We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth Mansion to your Saves list
Wentworth Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you're reading this thinking that this may be a place you want to stay during your trip to Charleston, just book the room. This place was wonderful in every aspect from the beauty of the property, the room, the customer service, and everything about it. We booked a spa package for 2 days and had a wonderful time. The spa was beautiful and the generous folks at the mansion had a last minute cancellation so they upgraded our room to the Master Suite at the same rate as a standard mansion suite. The food at Circa 1886 was to die for. Complimentary breafast every morning, and not just breakfast, but a very detailed menu with items you won't get anywhere else. This was an absolutely spectacular stay and will definitely be back many times. Thanks to Christian, Tim and the entire team for a job well done.

Only thing about the master suite, is the door(s) to the room are located in the lobby and the bed is directly against the lobby wall, which is staffed 24 hours. So if you plan to have special time with your loved one at night, it can be a bit awkward if it gets "loud" :) Other than that, the 2 fireplaces, and wonderfully original details of the room are beautiful. Even the shower is roomy and has 2 heads.

Room Tip: Plan to be around from 5-6pm each day for the free wine and hors doeurves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write your wonderful review. the entire staff is committed to ensuring that your stay is a most memorable one and appreciates your comments. Please be assured that when the building was completely renovated that all walls were designed by an acoustical engineer in order to maximize soundproofing. We look forward to your next visit.
Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    32
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
376
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Wentworth Mansion is a stunning property a short walk from the bustling centre of Charleston. The bulk of shops and restaurants are close by. Private parking at the back of well kept gardens and a truly beautiful building. We had a garden room which was of substantial size with wonderful furniture. The modern touch was a huge walk in shower and a spa bath big enough for two comfortably. We had a separate sitting room with complimentary soft drinks and seating outside a private access door for anyone that still likes to smoke.
Late afternoon the Hotel provides wine and canapés and the charming tradition of leaving decanters of port, sherry and brandy out is a lovely touch.
The staff really pride themselves on being part of this lovely establishment. They are as charming, well informed, efficient as anywhere you will find.
As extra mod cons there are large TV's and efficient wifi for those that need.
Never going to be the cheapest around, but you pay for what you get.
This hotel is worth splashing out on. Romantic, charming and an absolute treat!
Enjoy if you go.

Room Tip: If you have a dog or smoke go for a garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Wentworth Mansion was everything and more than we expected. From the moment we checked in we were treated like royalty. The Mansion is magnificent inside and out and takes you back in time. Also the staff take you back in time when service was considered important. I espically want to mention Ken, Stephanie, Christian and Joe they were all great and Joe espically made us feel that we were vsiting his home with his love of the Mansion and dedication to making us feel at home was someting we will always remember. We stayed in Suite 9 and what a wonderful experience and wonderful room with libary and sunroom and lots of history. The restaurant in the carriage house is also magnificant with great food and service and the deserts out of this world. If staying at the Mansion go there for breakfast and meet Miss Betty, what a charming and wonderful person she is. We will be back to the Mansion for our next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Mansion look great but Suite 9 is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Wentworth for three nights in April and thoroughly enjoyed our time in the mansion. I don't think I've never paid for this much for a hotel before with my own personal funds. So expectations were high. ( I have used points for hotels whose rack rates were equivalent though). When we arrived on Easter Sunday, we were assigned Room #6 which was down a hallway on the main floor. We weren't excited at the thought of the location. But as it turned out, the room and location were fabulous. Room #6 was one of two rooms that had its own private balcony where the breeze carried the scent of jasmine. The piece de resistance, however, was the bathroom. My GF's jaw dropped when she walked up the small flight of steps and saw the huge jacuzzi tub with a separate shower. The bathroom was bigger than our bedrooms. Needless to say, we used the tub every night.

The amenities, the breakfast at Circa 1886, and the staff were all excellent. Although the hotel is located away from the historic district center, the hotel was never more than a thirty minute stroll to where we wanted to go. Of course, it may take you a bit longer since you might be gawking at the wonderful homes and structures along the way. We were already thinking of returning to Charleston and would stay at the Wentworth in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room #6 has a private balcony, a fireplace, and a great bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Even after reading the excellent reviews, this Hotel was much more than we expected. It was worth every penny, No amenity is left uncovered. The staff constantly went out of their way to be helpful. Before our arrival they suggested restaurants and booked them for us. We were pleased with them all. We enjoyed the extra large (huge) room and gas fireplace. We especially enjoyed the breakfast and top-notch service provided by the breakfast staff--could not possibly have been better!

Although a few reviewers suggest the Wentworth is a bit out of town, I do not agree. The four block walk to King Street is delightful and on one occasion we walked through nearby College of Charleston on our way to King Street. On several occasions, we drove to restaurants and had no problem finding parking. The staff is eager to guide you to an easy parking place anywhere in town.

Look no further. Stay at the Wentworth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to go on a short trip to see Charleston. By looking over the internet we decided on Wentwoth Mansion. As it turned out I had a dental emergency on our mini vacation. The staff at the Mansion was so kind and generous. They turned a bad experience into a wonderful one. Helpful in finding a dentist, asking and really being concerned that all was well and making our stay extremely comfortable are only a few of the things that made our stay so pleasant! The room was all and more that we had hoped...I mean really.....a fireplace in the bedroom AND the bathroom! The complementary breakfast in their fabulous restaurant each morning was a delight. We liked that it was in a neighborhood and a short walk to the downtown area.I could go on and on ...just reserve your spot there and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We read many positive reviews about the Mansion and were not for a moment disappointed! The property was gorgeous, the room was large and excellently furnished, and the staff was very helpful. We felt truly spoiled! And having a fabulous restaurant on-site was an added bonus. After walking our feet off during the day, it was wonderful to relax and dine in a beautiful setting just across the property. We would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: Room 20 was beautiful, with a jucuzzi tub looking out over the city. And a winding staircase just ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.