We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Save Saved
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfort and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment that we checked into the Fulton Lane Inn in Charleston, SC we knew what to expect from the experience. The staff was warm and friendly and even as in our case our first stay, we were treated as if we were returning quests. The room was spacious but could have had more wow appeal. The nightly wine hour was well attended and a great chance to talk to fellow travelers. Unfortunately the outdoor courtyard could not be used due to afternoon rain showers and the heat. The Inn is conveniently located to the Market and many good restaurants. Breakfast was delivered each morning and that was a true luxury. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    116
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
201
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
jackson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second consecutive year we spent my wifes birthday at the Fulton Lane Inn. We will continue this tradition. The FLI looks just as you see in the pictures. No bait and switch rooms there. Everyone of the Inn's staff that we met were awesome. They were so friendly and ready to help with anything you asked. Or to just talk. This place is situated close to everything. And with Charlestons free local bus /trolly service, you have all of downtown Chatrleston at your fingertips. I would recommend the Fulton Lane Inn to anyone who is interested in staying in Charleston.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when you book. They will help you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. Your notes about our facilities and friendly, accommodating staff are greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that the Fulton Lane Inn has provided the perfect setting for your wife's birthday celebrations. We look forward to carrying on this tradition in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This inn was in a perfectly convenient location, tucked in a alley off shop-lined King Street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and I enjoyed having breakfast in bed (delivered to our room). One morning we put the "please clean room" sign out as we left. When we returned in an hour, our room has already been cleaned! We were impressed with the whole experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are thrilled that you were treated to a dose of Southern hospitality and had such a stellar experience with our staff. We hope you'll choose to stay at the Fulton Lane Inn upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice establishment with a great "healthy' breakfast served next door. Only flaw is it does not have a nice lobby for sitting and people watching.
Great BIG beds....triple sheeting. Big fat towels. Keisha was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In March 2013 we were directed to the Fulton Lane Inn by the Visitors' Center. What a find! The room was clean and comfortable and well situated in the downtown antiques district. We enjoyed breakfast in our room and the afternoon cocktail hour. The chef was thoughtful enough to share his delicious recipe for pimento cheese spread with me. Yummy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience at the Fulton Lane Inn and appreciate your feedback. You'll have to let us know how your pimento cheese turns out. We're glad you have the recipe as a keepsake. Have a fantastic summer. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Fulton Lane Inn several times. The location cannot be beat for the price, and the parking is only $12 for your stay, if I remember correctly. Always clean, and the free breakfast delivered to your room each morning, with the newspaper, is a very nice touch. The beds have pretty canopies, and there are fireplaces in the rooms (though I have never used it, it sure is pretty). The last room we stayed in had a full kitchenette, which for a longer stay (more than 3 days) is great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fulton Lane Inn happens to be directly adjacent to one of our favorite Charleston restaurants, Fulton 5. That's, I'm afraid, was where it all started going wrong. The troll like "concierge"sitting at a large oak desk, met us at our entry point, the front lobby. Busily occupied with a matter of great importance, challenged us as to our order business, we handed
her our credit card, got the room number, and was reminded that we just missed the wine and cheese party on the veranda with the other travelers. Ascending elevator with our bags in hand one noticed a scuffed and tired hallway, complete with poorly vacuumed last century carpet. Entry into our room was mildly interesting as the ceilings were quite high. Same coffee colored carpet, reproduction Georgian furniture, with twin windows looking out to a five foot view of neighboring building (this is downtown King Street...what can you expect?). Odd white lint balls on carpet resulted in conclusive evidence cleaner's rule of thumb (per Marriott) 20 minutes per room, was under budget. Bathroom toilet was difficult as handle had to be held down for full flush cycle, small item, but boring especially at early dawn. Shower was afflicted with spinning handles that did nothing except turn water on and off. Bathroom 'not grimy, as much as dust and dander were noticeable at heights above cleaner's reach. We do not expect to stay here again, although it is a great location and a good concept, and besides we had a delicious dinner at Fulton 5, a stones throw away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Charleston, but am sorry to read about your unpleasant experience at the inn. The state of your room was below our standards and we apologize for the inconvenience. I also am sorry that you were unhappy with your reception upon arrival. Our staff is one of the inn’s greatest assets and we are sorry that you did not receive the full attention that you deserved. We paint and refurbish furniture on an ongoing basis, but your comments are appreciated as we work through scheduled maintenance projects this summer. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#24 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Downtown
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#17 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#9 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#16 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#11 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 54 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.