We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My favorite hotel in Charleston, close to shopping and dining. Went down to propose to my now fiance. Staff couldn't have been better, accommodations were fantastic. Upon popping the question, we found a complementary bottle of champagne with a hand written note from the owners in our room thanking us for including them in our special day. It will be the only hotel I stay in from now on. Make sure to take advantage of the wine and cheese hour in the evening.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, views of King street are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing the Fulton Lane Inn for such a wonderful occasion. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the champagne in your room. We are thrilled that the Fulton Lane Inn has won the spot as your first choice for hotels in Charleston. Thank you for the wonderful compliment. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    118
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
215
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of this property is perfect with tons to do in close walking distance. The parking is convenient and reasonable ($12/day). We had an amazing experience from start to finish at this hotel. It was our anniversary weekend and they went above and beyond to help us celebrate! We opted for a deluxe room and it was very large with a full kitchen! Breakfast each morning is perfect and delivered exactly when you want it - we enjoyed breakfast in bed each morning, a real treat for us! Our entire room was spotless and so comfortable! The staff was so friendly and gave great references for things to do and places to dine. We will return for sure! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice boutique hotel in a great location. The concierge was outstanding giving us some wonderful restaurant recommendations and even making reservations for us. There is a nice outdoor courtyard and indoor courtyard on the property next door to enjoy a glass of wine or morning breakfast. An excellent continental breakfast can be ordered and delivered to your door in the morning - with some of the best coffee I've ever had. Parking is $12 a day in an open parking lot behind the hotel. Call for the address- the entrance is not on the same road as the hotel.
I would like to be able to give this hotel a better rating because the personnel were wonderful, but the minute we walked into our room an overwhelming, and extremely unpleasant smell greeted us. The room was quite small, but adequate for a b&b but the carpet was tattered and looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. The bedspread had a small stain (looked like coffee) and there was brown stain under the toilet rim. Perhaps if we had complained we would have been moved, as I said, the personnel were wonderful, but we were exhausted from our travel and after lugging our suitcases to the room didn’t want to start all over. There was a refrigerator, hairdryer, and iron & ironing board in the room. Perhaps we were given this room because we booked through a 3rd party and got such an incredible rate. Prior to booking I looked on line and saw all 5 star ratings. Don't know if this was an aberration or the norm, but I couldn't rate our room higher than a 2.5 and that was generous. Overall, because of the continental breakfast (4.5), personnel (5), and location (4.5) I would give it a 3.

Room Tip: Although our room faced King Street it was pretty quiet. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. We truly appreciate the high praise you have given our staff, location, and amenities. We pride ourselves on providing a five-star experience in all areas, so I apologize for the inadequate state of your room. The issues you noted are unacceptable and not in keeping with our high standards. I’m sorry I didn’t have the opportunity to correct the issues with your room while you were still on property. I have addressed these items with our housekeeping department. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope that you will consider staying at the Fulton Lane Inn on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

While checking in there was a mix up with our room. Wyatt was awesome and corrected immediately. Awesome service and very friendly. The room was very spacious, clean, with the old south decor. Very convenient to historic downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Decided to take a last minute overnighter. We've stayed here before so we went in to see what kind of rate we could get. Tabitha at the desk was very helpful and gave us GREAT rate. She even upgraded us to a deluxe king room. Accomidation was romantic and perfect. This is within easy walking distance to all of Charleston's great eating/drinking establihsments and cultural/historic places.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn over the long 4th of July weekend. We arrived close to 1AM our first night, but the staff was helpful and made sure we knew where to park and was ready to check us in upon arrival. Our room was better than I was expecting with a very comfortable king size bed and a nice, clean bathroom. Our room was quiet all weekend (even the night of the 4th). All of the staff was very helpful and one woman helped us choose our dinner location. There was also a surprise perk of complimentary brandy in the evenings if you are interested in that. We received a discounted parking price in the lot behind the hotel, but even nicer than the discounted parking was just knowing that we had a place to come back to when we went for a drive.
I would definitely consider staying in this hotel on my next visit to Charleston!

Room Tip: We didn't have a view, which could have been nice, but we spent most of our time out enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for spending your 4th of July weekend with us. I very much appreciate your sharing your memories and leaving such a great review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. I am delighted to hear that our staff made your stay in Charleston memorable. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the Fulton for 1 night with my fiancée in July 2014. The best feature of the hotel is its location, you can walk anywhere to many bars, restaurants, the Battery and the sea front area where the swings are located. Our room was decent and clean. The bathroom was nice and big. Two major drawbacks for me, which may prevent me from coming back, were first: the bed was not comfortable; and two: you could hear every person coughing, talking and even walking in the alley downstairs even though our room was on the third (top) floor. Although if you get a room not overlooking the alley this may not be a problem.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the narrow alley, a lot people walk by there to get to the parking and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed exploring Charleston from our central location. While I’m pleased to hear of the positive experiences during your stay, I’m truly sorry that you were not comfortable in the with the mattress in your room. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful night’s sleep for every guest who stays with us. I’m sorry your sleep was disturbed was disturbed by noise. This is an infrequent issue that we sometimes encounter. We are looking into soundproofing our windows. We appreciate your feedback as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We do hope that you will visit us again on future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.