the hotel's location is perfect for walking around Charleston's historic district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Vaoenophile,
Our Plantation King rooms offer guests the largest variety of “looks” in our charming circa 1844 property and are by far the best value and most spacious of our guest rooms. With fourteen versions of this room, the Plantation King is our most recommended room category. Thank you for your comments on the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and we appreciate the acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff; our most underappreciated and highly valued team members that make our property what is every day.
Best Wishes and thank you from all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    94
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
429
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this quaint and romantic place. Loved the room decor and in-room fireplace. Staff was attentive and provided nice touches.

Room location off the courtyard was nice and quiet. We had heard that rooms off the street side might be noisy, so we asked for a courtyard room and were rewarded.

Location was excellent, within walking distance of just about everything. A great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for room off courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear David,
Thank you for your recent trip advisor and pleased to hear your room choice was rewarded and partially attributed to suggestions from others. Our circa 1844 historic property offer guests an experience unlike any other property found in Charleston. We provide a variety of guest accommodations that include the seasonal benefit of a working gas fireplace which enhances almost any occasion by simply creating that little extra charm. Although this precious amenity is not found in all 64 rooms, it is a highly requested item during the holiday season and is a popular selection from your repeat guests. “Quaint and romantic” is a succinct description of the atmosphere we offer guests upon arrival to our property. As we have decorated for the holidays, the warmth of the lobby décor and our wood burning fireplace truly welcome our guests to the property and reminds us all of the special memories we help create for guests that are visiting during the holiday season.
Happy Anniversary from all of us and Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Planters Inn in Charlestown, South Carolina, in August 2012, for our wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a more romantic and glamorous place to stay than this famous old hotel and this amazing city. The accommodations in Planters Inn are beautiful and elegantly Old South but with great and large modern bathrooms and other modern amenities. The valet service and staff are superb. The staff and service is warm, Southern, impeccably efficient and helpful. The Peninsula Grill Dining Room in the Inn is to die for. We also love the courtyard beside the hotel. It is whispery lit and romantic in the evenings. Fountains and flowers and greenery abound. Our room looked right off onto the courtyard and onto the old Market. (We had a corner room, which was so beautiful!) Horse carriages, ladies weaving sweet grass baskets, and history abound right outside the door of the hotel and right outside one’s window. Charleston is one of our favorite best cities in the world and the Planters Inn is the perfect setting in which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Adam and Victoria S,
We always grateful of our guest feedback; however the lasting impressions we help create during an anniversary trip remind us all of the significance of our guests experiences even more. Your summation from your anniversary trip is superb in all areas and we are so pleased you elected to share your special occasion with us in Charleston. On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again soon for a return visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Over the recent Thanksgiving Holidays, we spent four nights at the memorable Planter's Inn, Charleston. As salient background, I am a corporate compliance consultant and travel frequently on a global basis, and because my firm has excellent clients, it has been my privilege to domicile in the best hotels and resorts in the world. (My favorite hotel in the universe: Claridge's, London.)

Well on my own nickel this time, we booked the Governor's Suite at the Planter's Inn and our stay at this marvelous property convinces me this historical gem (1844) resides on a stratospheric level with the world's finest boutique hotels. The service, lodging, food and ambience was absolutely perfect and we were especially mesmerized at the classy personal attention bestowed by the incomparable, peerless staff.

And speaking of the staff, General Manager Brian Dickerson and his carefully-selected and trained employees could give professional lessons to other properties as to how to manage a hotel and treat its guests.

At the risk of leaving out someone equally worthy, I would especially compliment Drew, Amy, Kara, Nick, Tristin, Steve and Josh for high praise. Drew runs a tight ship at night and joined me as I puffed on an infrequent cigar in the garden one pleasant evening. Nick, an urbane, sophisticated Englishman, has broken some female hearts, I imagine; Amy and Kara can secure reservations that no one else can--plus, both are drop-dead beautiful; Steve exhibits smiling charm to early risers seeking coffee; Tristin and Josh--friendly, accommodating and attentive linebacker types are fellows you want around just to steady things. (Although I can't imagine trouble of any kind ever pays a visit to the Planter's Inn.)


Here is the last word and the best thing I can say about the Planter's Inn: This hotel is a genuine credit to the exceptionally historic city in which it is privileged to serve a world-wide clientele.

Point being, we'll return--and often..

-Appreciatively to all.. Clark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Mr. Clark,
Your posting is simply perfect. OUTSTANDING HOTEL AND SERVICE! Individual recognition of our team members by name is what we strive for in the service industry and ultimately the standard we look for when recognizing our staff internally. On behalf of the numerous staff you recognized and those you include in your overall summation of our service, we are humbly appreciative. Planters Inn is known to provide guests a superior location, amazing restaurant, and beautifully appointed guest accommodations and outstanding service. We are proud to hear you were able to experience and enjoy all of the above. We are certain you will be back for many visits and we look forward to your return!
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a great hotel with a great location. Left my car with the valet on a Friday and didn't need to drive until Monday when I left. Ran into a few issues with my reservation and room service that the management worked hard to resolve. Speaking of "room service" , dont expect a romantic room service meal sitting in your fireplace suite. They do not have in room dining except for light continental breakfast. I would also note that one should not leave anything like newspapers or partial water bottles in room as the housekeepers will take them away. This happened twice in our visit and I see other reviewers have noted this in the past. Quite peculiar. Again staff is quite positive and always address you by name. Great free wifi here . Dont miss the relaxing and comfortable lounge off lobby, its a great place to read your weekend paper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Nolan,
As you mention, management made numerous efforts to address and assist with your concerns during your visit and we hope those attempts were taken into consideration during your recent review and posting. Your suggestions and feedback regarding our room service have been met and addressed with the management team and improvements are progress to better serve our guests and improve our operation. Thank you for your comments.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We love Charleston & chose the Planters Inn this year for our Thanksgiving and cannot wait to return. We had a lovely room, spacious, with a comfortable king and bath with a jacuzzi. The staff from the curb to the front desk to the housekeepers made you feel welcome from the time you arrived to your departure. On our first morning there, we missed breakfast as we were headed to the Cathedral for a Thanksgiving Mass. We picked up a Cappuccino and a muffin on the way back to the Inn and sat in their sunny courtyard. A gentleman came out of the hotel and asked if we needed anything. We said we were fine but in a few minutes he was back with a plate of delicious pasteries for us to enjoy. Later we learned that he was the owner of the Inn. Attention to detail seem to be their motto!! Note that it is so central to all that is Charleston!
Then top off your day with a spectacular meal at the Peninsula Grille at the hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the Piazza - a lovely location with tables to sit out on a lovely morning or afternoon. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Clancy159,
It is always a pleasure to read such a positive all around review of our property, staff, service and location. However, when combined with the memories we help create on during a holiday trip, we are very grateful to have shared in such an experience. On behalf of the entire team and owner, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our southern hospitality and truly look forward to seeing you on many trips to Charleston in the future.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Planter's Inn in September, 2012. We arrived on Labor Day (9/3) and spent two nights at the property. We booked our Grand King room through Kayak at $199/night. This is exactly the rack rate that is advertised on their web site. Despite the hotel being practically empty, we were put into what must be the smallest king room on the property. Although we did not complain, our room was quite cramped and the "small sitting area" consisted of a chair and a desk placed along the wall of the bed. The hotel was nice, but not what I would expect of a Relais and Chateaux property. The lobby is sufficient, but nothing spectacular and the bathroom had a standard size tub with a shower head. Overall, we were dissapointed with our accomodations, especially with the hotel not being even half full. Fortunately, the hotel has an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Benradette00,
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. Our historic property offers various locations and views within each room category. Rate is not a reflection of a room assignment selection; nor do we penalize guests for their method of booking when assigning rooms. We appreciation feedback and are sorry to hear you were not satisfied you’re decision to stay with us. With 64 rooms to choose from, perhaps you will consider trying us again should you return to Charleston.

Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.