We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel is in a perfect location in Charleston. The river front was beautiful, and the nearby restaurants fabulous (other reviewers mentioned S.N.O.B., fantastic!). Plus just about everything was within easy walking distance from this location. Our room was extremely charming, and seemed totally clean. And the service was simply impeccable from the moment we walked in the door. We enjoyed breakfast thoroughly as well, again with fabulous attentive service, and with a wonderful selection of freshly prepared items. This hotel also had one of the best turn down services we've seen, with a nice note card with different types of trivia and weather information on it every night. My only reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that perhaps they could have pet friendly floors, and floors with no pets, in the interest of those guests who are not very fond of dogs barking at all hours! Having said that, I would recommend this hotel and stay there again in a heart beat, loved it!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    263
    75
    49
    38
See reviews for
104
811
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed at the Vendue for 5 nights – which seemed a little long, I did not get the feeling that others were spending that length of time there. As a couple in our late 20s/early 30s, we did not find many others our age staying there – the clientele seemed to be older. That said, we enjoyed our stay, and found the staff very pleasant. The room was a bit dated, though the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night. Our AC did break one night and our safe broke twice but maintenance was quickly dispatched to fix both. The made-to-order breakfast each morning was delicious and there were a number of options. We enjoyed the rooftop bar, and ate there one night and found it very good for bar food. We also attended the manager’s reception from 4-5 – we only were able to go twice but there was ample cheese and crackers, fruit, and wine. Some other reviewers had mentioned that they had mingled with other guests at the reception, but we didn’t find the atmosphere conducive to meeting people as everyone was seated at individual tables. The hotel also has bikes for guest use, and we enjoyed biking around Charleston. The location of the hotel was great- right by the waterfront park and a couple blocks from two restaurants we enjoyed very much – S.N.O.B. and High Cotton. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but the price (around $210/night) is perhaps a bit steep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed here with twin toddlers and it was wonderful. Bid on the room on Priceline and got a sweet deal. A block from the water in the middle of historic district Charleston...amazing! Great customer service and great tolerance for families.

My twins loved breakfast there and bedtime milk and cookies (which disappear quickly so, come early). We enjoyed the mid afternoon snack with wine.

Nice rooms...ours was in an old warehouse so, no windows just a skylight but, still beautiful, gracious and quiet. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. We are so glad that we did. When we arrived there was free wine that we were able to enjoy while the courteous staff parked our car and unloaded our luggage. When they walked us to our room. We were amazed at how beautiful it was. The view and location was awesome. We had a double queen luxury suite (because they were more spacious plus they did not have a king available at our time of booking) The room was on the corner of Vendue and Bay St. It has a corner window in the living area of the room. It also had a fireplace and a small separate kitchen area as well. The bathroom was big and perfect for a bed a breakfast. The bed was very plush and incredibly comfortable. The hotel offered us free champagne in our room because we were celebrating our anniversary which was a nice touch.
They had a made to order breakfast each morning. The menu offered a great selection. The food was great and service was top notch too. The location is awesome. You can see the water from the hotel. The market is a few blocks away. Food in the city is amazing. We ate at Poogan's Porch one night and it was delicious!!!!!!!! There is plenty to do in the city and it's all in walking distance or you can use one of the bikes that the hotel offers like we did. It was a fun way to get around town.
Every part of the staff was helpful and friendly. They even remembered your name. They recommended things for us and even booked attractions and dinner reservations for us. Don't forget to get the free cookies and milk in lobby each night. They are so yummy and a nice touch.
We can't say enough good things about the Vendue Inn. We loved it and are so glad that we stayed here. The service was amazing. The best service we've ever received anywhere. It will be hard and maybe even impossible for any other place to come close to. Thank you Vendue Inn for an amazing 1 year anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at the Vendue Inn for 3 nights and honestly wished we could have stayed longer. The location is ideal - you are right in the heart of the historic district and if you want to venture out, all major routes are nearby and easily accessible. Our room was a suite and it was extremely large with a fireplace and the most comfortable beds we have found anywhere. There are beautiful nooks and crannies throughout the hotel and breakfast in the front room was just wonderful. Service was great and the little extras, the cookies and milk, wine and cheese, newspaper in the morning, all were greatly appreciated based upon our busy itinerary. We are very fussy when it comes to hotels and the Vendue Inn is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed at the Vendue Inn on two occasions during the summer as our trip was in two parts. Our first room was in the annex across the street. The room was very boutique like with antique furniture and a nice sized washroom. The view was not so great as it looked into a courtyard of an electrical substation. However, the service was very good. All staff were friendly and a full southern breakfast was included. They had nice touches such as fruit infused water available during the day, a wine and cheese reception in late afternoon and even cookies and milk in the late evening. Our second room was in the main building and was similar in size with a smaller washroom. Here the view was better. The hotel is near the Market area, very close to the waterfront parks and is walking (or biking) distance to the historic Battery area. The hotel also lets you rent (for free) bicycles to take around and explore. They also have a very nice roof top bar that has a great view of the city. Overall, a very nice experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

It's interesting how people can have such wide, varied opinions. One states the rooms are small and another states they are large. Here is what I would like to share and hope it will be of help to you:
A. ASK for a room in the main building, as you will be more satisfied. It's great being in a 100% smoke-free hotel.
B. Pet Friendly was great for us. A $50 pet fee is well worth it and fair. If you are traveling without a pet, don't let this deter you, as I found pet owners are very aware and courteous in making sure their pets do not bother other guests.
C. Don't expect a 5 star Las Vegas type room. We didn't expect it, as almost all hotels in Charleston are based on "old style", traditional type rooms. The beds were comfortable and isn't that what counts?! We found the room to be large and just what the website indicated. Nothing hidden here.
D. Breakfast included is a great feature. There are many choices provided each morning, so you will not be limited when it comes to the breakfast.
E. Each staff member goes out of their way to provide service. I don't know how anyone could come away displeased with the service provided. Susie Ridder, General Manager, will make sure you get top notch service -- and we appreciated her hospitality.
F. The afternoon manager's reception was nice. Various wines served along with cheeses and fruits of many kind. Cookies and milk provided at night.
G. Excellent location. Near the waterfront with a nice park. Top notch restaurants, such as Slightly North of Broad and Magnolia's within a block walking distance. Battery Park also only about 1/2 mile away. Short walk, too, to major tourist attractions such as the Market. Bikes available -- each bicycle has a big, wide seat for big wide rears! Don't you just hate those hard, skinny seats! Anyway, bikes are a nice extra feature.
Bottom Line: I would recommend that you book your reservation here. Unless you are very picky person, you will be pleased. LJ in NC

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.