We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“One of The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've been fortunate to stay at many of the worlds best and Wentworth is definitely at the top of that pyramid. Think of Ritz Paris, yet smaller, with better service.....its that good.....which is why T&L gives it #1 for service worldwide. Decor is unmatched.....Tiffany stained glass throughout with world class decor from the real wood and marble era. Wentworth is much like an aristocratic estate, with the guest being the aristocrat. Staff remembers your name, opens your door, pours your brandy and gets you another glass of wine. Authentic, personal, service and unmatched friendly professionalism. Linens italian and bedding top notch. Maintenance near perfect. Complimentary water and soft drinks in the room.......full gourmet breakfast included in the tariff. Views from our room were panoramic and there is a cupola at the top of the hotel to survey all of Charleston from the surrounding outside veranda. We visited a few of the other top hotels for dinner and NONE is even in the same category....not even close. If you can afford, go. Its off the beaten tourist path and that is part of the charm. Would recommend to everyone and anyone.

Room Tip: #18 is large mansion room but think all are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We truly appreciate your thorough, thoughtful, and exceptional review of the Wentworth Mansion. Our staff strives to deliver each guest with a flawless, unforgettable experience and I am thrilled that you enjoyed such a memorable stay. Thank you for the glowing recommendation. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
368
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
myrtle beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Wentworth Mansion was built as a private residence in about 1886. They have 21 VERYwell appointed guest rooms. They have complimentary coffee and fresh made pastries, complimentary full breakfast in their restaurant, Circa 1886. You order from the menu. Then there's complimentary tea and lemonade all day. Complimentary wine and appetizers... Watermelon chic pea salad, bass soufflé, bread with melted cheese, strawberries.... No corners cut here! Our king room was huge! And incredibly clean and beautiful. Very quiet. All in a very serene garden setting ... I can't think of a thing they could do to improve on this tasteful, historic property. It's off the beaten path, too. A short walk to King St, the market,etc. simply perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What an incredible building! The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room, #12, was perfection. Beautiful décor, comfortable bed, luxurious linens, spa amenities, the softest towel I've ever used, and really spacious. We only stayed one night, and didn't have time to fully appreciate all the hotel has to offer, including wine and cheese, the restaurant in the old carriage house, or the board games in the library. I'm looking forward to staying longer next time and enjoying the gracious charm of this magnificent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind words. Your five-star review means so much to us. I am glad that you chose to spend your time in Charleston here at the Wentworth Mansion. We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay. The wine & cheese, board games and our Circa 1886 Restaurant await your arrival! Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I think our expectations were too high. Having read all the hype (T&L Best Hotel, every award imaginable, etc), I'm not sure it could have lived up to our expectations. That said, we've stayed in much better hotels. First the good: restaurant was great. Spa was very good as well. Service overall couldn't have been better; all the staff were great. The hosted happy hour was very nice. The "eh": bed was marginally comfortable (we stayed in two rooms to accommodate our relatively late booking). Quite firm. Linens were ok. I mention this because I think such places should have INCREDIBLE bedding, etc. The rooms themselves were ok; great bathrooms, actual bedroom was ok. The location wasn't good for us. It's a decent walk to everything, and there's some perhaps questionable areas very close. We absolutely didn't have a problem, just noting it. When we return to Charleston, I think we'll stay in a more central location simply because it's what we want (others may like this location). Final note; we rented a car from the airport so we could drive along the coast and work our way to Savannah. We got a cab to the airport from the mansion. The concierge arranged for it. It was an "English" style cab that we found out when we arrived at the airport was double the normal price of a cab simply because it's a "fancy" cab (and it was nothing worth it). We didn't request it, couldn't have cared less about it, and it was just strange. Certainly nothing to hammer them on but just a silly "call" by the concierge. Just overall we didn't feel it was worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Wentworth Mansion. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed visiting with our exceptional staff. Notes like yours reinforce the value we place on personalized service and Southern hospitality. I am sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with your room. We offer only high quality products like Fili D’oro Egyptian Cotton sheets and the finest amenities. The great service we provide is always in our guests’ best interests. Standard taxi cabs in Charleston are often quite unreliable. Our concierge orders cabs from the most reputable companies in town, whose prices are typically $10-15 more per trip. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope that you will return for another visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a fantastic time. What a neat experience staying in a mansion. I took the wife for her birthday. Note to guys, if you need some brownie points from the 'better half' this is a surefire winner.

The night started with wine and cheese in the sunroom. We had a great time talking with other guests and the staff. Toward the end of the happy hour I asked for one more glass of wine before I realized they had already put it away. The staff looked to see if any more of the wine I was having was open and when they found it was not came back with a Stella beer. I was impressed and happy. A great example of how they do whatever they can for the guests.

Our only disappointment was that the restaurant on site was not open on Sunday nights. It is one of best in town. We knew that when we made the reservation - clearly it was my wife's fault for being born on the wrong day! We regrouped and headed out with the help of a car service they called for us. True to form the services was prompt, professional and felt like an extension of the hotel staff.

Upon our return they had Champaign and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the room. I thought they were awesome - the wife even more so.

The cupola on the roof gave an awesome view of the city, especially at night.

We felt everything was in top notch shape in the room and common areas. Clearly this is a hotel that is maintained with pride.

You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The inn is located in a residential area not far from the city's major attractions, so guests get quiet and convenience. All of the staff were very friendly. The food for the 5;00 pm happy hour comes from their highly-rated restaurant, and it was both delicious and different each day. The mansion is well-furnished and represents gracious Charlestonian living. Wentworth compares favorably to other 5-star properties at which my wife and I have stayed because of the outstanding service and amenities provided, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Garden rooms include a sun porch and an outdoor patio. We had #1, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a great time while staying at this hotel. The hotel is cozy and perfect, from the welcome, to the whole stay it was a place I will never forget. The restaurant in the back of the hotel, was like you had gone to heaven experience. I will always want to go back. The southern hospitality calls you back, in a great neighborhood where walking is a pleasure. Located in a very convenient location to most attractions..

Room Tip: Any room I believe would be good. We had a room that looked to the front of the hotel, it was sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.