We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Be #1 in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn to your Saves list
Planters Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Served with Style
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Should Be #1 in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is my second stay at Planters Inn and it baffles me why it is not #1 in Charleston. The French Quarter Inn is a HUGH hotel with a somewhat ugly facade including an ATM machine. The Planters Inn is a small, elegant hotel oozing Charleston charm. I am sure the French Quarter Inn and the other large hotels (Charleston Place) are lovely but the Planters Inn is superb. The exquisite small details, the lovely but not intrusive service, and the outstanding food are not to be missed. it creates an authenic Charleston experience. The price is alot easier to absorb if you opt for the Simple Stay package which includes parking and the awesome continental breakfast. We are coming back next year for our third Spoleto and would only stay here yet again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We appreciate your comments and your assertion that we should be #1 in Charleston! We tend to agree with your observations on our property, service and location. Thank you for sharing your Spoleto experience with us once again and we look forward to seeing you next May, if not sooner.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    113
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
83
499
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Planters Inn while we were in town for our son’s college graduation. While we arrived with considerable expectations regarding our stay at the highly regarded Planters Inn, those expectations were, in fact, exceeded in every way we can think of. The accommodations were simply first class. Our room was picture perfect, well appointed and flawlessly clean. Every evening, as a part of turndown, a couple of tasty dessert morsels were supplied bedside. There was a sitting area outside of our second floor room with tables and chairs which we used when visiting with our son and his girlfriend after coming back from walking the historic downtown area which surrounds the hotel. There was additional pubic space in the main hotel which we could have accessed if the weather had been less cooperative. However, as the weather fully cooperated (read walking tours, kayaking, sailing), we only used that space to have an amazing glass of freshly made lemonade, which I was told the Peninsula Grill Restaurant supplies to the hotel every afternoon. We had the graduation night dinner on Saturday night at the Peninsula Grill; the food was sublime and the service exceptional.
Seriously, however, while I could go on at length about our memorable stay at this classic boutique hotel, in the end it is the hotel staff that was the centerpiece of the hotel’s success for us. Once you have such high level accommodations, it is the staff which must know how to ensure an enjoyable visit. The staff at Planters Inn were all clearly working as a team dedicated to ensuring our visit was as special as they could make it for us in every way. That hotel team simply understands that their visitors, when traveling to the Planters Inn, consider it their home while in historic Charleston. They do whatever they can to ensure that you are assisted, even pampered, while you are there. They want to engage you; not intrusively, but just enough to ensure they are doing everything they can to attend to any aspect of your visit that they can assist with. They met all our needs, exceeded our expectations and more! From the second we stopped our car outside the front door Bo greeted us warmly, attended to our luggage, and introduced us to the front desk personnel. There we received first class assistance from Carol, Brad and Tristan. Throughout our five day stay every member of the hotel staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful, whether attending to us, our room, our car or our luggage. We love visiting Charleston and, while Planters Inn made it very difficult to head back home, we are already looking forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

Room Tip: Our room was terrific, as mentioned in review, 2nd floor in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
What a superb summation of our experiences at the Planters Inn! We all appreciate recognition when our guests take the time to point out exceptional service; however, you have gone above and beyond with your individual staff mentions and the absolutely glowing review of our operation. We are honored that you selected our property to share in the graduation festivities and humbly thank you for your time and posting. Until next time, Best Wishes from all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, I was feeling under the weather. My husband had to dine our first night without me. Not wanting to leave the hotel, he dined in the excellent Penninsula Room where the entire hotel staff from the manager to the front desk attendant kept asking about my well being. They continued to check-up on my condition into the next day and the restaurant even prepared me special meals. We can't say enough about the caring, considerate and professional service this hotel provides its guests. Special thanks to Amanda and Alexandra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are so pleased you were finally feeling better. On behalf of the entire team, you experienced the level of care and service our professional staff is accustomed to providing. It was our pleasure looking after you during your visit. Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great small hotel, located close to everything. Service was outstanding - they took a personal interest. Wouldn't look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
From the entire team at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill, we thank you for your gracious comments. When you have the opportunity to return, please call us directly to secure your favorite room type and location. Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We liked it so much we stayed a few nights longer. The staff was attentive and the 'courtyard' room was very quiet. Looking forward to a return visit. Thanks Taylor. PS - Dinner at Peninsula is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Already looking forward to your next trip ….this is exactly what we love to hear. From each of us at Planters Inn, we thank you for the time to recognize our location, our attentive service (Taylor), and incredible location on the City Market. If you have not already, call us to secure the next set of dates!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

As most others have stated, the location is perfect. The hotel is quite lovely and the service was top notch. I will go back and recommend it to anyone wanting to be in the middle of this charming old city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Superior location, top notch quality, and service to match…..it will be difficult to improve on your recent observations; however, we are ready and willing to assist you on your next trip to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. We humbly appreciate your time and comments. Come join us again!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel is in a great location, is very nice and offered us an incredible Charleston experiences. We are already looking at going back. Make sure to stop by and eat at the Peninsula. Our server, Chris Osteen, was the best!

Room Tip: Our corner room was huge and had an incredible bathroom. My only suggestion would be better wifi, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
“Excellent Stay”… This is music to our ears. We offer a sincere appreciation for comments such as yours. Thank you for pointing out our staff, and specifically Chris at Peninsula Grill. We take great pride in offering guests the best possible experience while extending a sincere heartfelt approach to our service that is consistently mentioned by other TripAdvisor guests to our property. We are happy you tend to agree and look forward to your return.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Charleston, Planters Inn is a reflection of its unique location. From flickering carriage lanterns to locally woven Gullah sweetgrass baskets, the intimate 64-room Inn harmoniously blends Lowcountry inspiration and understated elegance. With its piazzas, palmetto-shaded courtyard, and distinctively residential details, Planters Inn is a polished homage to an authentic antebellum Charleston mansion and a AAA Four Diamond ranked property.Planters Inn is a member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of hotels and restaurants located in romantic destinations around the world. The Inn’s blend of Southern hospitality and world class service extends to the acclaimed Peninsula Grill, where the award-winning cuisine, 17-year legacy of being “the” place to celebrate a milestone event, and famous Ultimate Coconut Cake® have made it a Charleston institution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.