We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Drinks at The Rooftop
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
“Excellent & Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I loved everything about this hotel. First of all, you can't beat the location. It's right downtown, and walking distance from all the shops and restaurants. It's also right down the street from a lovely ocean front park, which is great for early morning jogs, evening strolls, picnic, etc. My husband and I stayed in the smaller building across the street, which has an art gallery with complimentary wine and small appetizers every night from 4-5. While we had an older room with no window (last minute booking, so weren't many choices left) we still found our room quite comfortable, but didn't really spend too much time in it anyhow since we were constantly out enjoying the city! If you don't feel like heading out too far any particular evening, the hotel also has its own restaurant, coffee shop and rooftop bar. The room prices weren't outrageous either considering all the many perks and the great location. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    280
    84
    56
    38
See reviews for
114
901
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A boutique hotel with a built-in art gallery? I wish all hotels were as lovely. We stayed here at a friend's recommendation and weren't disappointed. Great service, good wifi, small but charming rooms. We didn't get to use the rooftop bar due to rain, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Absolutely one the best hotel staffs, accommodations, and locations of any hotel I have ever experienced. My wife and I had never been to Charleston before and decided to go to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Actually, we picked 5 cities we had never been to and I got to surprise her with the final destination. Charleston was definitely the best choice for us and The Vendue was icing on the cake. Charleston proper is a relatively small city and very walkable. The Vendues location puts you in the heart of the city. It is surrounded by an unbelievable number of restaurants, bars, shops, etc that are literally across the street or within a 5 minute walk. Trust me and stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good fun place to stay in Charleston. Strategically oriented, you can walk to many restaurants, shopping areas and great neighborhoods. Some rooms do not have windows so we asked for a window room and were quite pleased.
Good service, a good restaurant and art, art, art are their mainstays.
We will return

Room Tip: Some room are upstairs without elevator access so ask for rooms with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Vendue Inn last week and after years of staying other places in Charleston, I can't imagine a better spot. From the amazing facilities (room, roof-top bar, dining room) to its stellar location blocks from the waterfront and walkable to everywhere, its fabulous staff who go beyond to provide a superior customer service, this place will NOT disappoint. Stay in the main building as it is worth every penny, and if you can get it, Room 221 is absolute heaven. If you're the type that loves great product in the hotel, the ROAM toiletries are the best. The historic flair and Southern charm mixed with outstanding artwork, delish food and drinks and every convenience you could want, The Vendue is IT! SUPERB stay.

Room Tip: Room 221 is IT....almost floor to ceiling windows show off the BEST Charleston has to offer. SUPERB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has the best customer service of any hotel I have visited. Great location in historic district. The attention by the hotel staff was outstanding. We highly recommend staying at this hotel and would not consider another hotel if we return to Charleston. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beware the room descriptions for this hotel. Our room assignment was way below the quality implied and described online for the price paid. Lots of noise from adjacent hall, stairway and very loud ice machine. Not much wriggle room, though the bath was nice. It met the letter of the description - yes, luxury sheets; yes, fireplace; yes, antiques - but the sum was less than the pars.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.