We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Charleston Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Drinks at The Rooftop
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Charleston Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Vendue Inn for a long weekend. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to a lot of restaurants, shops, and bars. The room is nice and updated. Not very large. The best thing about Vendue is the service. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and made us feel at home. The bellman mark was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    280
    81
    55
    38
See reviews for
113
887
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

New owners=no more complimentry breakfast. However, the 4pm wine and snack hour and 9pm milk and cookies are still in effect! The rooms are lovely, the staff is super duper friendly, the location is perfect. We stayed in a historic junior king (room 102) and it was huge and on a corner on the 1st floor (street facing) but still SO quiet! We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Upon arrival in the pouring rain, we were cheerfully greeted by one of the many bell boys holding an umbrella for me before I even opened the door. The staff was alway courteous and very helpful with any questions or situations that might occur. The location for all the sights couldn't have been more perfect. The upstairs bar was a great place to have a drink and snack whilst enjoying the views of the city. We will definitely go back here on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancée and I got engaged here last week and the staff could not have done more to make this stay so special. From the moment we checked in until the morning we checked out, all of the staff - hotel manager, front desk, bell hops, housekeeping and everyone else, made us feel very special. I needed to ship the engagement ring directly to the hotel before our visit for fear it would be taken out of my backpack and my fiancée would see it during the screening process at the airport. I felt that having to propose next to a TSA agent as your carryon is screened was not the most romantic place! The hotel manager assured me that they would take extra care in the safekeeping of this ring until I arrived and that the few people on the staff that had to know what was going to happen kept it very quiet. Because they knew it was such a special occasion they upgraded our room, and it was gorgeous. After it was known I had proposed people on the staff would congratulate us as we passed through the lobby. And Champaign was also sent to our room by the manager.

Charleston is by far our favorite place to vacation. We have probably stayed at 7-8 other nice hotels in downtown Charleston but this hotel was the best. The staff was very friendly, they went out of their way to accommodate any special requests you may have, the rooms were clean, and the chocolate chip cookies they put out every night were some of the best you will ever have! They go quickly so you need to be there as soon as they are brought out!

We read TripAdvisor before we stay anywhere. This place got great reviews and I highly recommend. The hotel is beautiful and the service is even better - if that is possible!

Mike and Tory

Milwaukee, Wi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. One of the best staffing we have seen. They called us by name everytime we walked by. The extras were nice, the warm milk and cookies, the wine reception at night, even the refreshing cool water in the lobby. Recieved a call prior to visit to make see if any dinner or tour reservations could be made . The manager was friendly and well seen. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: We were blessed to stay in room 405 which is the king suite. It overlooks the area. Has it's ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Can't beat the location, and the accommodations were first rate. Found the bed hard to sleep in, but otherwise the rest of the place was wonderful. Delicious breakfast, helpful staff and proximity to everything. Pricey but we were splurging for our tenth anniversary.

Room Tip: Lots of fluff and puff on the beds. Made it too hot and uncomfortable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Honeymoon and first time to Charleston. The service here is beyond excellent. From the moment we were personally welcomed by the bellhop with a mini tour, we were impressed with this place. Nightly turn down service with little chocolates left on the bed, free breakfast, free cheese and wine at the managers afternoon reception, free milk and cookies at 9PM, and free bike rentals. Excellent location for walking around downtown. Front desk was very helpful in arranging a tour for us. Great rooftop bar with reasonable prices. Short walk to great restaurants! The beds were amazing and our suite was larger than our apartment!!! The manager also sent us a comp bottle of champagne our first night here since we were on our honeymoon and a comp bottle of bourbon (?) to enjoy.
Only one complaint: our room was adjacent to the stairwell that guests to the rooftop bar can access, which seems a little risky for security reasons. At the same time, being off to the side was nice. Also, we requested a mini fridge ($20 charge) and it was extremely dirty but the maintenance guy took it back and cleaned it and brought it back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.