We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holidays in Charleston
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked this hotel after checking on line. It was much better than any of the reviews. The Waterfront Park is block way so after breakfast (food was excellant) I walked down watched the boats, children, and fishermen. When I checked in everyone was friendly and helpful. I used valet parking and didn't need my car until I was leaving. I will stay again when I visit Charleston.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    259
    73
    48
    38
See reviews for
98
794
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked this hotel because of its ideal location. I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and helpful the service staff was. We used the valet parking option and never needed the car. There were so many things to do, all within a short walk. We loved it and hated to leave. Special thanks to mark, he took very nice care to make our stay pleasant.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend in October and our experience could not have been better. I loved everything about this hotel beginning with the valet, bellhop, and receptionist who all greeted us warmly upon arrival - genuine Southern hospitality. The hotel is gorgeous while maintaining a hip and modern feel. Love all the art. Our room was a Gallery King on the "newer" side - corner room with pretty street views, fireplace, lots of space to move around and a very spacious bathroom (huge shower with double shower heads). Great amenities onsite including the restaurant, rooftop bar, and coffee shop - we took advantage of all three. Location could not be more perfect - a half block to the waterfront, and surrounded by some of Charleston's top restaurants and shops. Yet the hotel sits on a fairly quiet side street so it never seemed busy or touristy. Wouldn't bother looking for anything else.

Room Tip: The Gallery King was very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Most enjoyable historical town and excellent hotel with great Southern hospitality. Everything was so good we stayed an extra night. Would highly recommend The Vendue and don't forget The Rooftop Bar!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We recently stopped in Charleston for a weekend stop-over on our way to North Carolina. We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and fell in love with the photos of the Traditional Queen room and we were not disappointed when we arrived.

First, the staff we encountered at the Vendue was remarkably friendly and helpful. We were always greeted by someone whether coming or going or just walking down the hall to get a cup of coffee. Coming from South Florida where they are known for being rude and arrogant, this was a welcomed changed.

The "$50 a day" promotion we received for making our reservation on their website was fantastic! We had dinner in their restaurant, The Drawing Room, our first night there, coffee at The Press each morning, and drinks at the bar in The Drawing Room at night all with their credit. It's not good for the Rooftop Lounge, but Johnny at the bar in The Drawing Room delivers the adult beverages just as good.

They also offer a wine reception each night from 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. where they offer you your choice of wines, along with cheeses, crackers, and meats. The wines are inexpensive but are free and Lance keeps your glass full (a hat tip to Sir Lance). We made it a point to make this reception each night because of the guests we met. We were very fortuate to meet three other couples from various parts of the east coast. Over wine we shared stories of our families and raising kids, our stay in Charleston, restaurants visited and plans for the rest of our stay. This was truly one of the most enjoyable benefits of our stay at the Vendue.

Another plus was the location. The location was truly ideal for what we had planned. We valeted the car and left it during our entire stay chosing to walk everywhere because everything we planned was within walking distance.

As to the room, it was exactly what we wanted; southern rustic charm. The rooms are a bit small, but then we were only there to sleep. The walls are a bit thin, but our neighbors were respectful. Our bathroom was roomy with a whirlpool bathtub. The floors were squeeky and there was one floor board in the bathroom that kept popping up but that was exactly the "charm" we were looking for. Besides, what do you expect from an old building?

This I know, the Vendue is our go-to Charleston hotel. If you want a feel of Charleston with an artsy feel, do give the Vendue some consideration when chosing your hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean County, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I’ll chime in with most others on the great location, charm and service at the Vendue. Adding that I could probably spend the better part of a week long vacation at either level of the rooftop bar with their great views of Charleston and upbeat atmosphere. Fun too having art displayed in the lobby and public spaces on each floor. Also loved the free bikes that allowed us to see more of the city on 2 wheels. Don’t miss the opportunity to wind down the day with daily free Wine/Cheese event.

Make no mistake, the Vendue is a premium property charging premium prices. At that price point, we were in a third floor room which was “quaint” – translation “small”, with little room to move around and a totally unremarkable view and equally small bathroom. Not sure what the other rooms are like, but I did feel that price we paid for the premium location, service, etc. did not exactly offset the pedestrian accommodations.

That being said, my only real gripe is with the current “$50 per day credit” promotion. It’s wonderful that the credit is good for food/drinks at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic visit!! From the chocolate cookies and milk, to the free wine and cheese everyday, couldn't ask for a better place!! Got a fifty dollar credit everyday for one of their restaurants. Two blocks from the market in the heart of the city. Love, love, love this place!!!

Room Tip: In the middle of the French Quarter, one block from the waterfront park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.