We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my greatest stays of all time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my greatest stays of all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I sincerely could not have been more pleased with a hotel from start to finish than I was with the Vendue Inn. The staff has an incredible mix of southern charm and just pure genuine hospitality that you would only dream of. My flight was delayed in Baltimore overnight and once I arrive the bellman had been prefaced with my situation (by my friend who had arrived early) and greeted me at the hotel door on a first name basis and asked "if it could be his pleasure to send me some mimosas or champagne to my room" because they were so thrilled I had arrived and were sorry for my delay. To say this started my trip off on a fabulous note would be an understatement. I stayed in a traditional king room which was beyond large enough, the bed is heaven on a cloud and the bathroom is quite large. I was worried about the complimentary beach cruisers not being available since they are first come first serve basis, but in my Friday-Sunday stay, there was never a time my friend and I didn't have access. Location is phenomenal, you walk everywhere downtown, bike down rainbow row and see all the mansions-- gorgeous!!. Complimentary wine and cheese hour every afternoon, and cookie and milk hour every night. To top it all off, they have a sister hotel on Folley Beach (which we only learned of this once we arrived) and they give $10 shuttle to the hotel, and as a sister hotel you have free access to the pool/beach. Honestly, the compliments, impeccable service and delightful surprises just kept coming once I arrived. Since coming home I have recommended friends and family go to Charleston not for Charleston, but for this hotel. I can't say enough great things.

Room Tip: Traditional King, great size for a couple, or 2-3 friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    289
    90
    58
    38
See reviews for
125
943
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had family staying at the hotel over the July 4th holiday to celebrate their anniversary, and thought it would nice to surprise them with a bottle of champagne and chocolate truffles. We called the hotel and spoke with the concierge, Robby; he quoted ~$110 for the items, and even said he would include the hotel’s commemorative champagne flutes as a complimentary gesture (Wow, very impressive!)

Unfortunately, that’s where the honeymoon ended. The happy anniversary couple received a nice bottle of champagne with a note from the General Manager, Ken Merkel, stating that it was “compliments of the staff” (included in traveler photos). This is quite peculiar considering that the hotel charged my credit card $311.90! So, not only did the hotel fail to deliver the gift as agreed upon (truffles and flutes were not provided), they shamefully took credit for it. Absolutely despicable. We’ve called the hotel twice and left messages for Ken to call us to discuss, but no response. Such a disappointing experience, and we would never advise anyone to do business with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our one-year anniversary at this gem of an inn. We experienced unbelievably thoughtful and generous service from the inn. The pre-arrival concierge phone call (though we missed it) and e-mail were extremely sweet and helpful. We told the Front Desk (after they asked) that it was our anniversary, and a surprise bottle of champagne and note were waiting for us in our room! We enjoyed it after an amazing dinner at The Library--the on-site restaurant. The Rooftop Bar also has great service and selections. Plus, my husband and I are both suckers for riding bike cruisers around cities so those awesome complimentary bikes were a huge treat. We stayed in a Junior King suite and loved it. I sincerely cannot offer you a reason to NOT stay at this Inn.

Room Tip: The Junior King Suite is the perfect size for a couple's weekend stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Book a historical junior suite - you won't regret it!. Beautiful working fireplace, modern bathroom with a claw foot tub, and a comfortable feather bed.
Hotel was also in a great location right by the waterfront. Loved the complimentary bikes available to all guests. The perfect way to explore this historical city.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue Inn the weekend after July 4th. The hotel has a very classic, historic charm, with the best customer service in the business. The hotel is located in downtown Charleston, walking distance to everything. The hotel itself is very clean, well maintained, and the staff is the best in the business to make sure you have everything you need.
The rooms are clean and spacious, with very comfortable beds and plenty of towels.
The hotel features two restaurants, one on the ground floor (great brunch), as well as a roof top bar-grill with sweeping views of the city.
Overall, you cannot beat the Vendue Inn, great value, great customer service, great overall hotel. Would definitely return in the near future!

Room Tip: Check out the rooftop restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had researched hotels on TripAdvisor before our recent trip to Charleston and the Vendue had high marks PLUS an online coupon for 30% off rooms! Before our trip, we were contacted by the concierge by email and phone to see if he could be of assistance with dinner reservations, etc. We were impressed before even arriving! We checked in and were greeted by the most friendly and professional staff. We arrived one hour before checkin but they were happy to let us check in then and even upgraded us! We had a beautiful traditional king room (319) with fireplace (given the 95-100 temps outside, we never turned it on, but it was pretty :)). The hotel definitely has character - it's not a big modern hotel - which we liked given that Charleston is a very historic place. Our room was VERY quiet and the beds were very comfy. The location of the hotel is PERFECT. 2-5 minute walk to most of the best restaurants and bars. King Street, the main shopping street, is a 5 minutes walk. The hotel is one block from the water. In the afternoon they put out lemon and orange-flavored water, then at 4pm they have a wine and cheese hour followed by freshly baked cookies at night. The staff was so friendly the whole time we were there and greeted us by name. The Vendue has a roofdeck bar which was nice and cool because it gets great breezes. The atmosphere up there could use a little work (they need to work on their music), but it was a nice option. ALSO, they have cruiser bikes for use by hotel guests. This ended up being a real plus. One day we took the bikes out for about 6 hours and did a self-guided tour of the south of broad historic homes area and it was a lot of fun. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We really liked room 319 as it was in a separate part of the hotel, removed from the other rooms, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a ton of research we decided to stay at the Vendue Inn while vacationing in the downtown area of Charleston. We paid a fair price (through Jetsetter) and were very pleased with the location. The location of this hotel is pretty awesome (close to King Street, many churches, world-class restaurants, and the Battery). The rooftop bar was ok...didn't live up to its hype but worth dropping by for a night cap after a great dinner. The service at Vendue was pretty good and they wanted to make right after some unfortunate room mishaps. For example the shower kept dripping (making it tough to sleep at night), the air condition was extremely loud and noisy every time it went off (roughly every 15 minutes), they left a dirty towel in the shower (soaking up the dripping from the shower head) when we discovered it our first night. The front desk did do everything in their power to help but these small annoyances do not get overlooked. If I had the opportunity to stay here again I would but for a considerably lower price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.