We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amandas Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
jackson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amandas Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second consecutive year we spent my wifes birthday at the Fulton Lane Inn. We will continue this tradition. The FLI looks just as you see in the pictures. No bait and switch rooms there. Everyone of the Inn's staff that we met were awesome. They were so friendly and ready to help with anything you asked. Or to just talk. This place is situated close to everything. And with Charlestons free local bus /trolly service, you have all of downtown Chatrleston at your fingertips. I would recommend the Fulton Lane Inn to anyone who is interested in staying in Charleston.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when you book. They will help you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. Your notes about our facilities and friendly, accommodating staff are greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that the Fulton Lane Inn has provided the perfect setting for your wife's birthday celebrations. We look forward to carrying on this tradition in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    136
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
252
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This inn was in a perfectly convenient location, tucked in a alley off shop-lined King Street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and I enjoyed having breakfast in bed (delivered to our room). One morning we put the "please clean room" sign out as we left. When we returned in an hour, our room has already been cleaned! We were impressed with the whole experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are thrilled that you were treated to a dose of Southern hospitality and had such a stellar experience with our staff. We hope you'll choose to stay at the Fulton Lane Inn upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice establishment with a great "healthy' breakfast served next door. Only flaw is it does not have a nice lobby for sitting and people watching.
Great BIG beds....triple sheeting. Big fat towels. Keisha was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In March 2013 we were directed to the Fulton Lane Inn by the Visitors' Center. What a find! The room was clean and comfortable and well situated in the downtown antiques district. We enjoyed breakfast in our room and the afternoon cocktail hour. The chef was thoughtful enough to share his delicious recipe for pimento cheese spread with me. Yummy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience at the Fulton Lane Inn and appreciate your feedback. You'll have to let us know how your pimento cheese turns out. We're glad you have the recipe as a keepsake. Have a fantastic summer. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Fulton Lane Inn several times. The location cannot be beat for the price, and the parking is only $12 for your stay, if I remember correctly. Always clean, and the free breakfast delivered to your room each morning, with the newspaper, is a very nice touch. The beds have pretty canopies, and there are fireplaces in the rooms (though I have never used it, it sure is pretty). The last room we stayed in had a full kitchenette, which for a longer stay (more than 3 days) is great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fulton Lane Inn happens to be directly adjacent to one of our favorite Charleston restaurants, Fulton 5. That's, I'm afraid, was where it all started going wrong. The troll like "concierge"sitting at a large oak desk, met us at our entry point, the front lobby. Busily occupied with a matter of great importance, challenged us as to our order business, we handed
her our credit card, got the room number, and was reminded that we just missed the wine and cheese party on the veranda with the other travelers. Ascending elevator with our bags in hand one noticed a scuffed and tired hallway, complete with poorly vacuumed last century carpet. Entry into our room was mildly interesting as the ceilings were quite high. Same coffee colored carpet, reproduction Georgian furniture, with twin windows looking out to a five foot view of neighboring building (this is downtown King Street...what can you expect?). Odd white lint balls on carpet resulted in conclusive evidence cleaner's rule of thumb (per Marriott) 20 minutes per room, was under budget. Bathroom toilet was difficult as handle had to be held down for full flush cycle, small item, but boring especially at early dawn. Shower was afflicted with spinning handles that did nothing except turn water on and off. Bathroom 'not grimy, as much as dust and dander were noticeable at heights above cleaner's reach. We do not expect to stay here again, although it is a great location and a good concept, and besides we had a delicious dinner at Fulton 5, a stones throw away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Charleston, but am sorry to read about your unpleasant experience at the inn. The state of your room was below our standards and we apologize for the inconvenience. I also am sorry that you were unhappy with your reception upon arrival. Our staff is one of the inn’s greatest assets and we are sorry that you did not receive the full attention that you deserved. We paint and refurbish furniture on an ongoing basis, but your comments are appreciated as we work through scheduled maintenance projects this summer. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Old hotel (and, I know it is Charleston) but the inside of the rooms are showing AGE. Good location and staff was nice, but I think one could do better. Wall paper needed replacing in the bathroom and this is just one example that doesn't make the rental fee acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.