We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Trip to Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Susu and Kesha were extremely friendly and helpful with restaurants and sightseeing. The room we had was 317, it was lovely corner room with a fireplace. The only issue with the room was the incredible amount of noise in the early morning hours -- impossible to sleep, other than that issue, the complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were very much welcomed.

Room Tip: Wonderful location for shopping and sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    136
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
252
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Bathroom had mold in it in tub and floor. Beds were quite hard and run down. The hotel has a lot of potential but it appears no money is spent on upgrades. Continental breakfast ok but if you pick anything else off the menu they charge for it. Quite disappointed for what we paid. There has to be better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to read about these housekeeping issues, as this is not our standard. We believe the Fulton Lane Inn offers a fantastic value and great location, so I apologize that you were unhappy with your accommodations. The items in your review are being addressed, and I appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We dropped in for a week reservation in this little hotel--just down the street from a mega hotel. Perfect spot for walking the city of Charleston. We were in the middle of the historic district, enjoyed the Home and Garden walks, close to church for Easter Service. Great service, wonderful breakfast in our room or the lobby of their sister hotel, wine and cheese each evening in the courtyards---we enjoyed our break from the snow covered upper midwest.

Room Tip: Our room was on busy King Street and it was quiet. Don't worry about being on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We too, are glad that you took a break from the snow and spent a week with us at the Fulton Lane Inn. Thank you for such a kind review. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to Charleston. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston and we wanted to stay in the heart of the city. Fulton Lane Inn had rooms available at short notice so we booked it. It is ideally located to park and leave the car for the duration of your stay, although there is free in and out privileges from the public parking area to the rear of the Inn. We had a charming petite suite on the third floor where we really enjoyed our breakfast delivered to the room. Friendly and knowledgable staff made the visit even more enjoyable, especially Catherine at our check-in. The property is old and quaint and the halls are a little tired but the room was lovely, clean, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 338 has a curved window alcove overlooking King St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Fulton Lane Inn experience. I am glad that you enjoyed our "Charleston charm" and had such a memorable stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property is lovely and perfectly located . The rooms are nice and big and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable . Loved our weekend stay here and thought the breakfast service to the room is a nice touch !! Would defintley stay again and recommend to friends .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Fulton Lane Inn is a Charleston experience. The Inn has the Soiuthern Charm that keepsw people coming back. SuSu, at the front desk, helped me with all my questions and was a delight yo talk too. We stayed in room 321, a Cathedral Suite. Nor sure if they have more than 1 but ours was on the top floor and had a vaulted ceiling over he canopy bed. A comfortable couch. as wicker chairs, and a table for two rounded out the furnishings of this 1 room suite. A neat feature is the shutters that seperate the jacuzzi tub from the bedroom, giving the impression of a vast space.

The reason for the 4 stars, and not 5, were twofold.:

1. The room really need curtains. The blinds on the windows are almost good enough but, being the room has a high ceiling, there are 3 additional windows above the 4 with blinds. There is no way to stop the light from coming in these. Being that the room faces King Street there was plenty of light outside at night.

2. The bed, but then again at any hotel the bed is never as comfortable as mine. Not really the comfort, but the height. My wife had to use a chair to get in and out easily.

Service - GREAT
Location - GREAT. We walked to dinner both nighs (Anson on Friday and Halls Chophouse on Saturday). We did ride a pedicab back from Halls (another experience that should be enjoyed at least once)
Breakfast served in the room - FANTASTIC. It was a simple continenatl but it was served on time, the pastires and bagel were warm, the coffe good. Who doesn't love breakfast in bed.

Thanks FLI for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a delightful time at Fulton Lane Inn. The room was spacious and quiet. The rooms are nicely separated so there was no noise from the other rooms. The Inn has about 50 rooms and is in three adjacent buildings built in the early 1900's. They were renovated a few years ago. We had a nicely appointed king size bed and I liked the high ceilings. Breakfast is continental (though there is an option to get breakfast in the sister-hotel King's Inn next door). Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you request it. You can order a bagel OR pastries. So we ordered one of each. The pastries were 2 small croissants and 2 small cinnamon rolls that were very good (not too sweet) and warm. Coffee/tea, juice, cereal, yoghurt and fruit are also a part of the substantial breakfast. Everything is close walking distance away. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing memories from your recent visit to the Fulton Lane Inn. I am pleased that you had such a lovely stay. The inn is perfectly positioned to share the best of Charleston with guests. We enjoy offering a variety of items for breakfast, as it's the best way to fuel up for a busy day of sight seeing downtown. Come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.