We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly town, staff and awsome hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Drinks at The Rooftop
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly town, staff and awsome hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I plan a 4 day getaway every year to somewhere neither have us have ever traveled to. We picked a winner this time around.....from the second we were dropped off, the vendue inn was all we expected. Extremely friendly staff....our bellman never forgot our names....each and every day!!!! Not impressed with the roof top bar which was highly spoke about. We ate lunch and had cocktails.....not a great view, and lackluster service. Awsome (surprises) happy hour at 4.....with surprisingly good wine, cheeses, and appetizers. Fabulous cookies and milk in the evening.....absolutely perfect location.....clean rooms.......this hotel is a 10!

Room Tip: The "haunted" jail tour should be passed...the tour was lead in the dark, was extremely ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    278
    81
    55
    38
See reviews for
113
884
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue Inn for our 5 year anniversary. It was our first trip to Charleston, and the hotel staff could not have made us feel more welcome. I was contacted about a week before our trip by the concierge to assist in any reservations, we pretty much had our trip already planned but the contact was appreciated.

The moment we arrived we were treated wonderfully, from the bellman who greeted us and never forgot our names the rest of the trip, even though I forgot his, to the great waitress at breakfast, and the bartender during the late afternoon wine reception, everyboidy was nice and friendly, We were upgraded to a King Suite, which was accross the street. The room was an interior room with no windows, but was big enough not to feel closed in, and it had a skylight. It was clean, the bed very comfortable, and the maid service was outstanding. The hotel also gave us a body of champaigne to celebrate our anniversary. It did show a little wear as other have mentioned, but that's just part of being a very old building, and it added to the ambience. We also enjoyed looking at the artwork, and plan on taking a tour next time we stay there.

The only negative which wasn't with the hotel directly, but the worse service we received was at the rooftop bar where we had lunch the first day, the staff there was the only one's we encountered during our entire trip that did not make you feel like a valued customer, maybe it was just an off day. The nighttime staff was much friendlier.

We enjoyed our stay at the Vendue Inn, and Charleston so much that I am already planning on going back for my 50th birthday next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I last stayed at the Vendue Inn in February, 2013. The location remains great, and the staff is - as before - very professional and attentive. I stayed in Room 101, a "historically themed room" with two queen beds. Room 101 was a vast improvement over my previous room at the Vendue Inn. Although it is located on the 1st floor and fronts on Vendue Range, it was very quiet, with minimal street noise. The furnishings were top notch. As before, I encountered a low water pressure issue in the bathroom; this time from both bathroom sink faucets. In addition, it took 10+ minutes for the water to become even lukewarm. Overall, I enjoyed my overnight at the Vendue Inn and will probably stay there again when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I surprised my husband with a trip to Charleston for his 50th birthday and I booked our stay at Vendue Inn. What a great decision! We had a wonderful room across the street that was beautiful. We loved the food for breakfast and the afternoon wine. Everyone was very quick to help us with reservations, taxis, & general information. Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The extra details were very noticeable and greatly appreciated. Being an Inn with butler service made our stay effortless for us. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and were graciously upgraded to the king suite making our visit to Charleston outstanding. The room was beautiful and spacious on the corner of the building with a view of the harbor. It has a fireplace that adds to the comfortable ambiance. Complimentary sherry and a chilled bottle of champagne were sent up. The Vendue Inn certainly knows how to go the extra mile to make their guests feel special and welcomed. All the little details they put into their customer service makes this my number one recommendation for lodging in Charleston.

Location is perfect. The Inn is right by the Charleston Harbor, just steps from Waterfront Park and the beautiful pineapple fountain. We could see the water from the corner window on the 3rd floor room 302. We walked to the park every morning with coffee to sit on the hanging benches along the pier to watch the cruise ships and harbor activity. Several highly rated restaurants are right at the corner on East Bay Street. Everything is within walking distance.

The wine and cheese reception was very nice. The cookies and milk were a fun and nice touch.

Because we left every morning to walk very early and found ourselves meandering around the peninsula exploring, we did not eat breakfast at the Inn. I would definitely have breakfast next visit as it is competitively priced and appears a step above what you find walking around. Also it would be a nice way to experience the library restaurant.

The Vendue Inn is very well kept and clean. The service and attention to detail is outstanding. The quality of the stay is worth the cost and is very reasonably priced.

Thank You Vendue Inn for a great job!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for our tenth anniversary. I booked it after doing some research on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The location can't be beat. The Vendue Range is right off of East Bay Street where many of the best restaurants in town are located. It is also a stones throw from the pier and waterfront park. The room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was crazy comfortable. The staff were warm, friendly, and helpful and genuinely seemed to want to help you enjoy your stay. The roof top bar is also a fun place to hang out although I found the one at the Market Pavilion Hotel to be more lively and a better view. The only minor complaints that we had were that the water pressure in the bathroom sink was ridiculously low. It may just have been our room though. Also, sometimes it took a while for the room to get made up.

We didn't dine at the hotel at all so I can't comment on the food there. However, there were several places that we were very happy with:

For breakfast we ate at Eli's Table and the Sweetwater Cafe. Both were enjoyable and had good selections on the menu. If you want a really good egg sandwich then go to Cafe Paradiso.

We only ate lunch once and went to Nick's BBQ. Very good pulled pork and excellent fried chicken.

If you are into Happy Hour then Charleston is the place for you! Every day from 4-7 and it seems like just about every bar has one. We really enjoyed the atmosphere at Pearlz Oyster Bar. $2.50 beers and $5 martinis! The food there is really good too, especially the fried oysters.

Dinner is where Charleston really shines. We ate at Slightly North of Broad, High Cotton and the Peninsula Grill. They were all amazing in their own way. If you are looking for a real nice night out on a special occasion then I would recommend outside dining in the courtyard at the Peninsula Grill. The food is incredible and the atmosphere intimate an relaxing.

Here are some other tips if you do decide to visit:

Take the complimentary bikes out and tour the historic part of the city, especially south of Broad. The houses and architecture are amazing.

Definitely take a carriage tour. We used the Old South Carriage Co. and found it to be entertaining and informative.

As far as visiting a plantation goes, we decided to visit Magnolia as there seemed more to see there than the other ones. There is a small petting zoo on site as well if you have kids.

The tour to Fort Sumter is also a must do if you into U.S. History at all.

All in all we had a great time in Charleston and would recommend it to anyone to visit there. The people are really friendly and always seem to be willing to engage you in conversation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Charleston and we stayed here 4 nights. I selected this inn because it is part of the Select Registry Inns of North America. After checking Trip Advisor and talking to a very nice woman from the staff on the phone, we selected an interior queen room. Upon our arrival, we found out that we had been upgraded to a king fireplace room for all 4 days. (Luck I guess.) It was room 305. It overlooked the back alley and a rooftop. It was nice to have natural light, a larger room and bathroom (We did not use the fireplace as the weather was warm.) But if you are looking for a room with a view, this is not the place for you. This inn is great because of the location and the service. From the time we checked in, we were taken care of well. The man who checked us in, the bellhop, the front desks at all times, the waitress and hosts at breakfast/afternoon reception/evening cookies and milk were all there to help us and make our stay exceptional. Robbie, the concierge, was extremely patient and helpful with tours and places to eat. He could not have been any nicer. Unfortunately, we did not use the bikes because we were always on the go. We do suggest if you go bike riding do so in the early morning as the roads seemed narrow to us, get pretty busy with cars and the sidewalks have many people. (We are seasoned bike riders.) We had no problem with using our tablet and the wifi. The complimentary USA Today newspaper M-F and delicious coffee made the mornings seem like home. The afternoon reception of wine (ice tea if preferred), three kinds of cheeses, crackers, ripe fruit, and meat spreads were more than enough to hold you over until dinner. And if you like to be spoiled with cookies and milk at 9:00 at night, you won't be disappointed. Make sure to get there on time as it is very popular. Check out the roof top bar. It has a great view at sunset and also is reasonably priced. At first we were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included like in all the other Select Registry properties we have stayed. (We were told this when making reservations so it was no surprise.) But we found the breakfasts to be very good and well priced compared to the other breakfast places. Our biggest disappointment was the pillow top bed. We had to both sleep in the middle of the bed so we wouldn't be puffed out onto the floor. As my title suggests, this location cannot be beat. Park you car and walk, walk, and walk some more. There is so much to see on foot vs. from a car or a bus.

Room Tip: When making reservations, ask many questions about the rooms available. They were very helpful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.