We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Class Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our recent trip to Charleston was a short one but was made a bit more memorable by staying at the Vendue. You will enjoy the Vendue, from the comfortable and classy rooms to the excellent food at the Drawing room and cocktails at the rooftop bar. Convenient to almost everything in old town Charleston, our experience at the Vendue was great. My wife and I were celebrating our 36th anniversary and the staff at the Vendue helped to make our trip special. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on and they made sure each restaurant knew our reason for the trip.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are celebrating something special and they may surprise you with a room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear RockHound1
Thank you for choosing The Vendue for your special occasion. I am glad that you experienced every facet of our Hotel and that you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    263
    75
    49
    38
See reviews for
104
811
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

As much as I hesitated to write this review, for purely selfish reasons, I decided that I needed to share my experience with other travelers who visit the Charleston area. I am a frequent visitor to Charleston due to it's southern charm and cuisine, and have established my favorite 'places' to stay while visiting the town. I have stayed at many luxury hotels in the historic district, and have always gravitated back toward two of my 'faves'. Well, this place has completely changed my mind about the others, and I'm just afraid that it won't be available for me when I decide to return to Charleston.

I had always considered The Vendue "off the beaten path", but I was wrong! This place is convenient to everything, and you don't feel like you've hiked all day to see everything there is to see in Charleston. And, one of the really nice things was the fact that you don't hear all of those annoying traffic noises at night while you are trying to sleep. So, me and a friend booked the King suites which were right beside of each other in the main building. These rooms were incredible! I made a point to stay up late each night so I could just enjoy laying in the bed and watching tv.

From the minute we arrived at the hotel, the staff treated us like they had known us for years. They were friendly, warm, welcoming, and genuinely happy for us to be there. Not as happy as we were, though! After settling in, we made our way up to the rooftop bar. That place was really neat. It consisted of different levels with different seating arrangements so it didn't feel like you were staring at everyone or being stared at while enjoying a cocktail. Great drinks, great views and great food with impeccable service.

We enjoyed room service the following morning, and the french toast was amazing. Again, the staff (our friends) went over and above to make sure everything was perfect.

The following day, after a Sunday of shopping, we decided to return to the hotel around 7pm. I was tired and thought how lovely it would be to get a massage. It was Sunday night. No spas were open. I wandered out into the lobby and asked about the local spas, at which time a young lady provided a card to me of a Licensed Physical Therapist who had dropped off a business card. I asked the staff if it was okay to have a massage therapist come in that evening, and they were happy that they were able to accommodate my requests! Ok, so a luxurious room with complimentary wine on a Sunday evening with a massage therapist (with incredibly reasonable rates) who comes to you! It doesn't get any better than this!!

Unless this place is booked up (which is why I hesitated to write a review), I won't be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear DelPickt,
...what a great review! Thank you so much. We certainly put a lot of pride and effort into what we do and seeing it being appreciated this much is fantastic.
We too know we've found a new friend and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a short getaway to celebrate our anniversary while we were visiting family in South Carolina. I got on-line and started blind on picking a location in Charleston as we heard that this was a wonderful destination. The Vendue was just what we needed and the staff was very attentive. the first night we decided to have dinner at the Vendue and it was top notch. I ordered the Grouper and it was absolutely wonderful! My wife had a specialty salad and gazpacho and it was also fantastic. The locatoin was central to many great places and things to see. We would highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jerry c,
thank you so much for choosing the Vendue for such a special occasion as your 30th wedding anniversary... we're honored.
We appreciate the time you took to write the review and we look forward to being able to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed during the moth of July. I'm not sure how long they had been reopened since their remodel. Everything was great. It all started with Mark the Bellman who walked up 5 flights of stairs to retrieve our bags from our car. Check in went smoothly and they had plenty of recommendations for us during our stay. Our room was filled with beautiful furnishings and we had a gorgeous bath with a real walk in shower. Turn down service every night as well as wine and snacks in the afternoon and cookies and milk in the evening. The rooftop bar was great with a good view of the area. The breakfasts that we ate here were the best we had while on vacation. I can't say enough good things about the Vendue. Great stay in a great location.

Room Tip: East Bay rooms are beautiful and full of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Belle044,
thank you so much for choosing The Vendue and for the great review.
We started our reopening phase at the beginning of April and we've been fully operational since the second half of May. Glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities (I know I love those cookies). We hope you'll get a chance to try The Drawing Room for dinner on your next stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Vendue last week and enjoyed it thoroughly. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. Fortunately, we were given a deal which made our stay a little more affordable.

There is a roof top bar that is worth having a drink at. From the roof top you get a really good view of Charleston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear DebToronto,
glad to hear you took advantage of our summer promotion. Stay tuned for future ones.
We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Charleston.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Vendue inn not only is in the perfect location to walk to just about everything in downtown Charleston, it is a beautiful hotel and the amenities on site are wonderful. The staff is friendly and welcoming. For the price it is a GREAT value. I have stayed at numerous hotels in the area and I would highly recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: East bag king - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mall0ry2,

thank you for choosing The Vendue and for the great review.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. We got the last interior room but it was lovely. Staff was always very friendly and helpful with reservations at local events and restaurants. Great location.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Timetraveler48,
thank you for choosing The Vendue during your recent trip to Charleston and for the great feedback. Glad to hear you loved your room.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.