We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jasmine House - What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jasmine House Inn to your Saves list
Jasmine House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Jasmine House - What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent the last five nights at Jasmine House. Very friendly, helpful staff. Front desk people also provided concierge services and were able to get us dinner reservations at Hall's Chophouse even when Hall's had told us none were available. The staff's other recommendations were also spot-on. Large, spacious room in an 1843 Greek Revival mansion. Beautiful period décor, gas fireplace, commodious bathroom. Breakfast selections each morning included an array of good local pastries, a different hot dish each day, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea and orange juice. Each evening there were selections of wine, cheese and crackers available for guests. These foods and beverages could be enjoyed in your room, on the wide front porch or in a patio setting in the backyard. Convenient location within easy walking distance of all downtown Charleston attractions. Also on the grounds are another set of rooms in the mansion's old carriage house. Parking in downtown Charleston is not easy to come by. Guests of Jasmine House, which is associated with the Indigo Inn, share a parking lot with Indigo. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Speak with the front desk when making reservations, do not just make them on-line. Doing so got us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your assessments of Charleston and the Jasmine House; thank you also for your recommendation!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
84
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed many years at the Jasmine House and have enjoyed the relaxing and friendly atmosphere provided by the Inn and all the helpful and dedicated employees who work here. The Inn is a quiet and pleasing oasis in the heart of downtown. It is close to the Market and within walking distance to many historic attractions. You can't find a better romantic getaway than the Jasmine House Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty!!! We appreciate your business, and we look forward to your continued visits to the Jasmine House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, MA USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As others have attested this inn is located in the heart of Old Town and you can walk everywhere. We took advantage of this and never used our car while there for our two night stay. We stayed in the Canton room which was very spacious with a separate small library style room with a table and chairs. Shower could have been hotter.

We ate our breakfast there one morning when it was very hot out. This room has a door out to the second floor balcony/porch with table and chairs for enjoying wine and cheese or breakfast. We used both this area and the outside courtyard. I would have given this inn a 5, but the outside areas were in need of a good cleaning. I did let the management know about this and hope they will heed my advice. Tables need to wiped down and the flooring needs a power wash. Otherwise truely lovely property. Breakfast was more than ample so surpised by other negative comments on this. Also there is lemonade and iced tea available during the day. Overall a very nice stay and the price was substantially lower then other B&Bs in the area.

Room Tip: Second floor front rooms have veranda access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments and feedback!!! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Jasmine House Inn for a short weekend. We have stayed all over the peninsula over the years, and enjoyed the convenience of this inn. Our room was huge and comfortable. The room across the hall was a bit more lively in style while ours was a bit dark, yet we enjoyed the convenience of the location. Parking was ample and easy to access. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the porch. Was a bit noisy during breakfast in the am. The garden out back was nice, but nothing special. Breakfast was a bit "off the shelf" compared to some home cooked breakfasts at other B&B's in town. Would recommend this to others

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We thank you for your critique, and for your recommendation!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Didn't get the room we requested but the room we received was beautiful. We enjoyed our 4 night stay. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were quite large with at least 15ft ceilings. Loved the southern antique décor and furnishings. The house puts out a delicious breakfast spread on the antique buffet. We ate in the courtyard every morning. After visiting plantations and historic homes we would return for wine and cheese and then walk to the great restaurants in Charleston. Charleston is a romantic spot to visit and hope to return .

Room Tip: We picked out a room online months before our arrival. We received a email confirmation regarding o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We apologize that you were angry that you did not get the room that you requested, especially after you had made specific arrangements for your special anniversary. We are pleased that you thought the room that you did get was beautiful. Thank you for your feedback and your review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Jasmine. The rooms are very nicely appointed with great mattresses and updated bathrooms. The offer a nice array of choices in the morning for breakfast and a nice 5-7PM wine, cheese and fruit service, which we enjoyed while meeting many other guests on the wonderful veranda. It is very quiet despite the location and within walking distance of all the sights, restaurants and shops. I would rate it a five but, while adequate, the breakfast is not up to the 5 stars I have had at the very best B+Bs we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Jasmine House Inn is a wonderful B & B in beautiful Charleston. Our train was very late getting into town from DC due to weather, but we were greeted at the Indigo Inn with hot tea, chocolate chip cookies, and good old fashion Southern hospitality. We knew instantly we were going to enjoy our stay.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the courtyard and was perfect. The furnishings were comfortable and charming. The bathroom was spotless and the towels were amazing.
Breakfast was simple but filling. Fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, juices, hard boiled eggs and the most delicious breakfast sliders on mini muffins. But the real treat was the wine, cheese and fruit in the afternoon. Perfect after a day of exploring the city.
Sitting on the porch and enjoying breakfast with the newspaper or relaxing in the afternoon visiting with other guests over a glass of wine......perfect.
This was the first visit to Charleston for my wife and me. It won't be our last and when we do visit again we'll be staying at the Jasmine House Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!!! We are thrilled that your first time experience at the Jasmine House Inn and in Charleston was so memorable, and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasmine House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House Inn

Address: 64 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Jasmine House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Charleston
Jasmine House Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.