We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed in many places and have to say this is the most AMAZING. Not just the look, but the service and history. Everyone needs to stay here!!! You will never be unhappy, just looking at the mansion and spending time in your room is so comforting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
383
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a small client group stay at the Wentworth Mansion and the staff was amazing and attentive. The rooms are cozy and charming. The breakfast at their restaurant, Circa 1886 was delicious and dinner too! The Spa located in the original stables was so beautiful and the services very relaxing. It was a pleasure dealing with everyone at the Wentworth and they made our client trip very memorable. For a unique experience and first class amenities, I definitely recommend staying at the Wentworth Mansion.

Room Tip: I loved the garden room as it had a little porch included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for bringing your clients to the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that everyone had such an amazing experience, was able to visit Circa 1886 and our spa. The pleasure was ours and we hope to host you all in Charleston again. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mansion twice in the last two years. Both stays have been relaxing weekends of dining and shopping. The Mansion is off the beaten path in a residential area, making it a quiet oasis not to be found in noisy downtown. But Queen Street is an easy walk away, and pedi-cabs are perfect for getting to and from restaurants for dinner. However, the hotel restaurant, Circa 1886, is one of the best in the city. The full breakfast inluded in the room rate is wonderful. The Mansion is beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable, although the decor is a little tired. Overall, we have found it to be an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am thrilled to read that you and your husband had a third special visit to the Wentworth Mansion. Thank you for your loyalty! I appreciate the wonderful recommendation for our restaurant Circa 1886 and other points of interest nearby. We look forward to hosting another relaxing stay here in Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinhamshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As I walked in the first thing that hit me was a musty smell which later I put down to the numerous gas fires mixed with a good amount of dust!
The staff were helpful and did go out of their way to help. However our room (room 12) albeit large, was dark, again, had a musty smell and really was very dirty. Thick dust lay on the window ledges, floors, picture frames and worst of all on the canopy above the bed we slept in. The bathroom was bright and large, but again was shabby; a crack in the basin and wallpaper peeling off the wall with damp stains.
Overall for me, this is not a boutique hotel and is certainly not 5 star and at the price of almost $500 a night, is not good value for money. Obviously other guests must have different standards otherwise how does this hotel rate so highly on Tripadvisor?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the outstanding service of our staff, however I must sincerely apologize that the room was dusty. This is unacceptable to us and for that reason, we have refunded you $500. Please be assured that the dust issue and other issues are being rectified immediately. We diligently strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations as reflected by 99% of our TripAdvisor reviewers.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wentworth Mansion is a cross between a boutique hotel and a high end bed and breakfast. The building oozes character with Tiffany style glass (which might be genuine), wood panelling, high ceilings and antiquey furniture but also has air conditioning, LCD televisions and free wi-fi. As it is relatively small, there aren't many staff and those there are double up across roles - the guy who helped with our lugguage also served us at breakfast - but service is very efficient, friendly and helpful and we never had to wait for anything because there weren't enough staff available.

Downstairs there are a number of smallish public rooms. One of these helpfully houses a laptop and printer for free use by the guests. Another contains an array of drinks in decanters that guests can help themselves to free of charge whenever they want. Each evening, free wine and hors d'oeuvres were served in yet another - although on the evening I looked in, the hor d'oeuvres looked as if they'd been shipped in from the 1970s - crackers with a slice of cucumber and a squirt of something on them. Wy wife said they looked better the next evening.

The hotel has its own car park, and we had no trouble finding a space. Although located slightly away from the city centre, everything in Charleston is so compact we didn't find location a problem.

We had a suite comprising large bedroom, library/sun room, study and bathroom. It was well appointed and felt very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. My only complaints were there was a slight musty smell, particularly in the vicinity of the fireplace, and the staff made up the sofa bed for my son without noticing there were no blankets on it.

Charleston is beginning to get itself a reputation for its cuisine and the hotel restaurant, which is actually in a seperate building across a courtyard, fitted with this. It is mid rather than high end - despite the request for reasonably smart wear, there was man at the neighbouring table in a small pair of tight shorts - but the dishes were innovative, tasty and very reasonably priced for the quality.

Overall, it lacks the polish of a big five star hotel but it is also more personal and if you like this kind of thing - and it is very much in keeping with the style of Charleston itself with its rich history -you won't find better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
This comment by BQD is the same review as previously written by TM99. They are husband and wife who traveled together, reviewing their common experience. Our response has already been posted to TM99's review below.

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Althrough there is much to appreciate at the Wentworth Mansion I feel I need to redress the impression given by many of these reviews.

You'll see from my profile that I'm someone who prefers larger, very luxurious hotels and having dined at Charleston Place we realised we would have far preferred to stay there, so I am the first to admit that I am not especially keen on high class B&Bs or even "boutique" hotels.
However there are so many rave reviews here that indicate that Wentworth Mansion is of the very highest order that I feel obliged to say it is not!

The Wentworth Mansion is a high class B&B that was originally built by a wealthy man to accommodate his large family about 130 years ago. It is not antebellum or colonial in style - it is a large house (c 20,000 square feet).

Upon entering, the overall impression was that it's dark inside (lots of panelling, dark floors and stained glass) and the reception/ public spaces are small. The Mansion has 21 bedrooms and is furnished with antiques and largely well-maintained, but it simply does not have the scale or level of staff to jusitfy the "5 star hotel" impressions from many other reviewers.

Accomodation: Our suite (number 9) was spacious, with a sunroom where our son slept on a sofabed, a bathroom and a study.Wonderful high ceilings.
The one-sink bathroom was large but quite dated and a little shabby (e.g. the jacuzzi bath had a visible repair in it) and a bath tap came off in my hand one morning! The shower cublicle is large but old-fashioned - no rainheads here.There was very little storage in the bathroom despite having the size to accommodate such furniture.

The bed however was extremely comfortable, with gloriously soft sheets that felt almost like silk.
However do note that owing to the age of the house you do get disturbed by other guests moving around, as the floorboards creak, even though the guests are not being "noisy" - it's just unavoidable.

Our dinner at the signature restaurant (Circa 1886) was good. Not outstanding but at that price it was extraordinary - $42 for 3 good quality, well-executed courses. We felt almost embarrassed to pay so little when they also provided an excellent amuse bouche (coffee, mushroom and truffle oil consomme - sounds strange but worked very well) and a pre-dessert. Service was friendly and obliging but not especially professional. One waiter for example was unaware that they offered any dessert wines. We asked to check the winelist again anyway and there was a whole section of them!

I also felt that while some staff were friendly and obliging, others were a bit stand-offish. E.g. after dining in Circa 1886 we returned to the hotel lobby at around 8pm. I asked the guy at reception whether I could have a glass of wine. His answer was "No". I assume he meant the free wine was put away but surely any decent establishment should train its staff to answer along the lines of "I'm sorry our complimentary offering is over for the evening but may I bring you the winelist to choose something?" I expected to buy a glass of wine not have something for nothing but having received that reply I decided not to bother!

In summary, if your idea of hotel/ b&b heaven is a small, non-corporate, olde-worlde, glitz-free experience you will like this - and clearly many people do.
For other visitors to Charleston who like places that are more geared up to luxury and operate on a larger scale, this will not suit so well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you reviewing your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. I am glad that you had a positive experience overall, but am sorry that our small historic hotel did not meet your expectations. Indeed, the Wentworth Mansion is not a “cookie cutter” chain hotel. We provide a more intimate, unique experience, which most B&B and boutique hotel travelers enjoy immensely. In regards to your notes about our staff, I apologize, as you must have experienced some miscommunications. I believe that at the Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886, we employ a professional team that delivers excellent, personal service. With only 21 rooms, we may have a small staff, but that staff delivers quality service, as referenced by other TripAdvisor reviewers. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to satisfy every guest, 100% of the time.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel experience! When we booked it I felt a little guilty because it was so pricey, but it was worth every penny! Once you pay the initial price, everything else is complimentary...parking, wireless Internet, cheese and wine buffet, port/sherry/cognac, turn down service with chocolate truffles, Charleston peanuts, pop, water, huge breakfast, and the list goes on. Make sure when you stay there go up to the cupola for the fantastic views of the city. Easy walk into the shopping. Took a bicycle cab back for cheap fare. It was a great stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
What a great review! Thank you for your wonderful note. We believe in providing a five-star experience to our guests, and feel it is of utmost importance to provide each of the complimentary extras you noted. Thank you for sharing your Wentworth Mansion memories. We hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.