We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Served with Style
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Planters Inn for a night and had a wonderful stay. Did not know much about Charleston but was given great restaurant and bar recommendations by the night managers (Drew and Taylor I believe) that were exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were very nicely done up, the beds were large and very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The city itself is a great place to visit, but the Planters Inn definitely helped make our stay in Charleston all the better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Owen J,
Always a pleasure to hear of a first time visitor that comes to appreciate our property and our amazing city and the many options for dining while staying in the heart of the historic district. Thank you for the mention to our evening management, Drew and Taylor for their concierge services and suggestions. Charleston is a unique destination that offers such a variety of entertainment, historical beauty, and quality shopping unlike many cities of similar size. As a New Yorker, we hope you will take advantage of the variety of quick direct flight options and join us again for another visit at Planters Inn and Peninsula to continue your touring of our fair city.
Until then, a thank you for all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    110
    48
    16
    5
See reviews for
82
484
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Everything to make a stay perfect was taken care of. The rooms were lovely, clean, and comfortable. The staff was exemplary. They were gracious, friendly, and most helpful. Of particular note is Tristen. He is professional, friendly, and makes you feel like you have known him for years. He is a great face for The Planters Inn.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Janey K,
We agree, Tristan our resident Frenchman, is a welcome addition to our team and make our guests feel right at home during their time at our Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for acknowledging our service, clean comfortable rooms and the consistently pleasant and professional service you experienced during your visit. We look forward to assisting you on many trips in the future.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

So our room was on the corner which was slightly noisy at times, but other then that slight criticism I have nothing negative I can say. Over delivered for the cost, lovely place, perfect customer service every interaction. Even the restaurant was very good. The best feature of all was the location, perfectly central to everywhere we wanted to go, we walked almost the entire time and it was great. highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear PEinbund,
We appreciate all your positive comments and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our amazing city during your recent visit. Charleston is a “walkers” paradise with history, shopping, and dining just steps from our front door to keep you busy for days. Although we offer the city’s premier location, our interior guest room storm shutters are very beneficial to the occasional street sounds one might anticipate in such an urban setting. Please call on me directly for assistance and selection of a prime interior courtyard location for your next visit to Planters Inn.
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here with a business meeting for 3 days. the location is fantastic right next to the outdoor markets and a few block from the harbor. Room are very nicely appointed, and comfortable. This is a high end hotel with impeccable service. Inside the hotel is the Penninsula restaurant which is excellent, and within a short walk is a very wide range of other places to eat and see. The only complaint I had was that the housekeeping was understaffed. My room was not made up at 3pm in the afternoon and I was inconvenienced as a result. The housekeeper had the poor habit of throwing away my reading material on my bedstand. This is a "no-no". I was surprised for such a high priced, luxury hotel. Otherwise great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell them latest time you want your room made up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Nonnino,
We are thankful for you positive comments and recognition of our team and the many areas of our property you enjoyed. It is also unfortunate and inexcusable for us to dispose of you personal belongings without your consent. Although this may have been an honest oversight, we do offer our sincere apologies once again and have reviewed this critical step and the timeliness of cleaning our in house guest rooms with our entire housekeeping department. We take all recommendations and suggestions under advisement and use this to improve our operation for betterment of all future guests. We thank you for your feedback and hope you have the opportunity to join us again from Greenville one day in the future.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September, as a treat, having spent most of our trip staying in more budget accomodation. It was wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful, and the room was beautiful. We had a terrace where we could sit out and enjoy the atmosphere, and the outdoor area where we ate breakfast was very pretty and relaxing. The location is very central and near to lots of bars and restaurants, and the valet parking was useful in a town where parking is hard work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Beth S,
I’m glad to hear we were your choice for a little treat after staying at a few other properties. The fact that we able make you feel welcome, comfortable, and worth a few extra dollars is a nice compliment to our team and property. Our Market and Meeting location is second to none in the city and allows for the best of Charleston’s shopping, historical wonders, and awarding winning culinary delights. Thank you for allowing us to take care of you during your trip to the States. Please join us again upon your return.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in Charleston including French Quarter and Harborview which are rated higher on Tripadvisor. I don't know why. Both the room and service is superior to any other place I have stayed in Charleston. Couple that with the Penisular Grill and it's hard to find a better spot to be in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Scbwino,
Thank you for your review, comments, and sentiment. We are proud to be consistently ranked among Charleston’s finest. However, we believe you may have pointed out the best compliment…. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are truly the best small hotel and restaurant in the City. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated by all of us.
THANK YOU!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Planters Inn had been recommended to me and more than met my expectations both before arriving and during my visit. You could not find a better place to stay in Charleston. From the warm and welcoming ambiance, the superb quality of the food and service and the very personal interest and attention from the concierge staff in helping me plan special sightseeing and restaurant reservations based on my OWN taste and interests. My room had all the appointments and comfort that I was led to expect. The hotel management went out of their way to make me feel welcome, I so enjoyed the charming library/living room and I was in walking distance to virtually every place I chose to wander. The Planters Inn represents the finest of services expected today with the charm and courtesy of Historic Charleston. I would definitely wish to return to this hotel in future. It truly epitomises what Charleston is supposed to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Carol B,
Your comments and sentiment are truly appreciated by the entire team at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. It is rewarding when a guest is pleasantly surprised by our service, ambiance, location, and amenities, however it especially noteworthy when we live up to the recommendations of your friends and our past guests. You have offered the many readers of TripAdvisor a thoughtfully worded description of our southern hospitality at work. Charleston is a city unlike many and we are thrilled you were able to experience the Planters Inn. Please join us again whenever you are ready for another getaway.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.