We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gracious stay at a beautiful site!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$389 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gracious stay at a beautiful site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Wentworth Mansion is simply a wonderful, gracious and calm setting for a beautiful vacation. Staff could not be any more helpful, remembering our names, our preferences and always ensuring our comfort and happiness. The cocktail hour is splendid- elegantly served and with excellent hors d'oeuvres. There is a full magnificent breakfast included with your stay at Circa 1886, and that provided a delicious start to our day. (The breakfast is cooked to order, and included some of the best food we had throughout our stay in Charleston!) I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    35
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
55
428
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I think I've stayed here about 10 times now, since 2000. The rooms are large, and I would imagine it would be impossible to replicate the decor and architecture if built today. The staff is perfectly wonderful. This is a very classy place. The location is great because it is not right on the main roads with all the shops/people but only a five minute walk from that. It is surrounded by big pretty houses deep in the heart of Charleston. I'm from South Carolina and many of my friends are from Charleston and you will not find a nicer hotel in Charleston, or South Carolina for that matter.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to the Wentworth Mansion. Your repeat business is the greatest compliment we can receive. We are proud to deliver an experience worthy of returning to year after year. We will certainly pass along your kind words to our staff. Our central location and historic charm make for a wonderful stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A historic Mansion with period furniture. Impeccable service and staff attention. Could not ask for more. The breakfast is included , wonderful selection, and delicious. We had dinner in the restaurant Circa 1886. It was formal but not stuffy. the food was elegant and delicious with the wait staff being friendly but not intrusive.
My husband and I also thoroughly enjoyed the couples massage in the spa.
The Hotel is very quiet.
The concierge was most helpful with our day trip planning and with our forgotten toiletries.
The Mansion has done a wonderful job updating (bathrooms etc) without losing its historic feel.

Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Wentworth Mansion. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed all that the property has to offer from the creative cuisine at Circa 1886 Restaurant to your relaxing time at the Wentworth Spa. I am glad that our staff was accommodating and you enjoyed their recommendations. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is converted mansion that became an office building that is now a hotel. It has 22 rooms and the rooms are quite large. The bed was very nice but the furniture needs some updating. It is a beautiful place and the employees were SO nice. The location is fairly central and the breakfast is excellent. I am not crazy about the old bed and breakfast feel but with a little more modernization this becomes creme de la creme.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This historic old place offers a great combination of refinement and fun --just like Charleston itself. Very elegant and filled with all the right touches large and small: high ceilings, large rooms, big beds with fluffy comforters. Wine, cheese and chocolate. You'll definitely feel welcome (and a little spoiled). Take a rickshaw bike taxi around the ride basin and through the Battery on your way to dinner then race back to be first up the cupola's winding stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My fiance surprised me on the night of our engagement with a stay at The Wentworth -- what a treat it was!!! Everything in the mansion is luxurious without being pompous or stuffy. Everyone who works there is so so so nice and I felt like royalty throughout the stay. The afternoon wine and cheese is delicious with a big assortment of hors d'oeuvres and we sat on the terrace overlooking the lawn. The property feels private even though you're in the heart of downtown Charleston! The view from the top of the mansion is the best view in Charleston!!

We arrived to champagne in our room which was a wonderful touch for a celebration! We slept with surround sound classical music playing through the music system that came in our room (and it was easy to use!) The bathroom was AMAZING!!! I felt like a queen and could have stayed in there all night!

Immaculately clean.

The spa is extremely luxurious and is right on the property, and it wasn't difficult to get an appointment like other hotels I have been too. The pricing for the services weren't exorbitant either and the actual service (I got a massage) was incredible. I am a massage junkie so I know the difference between your typical hotel massage and a massage from a seasoned massage therapist.

And last...the complimentary breakfast in the morning is in a 5 star restaurant! I assumed and would have been pleased with a typical complimentary hotel breakfast...buffet style, mediocre coffee etc... Nope -- this is restaurant seating with a full-service waiter and full menu for us to choose from. AND French Press coffee!!!

I could go on and on.

The Wentworth Mansion is worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a room that was NOT on the first floor and I liked that because we had a great view of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay. Congratulations on your engagement! We are thrilled that your fiancée chose the Wentworth Mansion to celebrate your engagement. We strive to provide a flawless, five-star experience to our guests, so we are pleased to read that your stay was luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wentworth Mansion in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Wentworth Mansion. We loved everything about our stay- room ( #16) was spacious and beautifully furnished, with a beautiful and comfortable king sized bed, fireplace, and daybed in a windowed nook. There were lots of special touches, like turn down service with chocolates and a note with the next day's predicted high and low temps for Charleston, as well as for your hometown, each evening. Loved the daily breakfast in the Circa 1886 restaurant, which was included with our rate. Our favorite concierge was the sweet and friendly Aly, who helped us arrange several reservations and answered our questions about tours and restaurants in the area. We really enjoyed going up the spiral staircase to the rooftop and seeing the nighttime city view. We will definitely return to the Wentworth Mansion at some point in the future, and in the meantime, we will treasure our memories of our anniversary week spent there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.