We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downton Abby is alive in Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Save Saved
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downton Abby is alive in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staying at the Wentworth Mansion is a must, must,must if you plan on visiting Charleston SC. From the moment we were greeted at the door by the concierge to the moment we checked out we were treated like royalty. We arrived early (10:30 AM) and our room was not yet ready, something we expected. The staff handled our early arrival with no problems. We were given refreshments and a brief tour of the property. We opted for a walk around the historic district of Charleston and returned to be taken to room 18 on the fourth floor. (The elevator is quite an experience, tiny and slow, but gets the job done). Room 18 - the old billiard room is enormous. The extreme luxury and size of the room was stunning. A bed fit for kings and queens, gas fireplace, large sitting area, and three windows looking out over Charleston. The bathroom existed of a very large jetted tub on one side and a multi-headed shower big enough to dance in on the other. Shuttered windows allowed the natural light to shine in making the entire bathroom area very warm and sunny. Hidden discreetly at bedside was a small refrigerator filled with coke, sprite and bottle water. These beverages were offered at no charge and restocked daily. Also offered at no charge was daily full breakfast at Circa 1886 restaurant, iced tea and lemonade in the afternoon, wine and yummy appetizers(real appetizers not just cheese and crackers) from 5:00 to 6:00 PM., and port, sherry and cognac left out for your enjoyment in the evenings. Housekeeping was perfect, nothing was out of order, everything was clean and tidy. We enjoyed dinner at Circa 1886, the playful chef here had great offerings on the menu. And at breakfast Miss Betty sung to me every morning. (A trip to breakfast at Circa 1886 is worth it just to meet Miss Betty, she is a true southern gem.) Sunset on the roof via the spiral staircase in the cupola is a must, very romantic. The property has well kept gardens with areas to stop and sit a bit. Great staff, great room great amenities. Could not fathom staying anywhere else in Charleston. Thanks Wentworth, you are spectacular!

Room Tip: If you want spacious and comfortable and are not afraid of small elevators, room 18 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
362
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
office
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very lovely old home built in 1886. The rooms are large and comfortable. The property needs some T.L.C. but overall it is in good shape. Room service is not readily available, but the room comes stocked with soda and water; however the beverage refrigerator was not restocked on my second day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Wentworth Mansion experience. I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic stay. As you noted, we work diligently to keep our historic hotel in top shape with fresh paint, refurbished furniture and other ongoing maintenance projects. I am sorry to read that your in-room refrigerator was not stocked for your second day. This is not our standard and we have addressed the issue. I also apologize that it was not communicated to you that room service is indeed available for breakfast and dinner. Your feedback is appreciated as we strive to deliver a five-start experience in every area.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were married at the Wentworth Mansion 9 years ago and it was amazing. We went back this year for our 9th anniversary and it's only gotten better.

We did not let anyone know it was our anniversary or that we were married there, but the staff figured it out and made special note of it upon our arrival.

The Garden room has a great sun room of its own and a separate entrance. One of the best rooms in the hotel. Complimentary breakfast has been added and the 5 pm wine & hors' deouvres is a great way to start the evening.

Make sure you meet Miss Betty, who is a delight. She is a local Charlestonian and works the breakfast shift at Circa 1886, the Wentworth Restaurant. Also, if you call Kenneth in advance of your stay as we did, he can get all your dinner reservations done before you arrive.

We travel extensively, both domestically and international, and the Wentworth stacks up with some of the best places we have stayed. Southern charm with the causal elegance Charleston is known for, there isn't a better place to stay in this historic city. We have tried them all and none match the Wentworth and it's staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Happy 9th anniversary! Thank you for celebrating another special occasion here at the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that our inn holds such a special place in your hearts. I will share your compliments with our staff. We look forward to helping you create many more special memories. Thank you for the flawless review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

THE HOUSE: This is a beautiful and gracious restored Victorian mansion that will take you back in time. Anyone who has an interest in architecture or Victorian period interior design will especially love this place. The multiple Tiffany windows (many of them original), chandeliers, paneling, hand carved marble fireplaces and staircase bannister are breathtaking. The hinges and plates on the doors are original, and beautifully detailed. The public rooms - the library and breakfast room, are gracious and inviting. The very wealthy industrialist who originally built the house apparently brought artisans in from Europe to work on it (not slaves, they claim!) You'll never find workmanship like this in the 21st century.

THE ROOM: Our room was beautiful, spacious and more than comfortable. It was on the 3rd floor corner so we had windows on two sides. I have read TripAdvisor reports that complained of dirty bathrooms -- this was not the case in our room. Everything was clean and comfortable.

THE STAFF: The staff was wonderful, and more than happy to accommodate anything we asked for. Note that this is not the type of concierge service that will buy your tickets for local sights – but will make calls and dinner reservations, etc. if you ask. They are informed about the history of the mansion and during the tea time (4-6 pm) will happily show you around and regale you with stories about the Wentworth family and the culture of the time.

AMENITIES: Complimentary full menu breakfast in the restaurant –more than you can eat- and lovely tea time in the breakfast room, offered every day – with all the wine, tea, coffee and hors d’oeuvres you can eat--all included in the price of admission. Port and brandy available for guests – though I never saw anyone pour themselves a glass. There is a $15 delivery charge for a pot of coffee brought to your room—no charge at all if you bring the brewed pot up yourself. The refrigerator in the room containing coke, diet soda and water was refilled every day – all at no charge. The car service they use is stellar –the owner, Jamal Middleton and his associate, Jamel Foster are wonderful and are apparently local celebrities. They are slightly more expensive than a taxi –but are extremely prompt and personable, and will tell you great stories about their lives and backgrounds. There is a Spa on the grounds, which I didn’t use, so I can’t comment on it – and the acclaimed restaurant, Circa 1886 is on the hotel grounds as well which has a lovely ambience – services very good food.

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS: Charming, beautiful small hotel – was overall a great experience. Some reviewers have said the house feels dark and gloomy. I can sort of see how they might feel a heaviness – but this is a restored Victorian – the style of the time was heavy – huge rooms, heavy furniture, velvet drapes, dark wood paneling. Wentworth designers have lightened it up with more contemporary Arts and Crafts style wallpapers, etc. I have to say, I didn’t really feel the heaviness of the house – for me – I loved the more authentic experience – the gorgeous carved panels, etc.

I really have no complaints about our stay at Wentworth Mansion. The only negative I can think of would be the location – it is about a 15 minute walk to the center of town – East Bay Street, King Street , Broad Street – where you will find the shopping, art galleries, city tours, etc. I found we had to take taxis almost everywhere – we tried walking and got drenched from the sudden thunderstorms. Also -- there is no fitness center - but the hotel has an arrangement with a center about three blocks away where there is no charge for use of the facility.

But overall, we loved the Wentworth Mansion – it was an authentic and luxurious experience. Would definitely recommend – especially for architecture buffs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I were there 2 years ago for Christmas, we checked out on Christmas day, and are planning a return trip this October. My parents want to go to Charleston and in order for them to get the best experience we want to take them to the Wentworth Mansion. I use trip advisor and could not believe that there were any negative comments about this place. We absolutley loved it. A girlfriend of mine and I stayed in a hotel this May right across from Marion square for the Spoleto fes. tival. It was noisy at night, something you will not get at the Mansion. Our stay at the Mansion was civilized and genteel, as if we lived at the mansion. This is the experience I want for my parents, they are in their 70's. We have a car to drive the blocks they cannot walk. The comments about dust???? Never saw any dust to speak of. The bathroom was impeccably clean and luxurious. The room was not dark or "ghosty" as some comments stated that I read. It was luxurious and warm. The porch was perfect but just a bit nippy in December. The resturant on the property was elegant for breakfast and dinner. The people staying at the Mansion are very friendly and a great class of people with interesting conversations to be had. We look forward to this October and are just going through our photos now to find which room we stayed in because it was so great.

Room Tip: definitley get the fireplace in the winter or the porch in the spring ,summer or fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Staying at this restored 1886 mansion was wonderful, but the kind, genuine and unpretentious staff was better! Having just flown in from Seattle (where my tomatoes and petunias were begging for a temperature exceeding 58 degrees!) I can scarcely tell you what a pleasure it was to have breakfast (complimentary) on the patio with birds chirping in and an 85 degree breeze swishing thru the Palmetto fronds. Miss Betty, in charge of the morning meal, should not be missed ... she is a treasure and a delight! Our room had a fireplace in the living area AND in the Jacuzzi tub equipped bathroom, and my 6 year old daughter was in that "Kachoozy" tub a lot! Great location... so close to downtown Charleston but in a residential neighborhood of other big old homes... it felt a world away.
When our room maid heard we were headed out to Folly Beach for the day, she went to the basement and got us 2 beach chairs and big beach towels for us ... without our asking.
Oh, and be sure and eat at the on-site Circa Restaurant... guests get a super deal of $42 for your choice of ANY appetizer, entry and desert. The food was very good and the price unbelievable!
Oh, I know what you are thinking... "$400 a night for a room?"... well, I have stayed at some luxe places charging a similar rate but they didn't have the historic cachet, subtle relaxed comfort and just-plain-nice staff that this place has. I will never forget my stay at this place!
Oh... be sure to go up to the rooftop cupola for a night -time view of sleeping Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for an exceptional review of the Wentworth Mansion. It must have been a real treat to escape Washington for Charleston during the month of May! I am thrilled that you had such a lovely stay. Our staff was recently awarded 'Best Service in the U.S.' by Travel and Leisure readers. Stories like yours only reinforce our values. We look forward to hosting your family again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the Wentworth for our anniversary, & we were not disappointed. The staff are outstanding, so helpful & friendly. We booked a Mansion room & were on the 3rd floor. Rooms are spacious & comfy w/ fireplace. The breakfast at Circa (w/ Ms Betty was a treat), the wine & hors d'oeuvres at 5pm were a nice touch too.So relaxing! Loved the private parking.
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.