We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in the historic centre of Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Nights Are Special
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in the historic centre of Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I can't fault this hotel (some points aside). We stayed in it four nights and had a wonderful time.

The room I was allocated was small and didn't have curtains -- only blinds -- but I was moved to a far more pleasant room with more space. It was in a room across the road from the main hotel, but that didn't matter. The view was uninspiring: it was just a car park, but as it was little used, my room was quiet.

The room was spotless and had all the facilities I needed, including an umbrella, which proved invaluable in the stormy weather during our stay.

The hotel is in the so-called French district, just a few metres from the waterfront, so in terms of location this is as good as it gets. Walk a few yards away from the waterfront and you have a staggering assortment of restaurants, which together constitute some of the finest dining in America. You also have much the prettiest American city, New Orleans excepted, at your fingertips. Walk a few more yards and you get to the market area, which is great fun.

Parking is easy, as there are a couple of parking garages close by. They cost about $14 a night.

The rooms don't have coffee machines, but the hotel leaves out coffee, cookies, and other goodies at suitable times of day. There is a free bottle of water in the room.

The staff are friendly and the reception desk did all that was necessary to help us enjoy our stay. Given that this is the most wonderful city to visit I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with curtains, if you need the dark for good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    706
    238
    67
    45
    36
See reviews for
90
725
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff at the Vendue Inn couldn't be better. Unfortunately, the inn itself needs some renovations and maintenance. Our first night was spent in a warm room because the air conditioning wasn't working properly. Since they couldn't fix the problem, we were upgraded to another (larger) room. This was a nice touch but the tile on the floor of the bathroom was cracked and broken. Some money needs to be invested to make this inn all it can be. This includes some soundproofing as you can hear all conversations in the halls and the ice machines being used. The location is great and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Vendue Inn for a long weekend. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to a lot of restaurants, shops, and bars. The room is nice and updated. Not very large. The best thing about Vendue is the service. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and made us feel at home. The bellman mark was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

New owners=no more complimentry breakfast. However, the 4pm wine and snack hour and 9pm milk and cookies are still in effect! The rooms are lovely, the staff is super duper friendly, the location is perfect. We stayed in a historic junior king (room 102) and it was huge and on a corner on the 1st floor (street facing) but still SO quiet! We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Upon arrival in the pouring rain, we were cheerfully greeted by one of the many bell boys holding an umbrella for me before I even opened the door. The staff was alway courteous and very helpful with any questions or situations that might occur. The location for all the sights couldn't have been more perfect. The upstairs bar was a great place to have a drink and snack whilst enjoying the views of the city. We will definitely go back here on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancée and I got engaged here last week and the staff could not have done more to make this stay so special. From the moment we checked in until the morning we checked out, all of the staff - hotel manager, front desk, bell hops, housekeeping and everyone else, made us feel very special. I needed to ship the engagement ring directly to the hotel before our visit for fear it would be taken out of my backpack and my fiancée would see it during the screening process at the airport. I felt that having to propose next to a TSA agent as your carryon is screened was not the most romantic place! The hotel manager assured me that they would take extra care in the safekeeping of this ring until I arrived and that the few people on the staff that had to know what was going to happen kept it very quiet. Because they knew it was such a special occasion they upgraded our room, and it was gorgeous. After it was known I had proposed people on the staff would congratulate us as we passed through the lobby. And Champaign was also sent to our room by the manager.

Charleston is by far our favorite place to vacation. We have probably stayed at 7-8 other nice hotels in downtown Charleston but this hotel was the best. The staff was very friendly, they went out of their way to accommodate any special requests you may have, the rooms were clean, and the chocolate chip cookies they put out every night were some of the best you will ever have! They go quickly so you need to be there as soon as they are brought out!

We read TripAdvisor before we stay anywhere. This place got great reviews and I highly recommend. The hotel is beautiful and the service is even better - if that is possible!

Mike and Tory

Milwaukee, Wi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. One of the best staffing we have seen. They called us by name everytime we walked by. The extras were nice, the warm milk and cookies, the wine reception at night, even the refreshing cool water in the lobby. Recieved a call prior to visit to make see if any dinner or tour reservations could be made . The manager was friendly and well seen. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: We were blessed to stay in room 405 which is the king suite. It overlooks the area. Has it's ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.