We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Save Saved
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed at many places in downtown Charleston, SC. I had often seen the Fulton Lane Inn on my searches and this time around, I finally decided to try it.

1) Love the location. Right off King street and Market, it is perfectly located in the hub of shopping and night life.
2) We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and we noted that on our reservation. The Staff had champagne waiting in our room when we arrived. Nice touch and thoughtful!
3) The rooms are so welcoming. We chose the Fireplace King, and loved it. It was a warm weekend in Charleston for December, but we were able to turn on the fireplace one night. So cozy. We've stayed in other small hotels where the Decor is over stated but the Fultan Lane Inn got it right. Nice touches, but not over the top with a simple, elegant feel. Love the bath robes in the rooms as well. Didn't use the whirlpool tub, but very large and looked inviting.
4) One of my favorite touches was the room service breakfast! Loved that. We never have liked mingling at breakfast time. I absolutely LOVED the fact that the staff delivers breakfast. You simply leave your choices on your door and time of delivery and you get a call in the morning when the breakfast is on its way. LOVED IT!

The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars, is because I think that should be reserved for an extremely high end hotel with luxurious accommodations. The Fulton Lane Inn exceeded my expectations and we will definitnely stay here again.

If you are looking for a good restaurant - We recommend COAST. It is a little off the beaten path, but quite yummy!
Also - take the cycle rickshaws if you need to go further than a few blocks. A great way to get
around and fairly inespensive.

Room Tip: Fireplace King was perfect for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an exceptional review of the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that you decided to spend your 20th anniversary with us. Our team really enjoys celebrating special occasions with guests - and that always shines through in their service. We greatly appreciate your thorough comments about the property and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
210
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I recently were in Charleston and stayed for 4 days at the Fulton Lane Inn. It is located on King Street - so a fantastic location! It is only a block and a half away from the Charleston Market and very convenient to the free shuttle. Our room was very nice with high ceilings, comfy king-size bed, southern charm, and was a good size for 2 people. Breakfast was delivered to our room (after filling out a breakfast food checklist the night before) at the time appointed. The food was good, other than the bagel. The only thing that we were disappointed in was that the breakfast items were the same every day and we tired of that after 4 days. The other pleasant amenity was an evening reception with free wine, cheese, crackers, and dip. Very nice! Sherry was offered free of charge in the evening. Everyone employed by the hotel were very friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location for shopping, eating and touring. Will probably go back. The staff was very accommodating. Loved my breakfast service! The entrance to the inn was very romantic. Everybody loves SuSu the concierge. The wine and cheese hour and sherry before bed was definitely a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had such a wonderful time here in Charleston at the Fulton Lane Inn. We appreciate your feedback about our complimentary breakfast service. Your comments are very helpful as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations. Come back and see us soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location...walking distance from shopping, restaurants and bars. Very friendly staff. We stayed in the King Suite. Fireplace was cozy and perfect. Continental breakfast was included and brought to your room in the morning. Perfect romantic getaway. Not fancy but lots of charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Situated right off King Street near Market Street in historic Charleston, the hotel is perfectly situated. It's a short walk to all the key points of interest. The Fulton Lane Inn is more like a boutique hotel than a luxury chain and has lots of character. It lacks amenities, but has charm. The rooms have the feel of a personal residence with very high ceilings. Parking is $20/day, but is very conveniently located behind the property. Check out is Noon instead of 11am, which allows you to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or brunch before checking out. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I believe rooms that face the parking area behind the property avoid any street noise from King Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your memories and photos from the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and took advantage of our great location. I appreciate your comments about the charm and character of our property. I am sorry to read that you paid $20 to park. We extend a special all-day rate of $12 for our guests to park in the lot directly behind the inn. Upon your next visit, we will be sure you are directed to the correct parking lot. Thank you again for the recommendation and wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you all again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited Charleston again, from our home in Wilmington- over Thanksgiving 2012. This Is a
great central Charleston central location, just drive down King Street (portion that is one way south). Fulton Lane office is located in a cozy alley just off King between some jewelry stores. EZ check In, we parked in front of the theater just across the street, and then move into their parking lot, forward/left turn on Horlbeck, the left into the parking area for the Charming Inns/shared spaces. We took the option for breakfast in room/included, We stayed in Room 326, great option, 3rd story rooms look down onto King St. Spacious, great free WiFi, Ice machines and soft drinks one floor down. Staff are great, knowledgeable, helpful. Wall St journal and USA Today in the lobby. We took part in the free wine crackers dealie late afternoon, good deal, next door, adjacent hotel, open area. Our only wish for this place would have been less light shining into our room from the old windows up high over our regular windows. Great walking city, always enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go with Room 326... Also, free fitness center off prem is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving with us here in Charleston. You certainly had some wonderful weather to enjoy the city by foot and explore the nearby attractions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed such a pleasant stay. I greatly appreciate your thorough review of the property and the complimentary amenities we provide to guests. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to hosting you both again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spent a good deal of time searching for a hotel in downtown Charleston that was reasonably priced for the Thanksgiving holiday, but also within walking distance of all that downtown has to offer...no small feat. We got a great deal on this hotel compared with prices of other nearby hotels, so I was a bit nervous about how it would be.......but what a wonderful surprise! It is in the PERFECT location, and the staff was so friendly, providing recommendations and always providing assistance. The breakfast (continental) delivered to our room was a nice touch, as was the wine/cheese each night. Now, the rooms are not decorated in a fancy, luxuriant manner (that's the only reason why I did not make it a "5"...I save that for the luxury types)...but very comfortable with plenty of space. What a great place to spend a holiday - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that your Thanksgiving stay here at the Inn exceeded your expectations. I appreciate your notes about our complimentary amenities and location. I also thank you for your kind words about our staff, I will be sure to share your compliments. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;