We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nicely located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is in an excellent location, steps from the waterfront and a short walk to the centre of town, shopping and the historic district. Staff are very helpful and the rooms are comfortable.

We stayed on a ground floor room at 26 Vendue. and it was very, very noisy. You could hear the plumbing from upstairs every time someone turned on a tap or flushed the toilet, and the doors are thin with no seal at all. You can hear every word spoken in the hallways.

Afternoon wine and the coffee, tea, water and night-time milk and cookies were a nice touch. It was unfortunate that the bar and restaurant were closed for renovations but there are many good choices within steps of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    672
    222
    62
    43
    34
See reviews for
86
680
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were there from Colorado to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary, made a long trek to get there expecting, due the Vendue's website that the renovations would be completed by the time we arrived, NOPE! We were put in the "old Anchorage" which I have stayed in when it was the Anchorage and it's ok but nothing special. Our room was crazy small, no outside window which we were aware of when we booked but very poor lighting, some lights didn't work, felt claustaphobic. Staff was friendly and location great but next time I'd stay at the Harbor View in which I've stayed at before. Feel like we were duped on what we paid for and what we got, certainly was NOT The Vendue, very disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As of the 4/14, hotel mgmt has still not addressed us nor refunded $ as stated. When I made res, I called & was told we would get one of their new rooms. This was not the case, which by itself wouldn’t have been an issue. When we got to our room, there was a mildewy smell- attributed to being an older room. When we tried to use the shower, there was no hot H2O. We called the front desk, and Alex came up to verify. He called us in 10 mins to tell us that there was a tripped breaker & that we’d have H2O immed. We did not have H2O immed., or 10, or 20 mins later. We called again & while he was kind-he certainly didn't do anything to help. We had to ask to be moved-which they begrudgingly did. When moved, we were told that we would have to move in the am-which was unreal. Wasn't checking into a room w/o hot H2O inconvenient enough? Mgmt was nice to leave a bottle of wine & chocolates but we just wanted hot H2O. Both subsequent rooms had issues-the 1st room only had 1 bath towel-there were 2 of us registered-in addition to bulbs burned out & a raised board in the bathroom & the 2nd room had bulbs out & a leaky hot water handle on the sink. As if this wasn't enough, housekeeping is VERY loud in the am. They were yelling at 8 am in the hall both mornings we were there. While Alex & Lawson tried to be helpful, & the hotel had an amazing location, we won't be returning to this hotel -EVER. I hope they will make good on their word.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is with out a doubt the place to stay in Charleston. Perfect location next to the water and all the best restaurants. The roof top bar is the best in town. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is amazing. You truly feel like family while your there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here during Christmas season. We were in the annex across the street and that was a bit of a pain. Suggest stay in the main building. Room was good size though the furniture was a bit dated. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Web stayed at the Vendue this past weekend (April 2014). There are many advantages to staying here when visiting Charleston, and at the top of the list is the old maxim, "Location, location, location!" It truly cannot be beat for convenience and atmosphere. We did not use our car once in our 3 night stay.

Service is also excellent at The Vendue. Each staff member takes great pride and care in their interactions with guests. Lawson the bellman is just fantastic! Other pluses include the insanely comfortable bed, lovely amenities (coffee/fruit/pastry in AM, wine/cheese in afternoon, milk/cookies in evening), and comfortable common rooms to mingle with other guests. The Rooftop Bar was fun!

The drawbacks for us ranged from extremely slight (a few towels that left lint everywhere on me, the floor, and my clothes), to surprising (our room on the concierge floor was tiny and made us wish we were across the street with our friends), to disappointing (our friends were placed in the building across the street when we asked to be together), to frightening (got stuck in the elevator for 25 minutes - ugh). So you may be wondering why we would return to The Vendue. The shortcomings are likely short term (renovations are still going on and one must be reasonable about these things like not getting room requests exactly correct). The elevator incident was disturbing, but we have full faith and confidence that it has been rectified already. The concern and consideration given by the manager was definitely to our satisfaction. So we felt that the overall experience was enjoyable and the location and staff cannot be beat. We will definitely return to The Vendue. Next time, I look forward to giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Our Concierge Level was tiny. The personalized amenities (wine and chef's plate at 4) were nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel! Top location next to the best restaurants in the city and a block away from the water. The service is superb. Everyone at the hotel goes above and beyond. Lawson should get best staff member award!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc
Vendue Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.