We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Vendue, Art Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$50 Food & Beverage
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“Loved the Vendue, Art Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have just returned from first overnight at the marvelous Vendue Art Hotel in Charleston. Could not have been more welcomed by all associated with hotel, beginning with our informative valet/bellman who gave us our tour. What a treasure with the newly renovated hotel, elegant, hip and cool all in one with great art, rooftop bars, tasty, different, and well presented restaurant offerings, and an in house Starbucks in the old press area.
Our room was in the old, restored Vendue, completely different look, quiet and peaceful, cozy and very comfortable. What a find, what a great value especially with the current $50 credit to be used in house bars or restaurants. A perfect experience. Imagine it is found now
M Dunstan

Room Tip: Review fotos with written descriptions. Well done, our room was just as described and shown, and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    733
    243
    70
    47
    36
See reviews for
93
754
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wanted to find a "classy" place for my husband & I to spend a few special days while on vacation in South Carolina. Well we were NOT disappointed. We were told that they recently completed a full renovation of the building and it's spectular. Warm welcome by Ryan the bellman who helped us with everything up to our room as well as telling us about the complmentary sherry on the fireplace. He also recommended local fair & told us to make sure to check out "The Roof Top Bar". Again excellent service there as well & views are great. Because if it being a later hour we opted for a bottle of wine & appetizer. Again, very good. Did not have dinner at The Vendue because we just to busy around town. They also have morning "Starbucks" coffee & tea, nightly wine & cheese tasting across the street at their "sister" hotel. Evenings each hotel has milk & cookies to enjoy! All day long there is infused "cold" water to enjoy in the lobby! The only problem we had for a hot water issue that the manager & maintance tried to fix, but everytime we went to use the shower is the cool at best even when it was all the way to hot. In the end the morning manager made right by removing our parking charged! I'm still giving them a "5" because it is just such a nice hotel! Close to the water, Market & great restaurants! Will go there again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary in Charleston. There were so many hotels to choose from but fortunately I picked the BEST hotel by deciding to stay at The Vendue! Not only is the hotel beautiful and updated, their staff is amazing and everyone there is courteous, friendly, and referred to both my husband and I by our names each and every time we saw them! The Vendue's customer service is excellent which made our stay all the more fun and relaxing. It's location was perfect as well. We could walk to so many great restaurants and historical sights from the hotel. However, if we wanted to venture further, the hotel has their own bikes for their guests -- free of charge! The food at the Drawing room was delicious and the roof top bar was awesome. We will most certainly stay at The Vendue next time we're in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Vendue came as a recommendation from some friends of ours.....So I took their advice......My wife and I took a quick trip from Myrtle Beach to Charleston to celebrate her birthday. What a great weekend. The hotel was incredible and the food was awesome. Lastly I cannot say enough about the staff. Top notch. Thanks for the bottle of Champagne for her Birthday. Nice touch....


The Penningtons

Room Tip: Any room would be great. Just need to base it on your wants and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We opted for the cheapest, only because we had been on the road for 17 days. It was in need of updating. Staff is first class, but we did have a problem, we asked about dinner and everyone told us to go to the rooftop (Aug in Charleston). We said we wanted to eat in The drawning room, we said this to at least 4 people, finally someone said there was a fund raiser from 5:30 to 7:30. We waited until 7:40 and asked to be seated we were told that it was full. No one said a word, nor did anyone offer to make reservations for us. After we spent over an hour having 3 drinks in the heat on the rooftop, we were turned away. One of the staff overheard and gave us breakfast, but we still had to find dinner.
Next morning, I asked 2 ladies who we had met where they dined the previous evening and Guess what's they got seated 2 minutes after we left the drawning room.
We will not be back.overpriced

Room Tip: Get a larger overpriced room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear makkkkko2000,
first of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Vendue during your recent trip to Charleston and for taking the time to pass along some much appreciated feedback.
As a historic building, no two rooms are alike in our Hotel and I am sure we will be able to find one that will meet or exceed your expectations. Also please accept our sincere apologies for the miscommunication about our Restaurant.
I hope you will be able to join us again in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst,il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The art is amazing throughout the lobby and hallways. Rooms are a step down from the main level. Squeaky doors and loud hallways drove me crazy. The worst part was that my watch was stolen, I informed the staff with little response from the management. They need lock boxes in the rooms. The place was very clean and staff was very polite. Concierge was very helpful for recommendation on activities and dining. Great location for all the action, close to many great restaurants and galleries.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this last min for a 1 night stay in Charleston.. Walking dist. to a lot of attractions and restaurants..Room was large with a fireplace and big tv...We would stay there again...We chose to have our truck parked for us.. Very convenient...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear John h,
thank you for choosing The Vendue. We hope you will have a chance to stay a little longer on your next visit and experience everything the Holy City and our Hotel have to offer.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.