We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Save Saved
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in the Cathedral Suite (room 321) with my wife. The Fulton Lane Inn is a beautiful place and they really took care of us. This is a great place to stay location-wise. Right in the middle of everything/everything is in walking distance.

We chose The Fulton Lane Inn to spend the first night of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. We mentioned we were on our honeymoon and had a complimentary glass of champagne chilled and waiting for us in our room when we got back!

Great location, great service, great city, great experience. We will be staying here again the next time we are in Charleston!

Room Tip: If you are going for something intimate and romantic, definitely go with the Cathedral Suite. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am thrilled that you had such a lovely honeymoon at the Fulton Lane Inn. Our Cathedral Suites are built for romantic getaways, so we are happy that the space suited your needs. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and excellent service. We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to celebrating many special occasions to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
210
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed in a room with two queen beds which was sufficiently large, but as one reviewer said could have had a little more "wow appeal". The bathroom was good size and had a counter where three women could lay out their necessary potions & lotions as opposed to just a pedestal sink as most older hotels have. The staff was very friendly and offered selections for lunch and dinner when we arrived. They also sell bottled water at the front desk for only $1 which was a big convenience. We went to the wine & cheese one evening out of the 3 nights we were there which we thought was a nice touch.
All in all the hotel served our purpose just fine and the location could not be beat!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parking lot and at times during the night, especially Saturday night, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. Our staff aims to create a memorable and exceptional experience for each guest. I am thrilled that your room provided a comfortable and ample space for your girls getaway. We look forward to hosting your family's next visit to Charleston - the wine & cheese will be waiting!

Sincerely Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. We had the cathedral suite which was beautiful. It was spacious and clean with a sitting area and couch and then a huge bathroom with a walk-in shower and a jaccuzi tub. The inn also hosted a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm and had complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room. The location of the inn is right on King street which has shopping and restaurants. It is also a very short walk from the Market in Charleston.

When we checked in, we noticed that the TV in our room was not working. It said "no signal" and did not come on. We told the person at the front desk when we were leaving for dinner. She said she would have someone go check to make sure it was working. When we came back later in the night, the TV still did not work. We mentioned it the next morning and she said that she did sent someone up and that the TV should have been working fine. It shouldn't seem like a big deal to have the TV not working, but my husband sleeps much later than I do so I typically watch TV in the morning to kill some time before he wakes up. I had nothing to do until he woke up since the TV was not getting a signal.
I also used the jaccuzi tub. After turning on the jets, I noticed a brown film along the sides of the tub at the water line. This tells me that the tub was probably cleaned, but not the jets in the jacuzzi. Once I noticed it, I got out of the tub immediately and used the shower instead. I really loved the charm of this inn as well as the staff. They were so friendly and kind but the small details do make a big difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you were able to spend an evening in the Cathedral Suite and enjoyed our complimentary amenities. I apologize for the TV issues. Our cable provider had to come out and solve the problem in person. This took longer than anticipated and I am sorry that we were unable to fix the issue during your stay. I appreciate your note about the jaccuzi tub. We use a special disinfecting agent in each jacuzzi tub and unfortunately this tub must have gone a long time between uses. We are adjusting our procedures to ensure this doesn't happen again. I am happy that you had a pleasant experience despite these issues and hope to host you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment that we checked into the Fulton Lane Inn in Charleston, SC we knew what to expect from the experience. The staff was warm and friendly and even as in our case our first stay, we were treated as if we were returning quests. The room was spacious but could have had more wow appeal. The nightly wine hour was well attended and a great chance to talk to fellow travelers. Unfortunately the outdoor courtyard could not be used due to afternoon rain showers and the heat. The Inn is conveniently located to the Market and many good restaurants. Breakfast was delivered each morning and that was a true luxury. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second consecutive year we spent my wifes birthday at the Fulton Lane Inn. We will continue this tradition. The FLI looks just as you see in the pictures. No bait and switch rooms there. Everyone of the Inn's staff that we met were awesome. They were so friendly and ready to help with anything you asked. Or to just talk. This place is situated close to everything. And with Charlestons free local bus /trolly service, you have all of downtown Chatrleston at your fingertips. I would recommend the Fulton Lane Inn to anyone who is interested in staying in Charleston.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when you book. They will help you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. Your notes about our facilities and friendly, accommodating staff are greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that the Fulton Lane Inn has provided the perfect setting for your wife's birthday celebrations. We look forward to carrying on this tradition in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This inn was in a perfectly convenient location, tucked in a alley off shop-lined King Street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and I enjoyed having breakfast in bed (delivered to our room). One morning we put the "please clean room" sign out as we left. When we returned in an hour, our room has already been cleaned! We were impressed with the whole experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are thrilled that you were treated to a dose of Southern hospitality and had such a stellar experience with our staff. We hope you'll choose to stay at the Fulton Lane Inn upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice establishment with a great "healthy' breakfast served next door. Only flaw is it does not have a nice lobby for sitting and people watching.
Great BIG beds....triple sheeting. Big fat towels. Keisha was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.