We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This inn is really nice. It is in the perfect location in the French Quarter. The room was exquisite, although being on the first floor meant having to look at the street. Quite a change from the previous nights when we were spoiled looking at the ocean. Nice breakfasts. Roof Top Bar was nice but I think it is more of a scene for the younger set. Not great sandwiches.
All in all, the staff was fantastic and it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    223
    63
    43
    34
See reviews for
86
683
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, GB
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were greeted by wonderfully helpful staff and checked in to lovely room 305 (we had been upgraded to a room with a fireplace). It had such a giant comfortable bed and pillows we had a glorious night’s sleep. The bathroom is a really good size – it has a separate shower, and a huge Jacuzzi bath, not to mention the world’s fluffiest towels! Breakfast was included and I enjoyed my eggs, potatoes and toast (meat was also available). We also went up to the roof top bar – lovely view, excellent cocktails and brilliant people watching opportunities ;0)

The Inn offers valet parking, or there’s a garage nearby but we were lucky enough to find a vacant parking metre on the side street steps away from the hotel. The Inn is in a great location and we loved our stay here - can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on a spur of the moment trip to Charleston for my birthday. We live in Columbia, so it's no huge feat to stay for the weekend and we are very familiar with downtown. I love staying downtown, and this hotel is in a great location. Is basically a block from the park, right down the street from the fountain. I'm not sure what level room we were in, probably something basic (wish he had mentioned it was my birthday at check in lol) There are rooms on the main side where you check in, as well as across the street in a separate building. i thought that was strange at first, but you are given your own key to let you in the building since there is no separate reception, which makes you secure. the room was small, felt very historic, but not old! the queen bed was fairly comfy, pillows too soft for my taste, but I'm fussy about beds and my sleep and never totally satisfied with any bed but my own so i don't fault them. We got it on a Saturday with the hotels tonite app for a couple hundred dollars, not bad for the location. Many fun places to visit within walking distance. All of the staff here were very friendly and helpful, a wonderful surprise (well, not much of a surprise since I looked it up on TA) compared to other places we've stayed. There is an evening reception with wine, fruit and cheese and apparently milk and cookies at night. They rent bikes for free as well. There is also free wifi, although we didn't need it so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, immaculately maintained, fabulous location, attentive and courteous staff, wonderful made to order breakfast in the Library restaurant and daily reception, charming and historic rooms. A perfect place to stay in Charleston - close to shops, restaurants, and other attractions. Would definitely recommend the Vendue Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had stayed nearby before but this spring was our first time at the Vendue Inn. Even before we arrived, Robbie the concierge contacted us and made dinner reservations within minutes. All the staff was that helpful, including the housekeeper who sneaked us extra chocolates after a night on the town. We loved the complimentary breakfast made fresh each day and the wine and cheese reception in the evening as well as drinks at the Rooftop Bar overlooking the harbor. Perfect location for walking to all the House and Garden tour events. Charming room too, old world character.mm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Charleston with my husband to celebrate our first anniversary. We choose the Vendue Inn and it was an excellent choice. From the attentive staff to the charming room to the amazing location, it exceeded expectations. And an added bonus was the wonderful complimentary breakfast and the fabulous rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First I want to note that we did not spend the night at Vendue. We cannot comment on things like breakfast or comfort of the room. This review is based only on our tour of the Inn and the guest rooms prior to booking our stay.

My husband and I were in Charleston for a 1-night romantic stop over during a 2-week road trip. We liked the area so much we decided to stay an extra night. We had booked our first night at a fantastic Inn in the same neighborhood as the Vendue - we used airline miles for that night. When we decided to stay a 2nd night, there were no airline points rooms left in our Inn, so our option was to pay $399 for our 2nd night in the same terrific room, move to a smaller room for $249 or move to another Inn. We loved where we were, but before committing to $400 for 1 night, we thought we'd check out one or two other Inns in the neighborhood.

As B&B owners ourselves, it is fun to try different places to learn how other Inn's work. The Vendue sounded interesting on-line and reviews were generally positive. One review had suggested looking at the room before booking - which was a great idea since we were already in town. We went out for a jog and stopped by the Vendue for a quick look before booking. (As an aside, Charleston is a fantastic jogging city!)

At the Vendue, we met with a receptionist, explained that we were interested in staying, but wanted to see the hotel and the room we'd stay in before booking. She reviewed the rooms that were available and the rates. My husband and I chuckled (uncomfortably) when she mentioned that they had a room that was an "interior" room with no windows. What? I've heard of that on cruise ships, but not hotels. We asked to see a King suite that was in the $250/night range - with windows. No rooms in that range were clean for us to see, but there was a $399 room we could look at to get a feel for what we could expect. Perfect. An apples-to-apples comparison worked for us. I was expecting something at least equivalent to the room we had the night before at the other top-rated Inn.

Holy smokes! Thank you to the reviewer who suggested looking at the rooms in advance. Our trip to the room felt like we were in a tired Inn more than a refreshing one. The elevator was small, dark and old; not quaint, historic old, just plain in-need-of-a-renovation old. The elevator opened to the dark narrow hallways of the guest floor. There was an odd, musty smell and just an old outdated feel. The guest room was small along with an equally small bath. The room was clean, but a bit claustrophobic....and this was the $399 room. What did the $250 room look like I wondered.

After the room tour, there was no question - we would not be staying at the Vendue.

When we returned to the first-night Inn and confirmed we were staying a 2nd night, they discounted our room rate to $269...a bonus. We enjoyed a full apartment, large bedroom, huge modern bathroom, spacious private den, full kitchen and private deck with breakfast delivered to our room (included). There was just no comparison. I don't think it would be fair to note the name of the other hotel on this review, but look for our 5-star review here on TripAdvisor for an amazing and very romantic Inn in Charleston.

As for the Vendue, the location is terrific but there are definitely alternatives that offer roomier, newer and more romantic accommodations. If you're able to check out the room in advance, we'd recommend you do. Our rating is Average. "Disappointing" would be a better review rating, especially since we didn't stay the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for stopping by the Inn.

As you pointed out, we are a much different property then the condo-style apartments you had the opportunity to stay in on King St in the shopping section of town.

To provide some insight to our property, we are comprised of eight historic buildings in the French Quarter of Charleston adjacent to Waterfront Park. These buildings date to the 1830's, built by one of Charleston's famous statesman, Samuel Prioleau.. Each room of the Inn is slightly different than the other in size and décor. We find it to be it is one of our charming qualities.

Also, I wish you enjoyed all of the amenities the Inn offers to each guest. We serve a delicious breakfast in the hotel with a wonderful staff each morning. Our highly complemented bell staff always provide a detailed tour of our property and happily provide advice for any query. Some of our guests after enjoying a ride on our complementary bikes, return in the afternoon for a reception that includes wine & hors d’ oeuvres.In the evening, guests enjoy recounting their day over fresh baked cookies and milk.

As an historic property in Charleston, it is not too uncommon to have windowless rooms. We do have 6 interior rooms that are our most economical choices for the savvy traveler who still enjoys the extra amenities the Inn has to offer.

I wish we had a little more time with you to plan your stay to Charleston. I am sure we could have found you an accommodation that fit your wants and needs with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc
Vendue Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.