We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fulton Lane Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Lane Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spent a good deal of time searching for a hotel in downtown Charleston that was reasonably priced for the Thanksgiving holiday, but also within walking distance of all that downtown has to offer...no small feat. We got a great deal on this hotel compared with prices of other nearby hotels, so I was a bit nervous about how it would be.......but what a wonderful surprise! It is in the PERFECT location, and the staff was so friendly, providing recommendations and always providing assistance. The breakfast (continental) delivered to our room was a nice touch, as was the wine/cheese each night. Now, the rooms are not decorated in a fancy, luxuriant manner (that's the only reason why I did not make it a "5"...I save that for the luxury types)...but very comfortable with plenty of space. What a great place to spend a holiday - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that your Thanksgiving stay here at the Inn exceeded your expectations. I appreciate your notes about our complimentary amenities and location. I also thank you for your kind words about our staff, I will be sure to share your compliments. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    124
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
220
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, S.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in a petit suite at Fulton Lane last week. The weather in Charleston was foggy, rainy and cold. Out suite was intimate, warm and deluxe with a beautiful and very comfortable king sized bed and fireplace. The hotel staff was very welcoming, and directed us to our room, a great restaurant across the street, and to the sister hotel for wine and cheese. We enjoyed the cocktail hour in front of the fireplace next door and met several guests who also raved about the inn. The price of the room was very reasonably. The Inn is centrally located to the best shopping and restaurants in Charleston. Our room included a jacuzzi tub, black and white tiled floor and large sink, It was great. Thanks to everyone there, especially Elizabeth, the concierge who made us feel special.

Room Tip: We loved facing King Street and we loved the fireplace in room 238.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that our staff made you feel special and provided excellent service. Though the weather was not exactly ideal, it sounds like you were able to enjoy the warmth and coziness of your suite that much more. We certainly look forward to hosting a future trip to Charleston. Thank you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at FLI on our short honeymoon. The staff was very friendly. You have the option of ordering breakfast and having it brought to your room, or dining at the little cafe. We (being on our honeymoon) always chose to have it brought to us. It was very nice! They also have two nightcaps offered free of charge each night. There is parking included.

My favorite thing about FLI is that it is right in the heart of downtown, but it is down a little alley. It is so quite, you would never know that you are on King Street!

Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I very much enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for sharing your honeymoon memories at the Fulton Lane Inn. We were thrilled to host such a special occasion. I am glad that you enjoyed our quiet but convenient location and took advantage of those complimentary extras offered at the inn.
Thank you for your recommendation. We hope you're able to make a visit to the Fulton Lane Inn a yearly tradition.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I always read tripadvisor before booking my hotel and this trip was no different. I carefully weighed the bad reviews with the good and decided the good far outweighed the bad. And I was right. This hotel is a gem. We paid 185 because of a manager's special, so I can't complain about the price. It's in a great location, so no complaints there. The staff was friendly, helpful and very sweet. Our room was big. We didn't care for the doilie that was our canape but I saw the pictures and new it was coming. We were on the second floor right beside the elevator. This is an older building but honestly we didn't hear much outside our room as there was a hallway between our bed and the door. Yes, I heard room service as they delivered morning breakfast but it didn't bother me. Breakfast was simple but satisfying and anyone who complains, should learn to eat better. Garabage day outside was loud but as our room faced the street I'd expected more noise. It was fine. If you need total quiet, ask for a room that faces the back. The entrance is in an alley and I really don't understand the person who complained about this. i posted a pic. I thought it was romantic. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for spending your recent visit to Charleston at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad that our positive TripAdvisor reviews influenced your decision to stay with us. I am very pleased that your experience exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your notes about our staff and our location. We certainly look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Recently returned from Charleston, SC the small city that is receiving all those wonderful, well-deserved plaudits, having stayed here for four nights. Although the desk staff were extraordinarily pleasant and helpful, the rest of the "inn" is average at best. Their rooms do win the award for the most bland accommodations my wife and I have ever stayed in. The bathroom, although small, was more than adequate. Breakfast, which was delivered to the room, also average.....continental and small portions. Note, they do charge $12 a night for parking you car in their very convenient lot behind the "inn". Having said that, their location, right on King St. is astoundingly perfect. In the middle of the shopping district and close to some fabulous restaurants, ie Husk, 82 Queen, Magnolias. I thought the room rate was a little pricey, but all of Charleston is overpriced. That is the price you are going to pay for being
Conde Nast's #1 city in the world......NOT. Great city (thought not #1 on our list), great location....but.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I’m glad that you choose to stay with us while exploring Charleston. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed our staff’s expert advice and the inn’s perfect location. We believe that our rates represent a great value for the service we extend to our guests: from our 24-hour concierge staff, to our complimentary amenities and wonderful location. We love our city and are always happy to share it with our guests. Thank you for visiting to experience Charleston yourself.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location on King Street, walking distance to eveything you need to explore Charleston. Parking at rear of hotel for $12 was convenient although we didn't need the car except to explore one of the plantations in the area (Boone Hall). Rooms were beautifully decorated and staff were helpful in answering any questions we had. B'fast was basic but still all that you need before a day of walking around the beautiful historic district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that you chose to be our guest during your trip to Charleston. I am glad you were able to enjoy downtown by foot, but am happy to read that you made it out to Boone Hall Plantation as well. Thank you for your notes on your accommodations and complimentary breakfast. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Centrally located, walk to anywhere, close to everything. Free breakfast was pretty good for a free breakfast. Wine reception was not great as the wine wasn't very good (maybe I'm a wine snob), but cheese and crackers were good. Our room wasn't decked out, but was nice and had everything we needed and was a great value for comparables in downtown. Here is the thing that really makes the place stand out - the concierges were excellent, especially SuSu. We were there for a week and had great suggestions from her on restaurants, historic areas to walk in, museums and was helpful making reservations. She even printed up our boarding passes. Without that help, we would have missed a lot of the best of Charleston. All of the concierges were great and where there 24 hrs a day. It was nice to have them there when you came back at night. The would ask about your day including where you went and where you ate. It was a great way for them to find out what you liked and enabled them to make further suggestions of other places to visit. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for such an outstanding review of the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled to read your note about Susu. She has been a part of our team for many years and is always friendly and familiar face for returning guests. So many guests agree that Susu and her fellow concierges were an excellent resource during their stay. Thank you for all of your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.