We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Key West, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charleston Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property is lovely and perfectly located . The rooms are nice and big and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable . Loved our weekend stay here and thought the breakfast service to the room is a nice touch !! Would defintley stay again and recommend to friends .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    130
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
36
228
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Fulton Lane Inn is a Charleston experience. The Inn has the Soiuthern Charm that keepsw people coming back. SuSu, at the front desk, helped me with all my questions and was a delight yo talk too. We stayed in room 321, a Cathedral Suite. Nor sure if they have more than 1 but ours was on the top floor and had a vaulted ceiling over he canopy bed. A comfortable couch. as wicker chairs, and a table for two rounded out the furnishings of this 1 room suite. A neat feature is the shutters that seperate the jacuzzi tub from the bedroom, giving the impression of a vast space.

The reason for the 4 stars, and not 5, were twofold.:

1. The room really need curtains. The blinds on the windows are almost good enough but, being the room has a high ceiling, there are 3 additional windows above the 4 with blinds. There is no way to stop the light from coming in these. Being that the room faces King Street there was plenty of light outside at night.

2. The bed, but then again at any hotel the bed is never as comfortable as mine. Not really the comfort, but the height. My wife had to use a chair to get in and out easily.

Service - GREAT
Location - GREAT. We walked to dinner both nighs (Anson on Friday and Halls Chophouse on Saturday). We did ride a pedicab back from Halls (another experience that should be enjoyed at least once)
Breakfast served in the room - FANTASTIC. It was a simple continenatl but it was served on time, the pastires and bagel were warm, the coffe good. Who doesn't love breakfast in bed.

Thanks FLI for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a delightful time at Fulton Lane Inn. The room was spacious and quiet. The rooms are nicely separated so there was no noise from the other rooms. The Inn has about 50 rooms and is in three adjacent buildings built in the early 1900's. They were renovated a few years ago. We had a nicely appointed king size bed and I liked the high ceilings. Breakfast is continental (though there is an option to get breakfast in the sister-hotel King's Inn next door). Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you request it. You can order a bagel OR pastries. So we ordered one of each. The pastries were 2 small croissants and 2 small cinnamon rolls that were very good (not too sweet) and warm. Coffee/tea, juice, cereal, yoghurt and fruit are also a part of the substantial breakfast. Everything is close walking distance away. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing memories from your recent visit to the Fulton Lane Inn. I am pleased that you had such a lovely stay. The inn is perfectly positioned to share the best of Charleston with guests. We enjoy offering a variety of items for breakfast, as it's the best way to fuel up for a busy day of sight seeing downtown. Come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Inn is located in the heart of the shopping district. It's walking distance or a short drive to most things you would want to do. The lobby is very small with a friendly person always available at the little front desk. There's a quaint charm to the place, but it really needs some attention. The carpets are stained, wallpaper peeling, paint chipping, etc. Our room was basically clean, but some less-used areas had a fairly thick layer of dust. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but was fine. It was nice having it brought to the room, so you could hang out in your PJs and watch TV while eating. Overall, it was a great value for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely little inn, in a central spot of Charleston. BUT: room on the third floor had elevator access.....and then one had to go up and down stairs to get to the room, dragging luggage all the way. No bell cap to help us, at least when we checked in at 7pm on a Friday night. Room was quaint, bed comfortable, but the bathroom quite antiquated, with a terrible shower.......and so many faucets it was hard to figure what worked what! It was a nice room if we had been paying $150/night, but to pay $300/night it was inadequate. We could hear the people in the alleyway (the main access to the hotel entry area) in our room, and that tends to disrupt one's sleep at 3am when the drunk downstairs gets noisy! The breakfast in the morning was nice, good, and brought promptly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay the Fulton Lane Inn. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. Our elevator was indeed out of service and took just over an hour to repair on the night of your arrival. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. I am also sorry to read that other guests disturbed your sleep. Thank you for your comments about your bathroom, as we are making updates in the next few months. We hope you’ll return to experience an excellent stay here on King Street.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We love The Fulton Inn and enjoy walking to our favorite spots in the heart of Charleston, S.C.
Enjoyable breakfast and evening night caps. We absolutely love the coffee...our favorite while staying at The Fulton Inn.
We have enjoyed many different downtown and more expensive hotels but now return to TFLI

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Fulton Lane Inn. We are so gracious of your loyalty to the inn. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a special trip to Charleston to celebrate a birthday. Though a return visit , staying at the Fulton Lane Inn made it a totally new and unique experience. Located within walking distance of everything in old Charleston,the inn provided parking, so we were able to just leave our car and walk everywhere. It was wonderful. Evening wine and cheese at adjoining sister inn was well presented with a variety of lovely wines which changed each night. Full breakfast ordered the night before was delivered on time to our lovely room. Very relaxing and comfortable. The staff was accommodating and, friendly ,and greeted us with southern hospitality, charm .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.