We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic and lovely hotel in Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holidays in Charleston
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
1 review
“Eclectic and lovely hotel in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing room, friendly and accommodating staff, and unbelievable rooftop bar/restaurant with a great view of the water and easy access to the Battery. Our suite was enormous - made for the perfect trip. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Charleston. Cookies at night were a plus.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    253
    73
    48
    37
See reviews for
97
780
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we drove up to the door we thought we had chosen well. The exterior and the location were very appealing. But the impression was dashed when we walked inside. The reception staff was seated at two small tables with computers on them and they remained seated when we walked up to them. Not much Southern hospitality or courtesy there. We had booked an interior room which we have always found to be one overlooking something within the hotel grounds. Not here. Interior means cave. We joined our bellman for a walk across the street, down the hall, up some stairs and around several turns (like a nautilus shell turning in on itself) until we got to a room with no windows and exposed brick walls. Very claustrophobic. After a 20 minute wait we were redirected to another room with a single window overlooking the lobby of the annex we were in. This at least felt like we were near the exit. Our cell phones did not work inside the building. We were advised that as hotel guests we had priority for the rooftop bar but the guy on the elevator ignored us. The manager, Nick, tried to make it up to us with a $100 credit on our bill. But the damage was done. We did find that several staff members provided good service, including the bellmen Michael and Mark, the waitress Julia, and the bartenders on the roof. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just got back from celebrating my husband's milestone birthday and stayed at the Vendue Inn. Loved the combination of history and modern amenities, helpful staff, and art everywhere. Excellent location, beautiful hotel with character.

They gave my husband complementary champagne for his birthday and lots of other special touches to make the place seem extra special to him. I had debated other Charleston hotels and this one isn't cheap, but I am really glad we went with the Vendue in terms of the character, service and the location.

Only 2 problems we encountered in an otherwise perfect stay:
- I found the mattress uncomfortably soft, the duvet uncomfortably hot, and the pillows uncomfortably feathery. Others may find the bedding luxurious but it made sleep difficult for me.
- There was confusion about one of the 3 dinner reservations we made. Got to the restaurant and they claimed that the concierge made the reservation for the wrong date. Not sure who to believe on this but it made for an inconvenient wait at the restaurant.

Room Tip: This hotel is made up of several buildings -- the 19 Vendue Range side is made up of 4 or 5 building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for small girls getaway. Beautiful room, excellent service, perfect location for bouncing around Charleston. Already planning my next stay here. There were a lot of hidden fees upon checking out, but totally worth it.

Room Tip: Double Queen perfect for girls get away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent three perfect days at The Vendue. The accommodations were so comfortable, the staff was amazing and I hope that I get back to Charleston again soon to enjoy this wonderful hotel. I'm not sure if the wine and cheese in the afternoon or the milk and cookies in the evening were the "cherry on top" of an incredible stay, the location could not have been better!

Room Tip: Upgrading to the suite allowed us additional comfort and well worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you do not stay in nicer or boutique hotels often, and someone else is handling the bill, you may find The Vendue to be "perfect", "ideal" or other overused Trip Advisor words.

Here are a few points that may help you make a decision about this property:

1. I am fortunate enough to stay at nicer places often when I travel. For the money, this one was less luxurious and more expensive than most.
2. There was no doorman to help with luggage when I arrived. They did arrange for valet parking after I brought my luggage inside. (Valet parking was similar in price to other places as far as that goes, but it typically took 15-20 minutes to get the car.)
3. They are in the process of renovations throughout the property. I stayed across the street from the main hotel where the carpet in the halls was badly worn, but in the process of being replaced. The main lobby has been nicely remodeled. It feels upscale, but is not grand.
4. They do have common room spaces where they serve morning coffee and afternoon wine (for an hour) similar to many places, but always a nice touch.
5. My room was fairly small, while the bathroom was a bit larger than average. The furnishings were antique, but also tired and well-used. The walls needed a fresh coat of paint. I noticed some "missed" cleaning, but nothing major. In my particular room the shower door and floor were a plastic unit similar to what you would find in a basic house trailer. The wood floor in the bathroom was buckling from water damage.
6. You do get the sense (across the street, at least) that you are staying in a boutique place due to angled hallways and common spaces that look like your rich great aunt's dusty parlor rather than the clean lines and modern touches of newer places. One of the features that is mildly interesting is that they provide a room for an artist in residence. Art works from the resident artist and other locals are displayed (with prices) in this room and throughout the hotel.
7. The hotel has a newer roof-top bar that has a good view, but is more of an attraction for people who are not staying at the hotel who want a beer or a two-ingredient cocktail. It doesn't seem to fit with the vibe of the place.
8. The location is excellent for history of Charleston and restaurants along East Bay Street. The sights, shopping, and nightlife of King Street are a bit farther away.
9. Service was generally good, but I did not have any "wow" customer service moment like I typically have at nicer hotels. (There was a welcome message from a manager left on the answering machine, and small chocolates with a Vendue wrapper, but that was about as creative as it got.)

In conclusion, this is a nice-enough property in a good location with a premium price where you may get a passing nostalgic feeling that some Confederate general stayed here. Beyond that, nothing really stands out in terms of room quality, service, or value.

Room Tip: Ask for an explanation of the rooms when you book. There are properties on both sides of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us stayed for 3 nights in a very large double Queen room...it even had a fireplace. Pretty bathroom with a big shower and double sinks. I think it was probably the most spacious and nicest room in the hotel. Loved the location! Book in the 19 rooms not the 26 rooms across the street if you want a very nicely remodeled room. Really enjoyed the wine/cheese from 4-5 p.m. Also milk and cookies at 9 p.m. The hotel treated us to a complimentary bottle of birthday champagne. All the staff were very kind and welcoming. We had no problems with noise. We liked the rooftop bar though the service was a bit slow. Will stay there whenever I'm in Charleston. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Book a room on the remodeled side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.