We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm, Modern Sensibility, Completely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old World Charm, Modern Sensibility, Completely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a fantastic place. The property surrounded us with a feeling of being in old Charleston and at the same time afforded us a level of amenities and service consistent with some of the finest properties at which we have ever stayed. To be charmingly old and completely modern all at the same time is a difficult trick to pull off, but the Wentworth Mansion does it and does it very well.

The property is pure “Old Charleston”. Everything from the fabrics to the furniture (some magnificent antique pieces) to the colors creates a sense of authenticity that allows the Wentworth Mansion to deliver a Charleston experience just by being there. And there is plenty of opportunity to enjoy the experience of “just being there” – the afternoon complimentary wine and horderves on the porch was terrific and there is always an open bottle of brandy when we just wanted to spend a few minutes in the evening sitting and talking. Our room was beautiful, spacious and filled with the same sense of old world charm and modern sensibility. The bathroom was everything you would expect of a five star property with a shower and bath tub – both luxury sized and both real treats. We were also very pleased to be a short walk from the galleries on King Street and some of the historical areas – so, great location.

An excellent breakfast (included in the price of our room) was served in the adjacent restaurant “Circa 1886” (great food by the way). We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast each morning – not only because it was well prepared, but because of the sheer pleasure of sharing the room with Ms Betty, a matriarch of the Mansion and a gem of a person who seems to be everywhere trying to make sure each guest is attended to. In fact, the entire staff is friendly, energetic, and always on the lookout for ways to be helpful.

Great property, great ambiance, great staff, great location – highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We are flattered to receive high praise of our "old world charm and modern sensibilities." We strive to provide both of those things to our guests whenever possible. We look forward to hosting your next visit to town and promise to deliver another true Charleston experience. Thank you again for such a wonderful recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
376
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wentworth during the 'in town' portion of our trip to Charleston. (The 'out of town' portion was spent on Kiawah Island.) This was an exceptional hotel. Outstanding staff. Huge, wood-paneled room. Wonderful bathroom. Great restaurant on site. Wonderful location. One of the best hotels we've ever experienced.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have nothing but rave reviews for this property. My husband and I spent 4 days there and loved every second of it. Cozy rooms, awesome breakfast, fabulous service, terrific spa, delicious afternoon snacks and drinks, and great walking location to area shops and restaurants. You feel like you are a very welcome guest in a luxurious home.

Room Tip: Just get a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I am thrilled that you and your husband had such a wonderful romantic getaway at the Wentworth Mansion. Thank you for choosing to spend such a special few days with us, and for sharing your memories.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay (for my husband's birthday) at Wentworth Mansion. It is an imposing house with lovely grounds. They serve excellent breakfasts in the adjoining 1888 restaurants, but we also enjoyed dinner there the first night. We could walk to all sights in Charleston, but some might find it a long walk. The staff answered all our questions regarding restaurants and places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was wonderful in every way. The facility is amazing, each room and amenity special. The staff is professional, helpful and always available. Our beautiful, nicely over-sized room was totally comfortable with all modern appointments and the added charm of its unique historical features and a fireplace. The Wentworth added so much to our Charleston experience, I will stay there again whenever I return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely recount of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful visit with us here. We appreciate your very kind words about our staff and your notes about our charming property. Thank you for your recommendation. We certainly look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have traveled around the world with my group of friends. We know how to travel together and have high standards for what works for us. We carefully decide where we will stay and where we will eat. The Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886 delighted and pleased everyone!! It was Southern Hospitality in an exceptional setting with delicious-incredible-well served food... that made us feel truly welcomed and cared for. Thank you for providing us with an environment that allowed us to comfortably relax together and connect with each other!

Room Tip: All 9 rooms were great for our group. In reading comments - I would never wait until I was leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Mansion as your designated gathering place this year. It was our pleasure to host your group. I am so pleased that you all had such an enjoyable time, both at the inn and our restaurant Circa 1886. I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and our service team extended some true Southern hospitality. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you all again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here on a recent business trip. Very nice rooms and amenities. Staff was pleasant and helpful, aside from the woman who attended the desk during the day. When my friend and I inquired about a cab, she informed us we weren't in NYC anymore and we couldnt just hail one. Which we knew, which was why we were asking. And I live in CT! For the amount of money per night I didn't appreciate her attitude. But every single other person on staff was wonderful and truly hospitable? Overall the hotel overall was really nice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Wentworth Mansion experience. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed a positive experience at the inn. We spoke to our concierge about the incident you noted. She sincerely apologizes for the misunderstanding on the availability of cabs in Charleston. Her intent was to inform you that in Charleston, unlike larger cities, cabs must be ordered in advance and cannot be hailed. This can sometimes create a wait period before the cab arrives. We are very sorry for the miscommunication and hope to host your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.