We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$50 Food & Beverage
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Fayetteville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is in an awesome location, close to the waterfront and near great restaurants and bars. The hotel staff is one of the friendliest I've ever encountered and could not have been more helpful during my stay. The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was nice, as well. The hotel has a great breakfast, very reasonable and also a complimentary 4 p.m. wine and cheese happy hour. They also have complimentary bikes that you can check out to explore this compact, easy to navigate city. I visited the rooftop bar on two separate nights but was not terribly impressed with it on either visit. The staff was very nice but the drinks weren't well constructed. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    244
    70
    47
    36
See reviews for
93
752
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very nice hotel. We stayed on the across the street but the service was great. Wine and cheese @ 4. Cookies and milk @ 9 and having the use of bikes made it very easy to tour the city. Walking distance to most of the attractions and restaurants. A great place and with the special they where running money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little Inn is just fantastic. My wife and I stayed a few nights during to "off" season at a surprisingly affordable rate. The location is perfect. Close to the harbor and easy walking distance to mid town shopping and restaurants. Staff always referred to me as Mr. and Mrs. It was a great stay. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: This hotel is not about the view, it is about the location. Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Vendue for a girl's weekend in June. The front desk staff were very helpful in setting us up with tours of the art galleries, the city and the Spoletto festival. We had such a relaxing time and the room we stayed in was so comfortable. The beds are memorable and the bath spacious. I have recommended the Inn to many of my friends and guests as we have an Inn in Vicksburg, MS (The Corners Mansion Inn). I know what it is to provide excellent service and that is what we received at the Vendue Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I have just spent three nights at this wonderful hotel, and can only echo all the other reviewers comments. The staff are amazingly attentive, warm and welcoming, our room extremely comfortable, and we fully intend to return to Charleston to see more than we had time for on this trip and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Cheese and wine in the late afternoon, followed by bedtime cookies and milk, plus the complimentary cycles for riding around the city are just icing on the cake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very lovely boutique hotel located in the heart of Charleston. It's just a block away from the Harbor, and a few blocks in either direction from shopping, galleries and restaurants. If you are looking to take a break in the afternoon, they offer wine and cheese at 4pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter and I visited to celebrate her 21st birthday July 22-24th. We have been to Charleston many times but this was our first stay at Vendue. I reserved a suite and stayed in 24 Vendue Range (across the street) and so glad we did. The exposed brick, large rooms, and quircky layout made this special. We stayed on the second floor in room 256 which is a beautiful room. The view from the room is not desireable, it is a corner room and one side faces the garages and the other side faces a power station. I wasn't there for the 'view' so I was OK since the room was very special. I would go back and stay in this building again, however I would try a different room maybe in the front of the building or perhaps the other side. It was not noisy, there were no problems, just not anything special to look at but since we were in Charleston and our favorite restaurants were withing walking distance who cares.

The valet parking is a great option (and deal), staff were all friendly and helpful. First class all the way. What more can you ask for? My only 'suggestion' would be an in-room safe.

Love the morning coffee, they have wine and cheese in the evening, and we missed it but cookies and milk at night. Huge, high quality TV, antique furnishings, and a bed I wanted to stuff in my luggage and take home. We love another nearby hotel (that was sold out) but the Vendue was special and I want to come back again with the rest of my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.