We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wentworth Mansion is a lovely Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Save Saved
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$389 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wentworth Mansion is a lovely Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Wentworth mansion, The property is well cared for, the service is terrific. Very cozy, relaxed and accomodating. The location is good, easy walk to King Street and close to the College of Charleston. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
351
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BLOOMFIELD HILLS , MICHIGAN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I spent several days revisting charming Charleston.The mansion is the perfect location for a romantic get away. We were able to arrive to most of our destinations by foot or pedicab. We enjoyed the afternoon lemonade, wine, and appetizers. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts and service. Although we do not travel with our dog we noticed that they have dog friendly rooms. When we return to Charleston we will definitely stay at the Wentworth Mansion again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and had a beautiful fireplace, bathroom, and sitting area. You could w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay. We agree that the Wentworth Mansion is a wonderful hotel for a romantic getaway in Charleston. Your feedback about our staff and amenities is greatly appreciated. We certainly hope to see you again soon - and hope you'll bring your dog along for a pet-friendly travel experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As a frequent business traveler to South Carolina, the Wentworth Mansion has become my home away from home. The staff's genuine hospitality and beautiful peaceful setting, is the perfect place to escape after a long day at the office. There are many amenities included such as free parking, and breakfast from the award winning Circa 1886. I am so thankful to have found such an amazing place to stay that represents Charleston, South Carolina at it's very best.
Michelle Larsen

Room Tip: I recommend contacting the Mansion concierge to help identify your needs. They will put you in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the city of Charleston and the Wentworth Mansion and we came away very impressed. The hotel has everything you would expect from a five star property but with special personal touches that you would normally associate with a B and B. The staff met our every request and truly made our stay memorable. The spa although small was intimate and relaxing and the services excellent. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its rare to find a hotel with the level of service like the Wentworth. It has everything. Ambience, great restaurant, the most attentive staff we've had in all the years of traveling throughout the country and Europe. Away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk to everything you would want to see. The price is on the high side compared to other places in Charleston but you are not wanting for anything. There is no "nickle and diming" . Next time in charleston we know where we will be staying

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
What a wonderful review of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. It is an honor to be placed among your list of top accommodations worldwide. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This inn is such a beautiful structure and the food, staff, professionalism, cleanliness and hospitality all match it's distinctiveness. We had a wonderful stay in a palatial room. The restaurant is also excellent and worth the visit. Be sure to pop in for wine and h'ors d'ouevres from 5-6. There is always port and sherry out for your pleasure as well. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We had half of the original owners bedroom....exquisite! Only issue is that you can hear guests abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Your kind words and wonderful review of the Wentworth Mansion are greatly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had such an excellent experience and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Wentworth Mansion as part of the Charleston Wine and Food event.
From the first contact until we left every interaction with staff exceeded our expectations. The Mansion is beautiful and has been restored to it's original beauty. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast at Circa 1886 (included in room rate for guests) was outstanding. We also had a dinner in Circa which was equally excellent. This is a true gem and worth a stay to experience excellence in travel, we will stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for a five-star review. I am thrilled that you were able to experience the Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886 during the Charleston Wine + Food Festival. It truly is one of the most wonderful times to visit the city. We look forward to visiting with you again. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.