We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Arnold, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect location for this beautiful city. Beautifully appointed rooms and really feels authentic old south. There are so many lovely extras. Not just a continental breakfast, a warm yummy breakfast with lots of choices. Cookies and milk at night. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. We heard about this establishment from a friend and it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    263
    75
    49
    38
See reviews for
104
811
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were greeted warmly and the property exceeded our expectations in every way.
The service was really outstanding, nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed a wine & cheese reception before being shown around and then escorted to our very well appointed and comfortable lodgings. Everything was clean and fresh, the subtle elegance of the historic Inn shone through.

We read rave reviews about this property in Australian Gourmet Traveller magazine, with emphasis on the stunning roof top bar, so we were eager to try it out.
To our surprise, the ambience didn't reflect that of the Inn downstairs.
It was somewhat ragged at the edges, with really irritating electro dance music blaring in the background. At 4pm in the afternoon, this was a little hard to take.
We made mention of this on the guest feedback survey, and received a very prompt reply, assuring us Inn Management had reviewed and was planning more appropriate music to suit different times of the day.

We received some excellent recommendations for dinner from the staff at the Inn, and chose to dine at High Cotton restaurant, just steps away on East Bay St. Sensational experience - WOW!

We also enjoyed a meal at the Roof Top Bar, and breakfasted at the Inn, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The location was perfect, and we can't wait to return to the charming and delightful Vendue Inn to see more of wonderful Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Charleston on business so I decided to bring my wife since we had never been. It amazes me that anyone could find anything wrong with this hotel. I understand that it is and old building and there for has the old building issues. But what one person calls old and musty, I call character. The people who work here are so friendly and the service was amazing. The location cannot be beat, right be Waterfront Park. Afternoon wine and cheese, nighttime milk and cookies, free bikes to use anytime. Bed was comfortable and room was charming.

If I had to say anything negative it would be that parking was a nightmare, but this is not really the hotels fault. They do offer a $14 a day parking option, but we opted for trying to find free parking. With a little bit of driving around we were able to pull it off. The only other complaint would be the fact that the hallways and doors were a bit load to the point that there were times you though someone was coming in your room, but here again it is an old building and come with the territory.

Next time we return to Charleston I would stay here in a heart beat!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wonderful and helpful staff. The inn is historic and is ideally located in the french quarter. It also is on the trolley bus route, so when you are tired of walking, you can grab the free trolley that comes by every 12 minutes. Very quiet section of town, with a beautiful park and pier less than a block away. Great breakfast, and the nightly milk and cookies were a nice touch. The standard queen room has wonderful old brick details. The only knock I have on the room is the use of standard "Home Depot" vanity, shower and tub. For a few bucks more, the bathroom could have tied into the theme much better. Otherwise, a very nice room. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

In Charleston to celebrate a wedding anniverary; not our first trip. Perfect location for those that don't want the cost and bother of a car in Downtown. Everything is within walking distance and if you don't feel like walking they'll loan you a bicycle! Nikki was great with every question that came up, Joe & Paul upstairs on the Rooftop were delightful, Lawson had the perfection suggestions for coffee and I think they even went out and bought a hair dryer when the one in our room decided to give out (thank you Nick). With the addition of a reasonably priced and comfortable shuttle to Folly Beach for a day trip, this visit to Charleston was perfect. Thank you to ALL the staff Vendue Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKE FOREST
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved this hotel especially at the reasonable rate. The room was adorable and the bathroom was small but really nice. You do have to walk across the street for cookies and milk at night and breakfast in the morning but who cares. The rooms were dark making sleeping optimal and we never heard anything from anyone else. The gentleman at the front desk at night named Alex was extremely helpful and nice. I even saw him looking up information on Charleston statistics for a guest! they helped with recommendations and directions. we ate and drank up and down the street and easily walked back to the hotel. The street was always well lit and we were never worried about anything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Loved the attentive service, beautiful room, loaner bicycles, rooftop view, and helpful staff. Perfect location for exploring Charleston on foot or by pedal power! If interested in going to the beach, ask to use the amenities of the sister property, Tides, at Folly Beach. Beach chairs, towels, food and beverages were all available to us. Valet, Mark, was extremely helpful by offering ideas to make our visit more special. He remembered us and greeted us by name every day. Classy touch!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.