We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from Charleston and spent two fabulous nights at the Vendue Inn. We were greeted by Crosby who took care of our luggage and parking the car. Devon made the check in experience very pleasant and Robbie, the Concierge, arranged a tour of the city and dinner reservations for us. The city tour was very interesting and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable of the history of this beautiful city. Our room was beautifully furnished, the fireplace and complimentary bottle of sherry added to the ambiance of the room. The jacuzzi was relaxing after a long day of sight seeing and the bathroom size was the largest we have ever experienced. The location of the Vendue Inn is perfect for walking to various locations and the free Trolley, that runs every twelve minutes, is just a minute walk away. There was a Manager's reception at 4pm that we enjoyed and the breakfast selections were numerous. If you order the oatmeal with strawberries, bring a friend as it is served in a large bowl. The young lady that took the orders was very efficient and friendly. Jerry Kerwin, one of the managers, was very responsive to a comment that we had made on a survey. We enjoyed the view from the Roof Top Bar, but as it was breezy both nights we were there, we had to find a secluded spot to enjoy or libations. We look forward to our next visit to Charleston and the Vendue Inn. Thanks to all that made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are darker than others, if lighting is a problem for you, remember to request a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    223
    63
    43
    34
See reviews for
86
683
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This inn is really nice. It is in the perfect location in the French Quarter. The room was exquisite, although being on the first floor meant having to look at the street. Quite a change from the previous nights when we were spoiled looking at the ocean. Nice breakfasts. Roof Top Bar was nice but I think it is more of a scene for the younger set. Not great sandwiches.
All in all, the staff was fantastic and it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were greeted by wonderfully helpful staff and checked in to lovely room 305 (we had been upgraded to a room with a fireplace). It had such a giant comfortable bed and pillows we had a glorious night’s sleep. The bathroom is a really good size – it has a separate shower, and a huge Jacuzzi bath, not to mention the world’s fluffiest towels! Breakfast was included and I enjoyed my eggs, potatoes and toast (meat was also available). We also went up to the roof top bar – lovely view, excellent cocktails and brilliant people watching opportunities ;0)

The Inn offers valet parking, or there’s a garage nearby but we were lucky enough to find a vacant parking metre on the side street steps away from the hotel. The Inn is in a great location and we loved our stay here - can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on a spur of the moment trip to Charleston for my birthday. We live in Columbia, so it's no huge feat to stay for the weekend and we are very familiar with downtown. I love staying downtown, and this hotel is in a great location. Is basically a block from the park, right down the street from the fountain. I'm not sure what level room we were in, probably something basic (wish he had mentioned it was my birthday at check in lol) There are rooms on the main side where you check in, as well as across the street in a separate building. i thought that was strange at first, but you are given your own key to let you in the building since there is no separate reception, which makes you secure. the room was small, felt very historic, but not old! the queen bed was fairly comfy, pillows too soft for my taste, but I'm fussy about beds and my sleep and never totally satisfied with any bed but my own so i don't fault them. We got it on a Saturday with the hotels tonite app for a couple hundred dollars, not bad for the location. Many fun places to visit within walking distance. All of the staff here were very friendly and helpful, a wonderful surprise (well, not much of a surprise since I looked it up on TA) compared to other places we've stayed. There is an evening reception with wine, fruit and cheese and apparently milk and cookies at night. They rent bikes for free as well. There is also free wifi, although we didn't need it so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, immaculately maintained, fabulous location, attentive and courteous staff, wonderful made to order breakfast in the Library restaurant and daily reception, charming and historic rooms. A perfect place to stay in Charleston - close to shops, restaurants, and other attractions. Would definitely recommend the Vendue Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had stayed nearby before but this spring was our first time at the Vendue Inn. Even before we arrived, Robbie the concierge contacted us and made dinner reservations within minutes. All the staff was that helpful, including the housekeeper who sneaked us extra chocolates after a night on the town. We loved the complimentary breakfast made fresh each day and the wine and cheese reception in the evening as well as drinks at the Rooftop Bar overlooking the harbor. Perfect location for walking to all the House and Garden tour events. Charming room too, old world character.mm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Charleston with my husband to celebrate our first anniversary. We choose the Vendue Inn and it was an excellent choice. From the attentive staff to the charming room to the amazing location, it exceeded expectations. And an added bonus was the wonderful complimentary breakfast and the fabulous rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc
Vendue Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list