We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vendue Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Nights Are Special
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Vendue Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I chose this inn as a birthday getaway for my sister and I. The staff was wonderful. I arrived early in the day and went directly to the inn. The valet parked my car took care of our luggage and gave us a tour of the inn. The wine and appetizer social hour and breakfast were great. Our room was impeccable. We both enjoyed our stay and only wished it could have been more than one night. I will be back.
norma

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    242
    70
    46
    36
See reviews for
93
747
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Not to be confused with "up tight" this is a great property capable of providing a great experience but we found our two nights somewhat lackluster. Daytime construction on the 3rd floor was necessary and this is never an easy chore, but dust and odor containment could have been more professional. One of the rooms being worked on was wide open to the hall exposing ripped open walls and ceiling with very obvious water and mold issues.... Poor form.

We stayed in our room till 10am the first morning. Upon exiting there was a note left under the door explaining that we had "missed" the housekeeping call, and "IF" we wanted the service to return later, we needed to call the front desk. Somehow this seemed a little premature at 10AM.

The doormen were great! helpful, prompt, courteous, efficient, the highlight of the experience.

Fine location, clean and great southern charm, just not perfect.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I wish to thank you for understanding the unusual circumstances that arise during renovations. While we are excited to finish these rooms in a timely fashion, we did not intend to show them off until they were completed. This was a lapse on our part.
To provide some further insight, our housekeeping department begins at 8:30 am until 2:30 pm and turn down service begins at 5 pm. If the staff encounters a privacy sign during these hours, we will place a letter under the guests’ door asking if they would prefer to schedule their service. Otherwise, the staff checks back throughout the day. If the guest prefers the service may be scheduled at turn down. I apologize for any confusion surrounding this matter.
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Vendue Inn. I am pleased you were impressed with the hospitality of the staff and enjoyed our French Quarter location. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.\

Jerry Kerwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here in mid-December and were very pleased with the staff, dining area, common area, breakfast and especially the nightly social hour. We stayed for two nights in a location that was perfect and nearby the market as well as walkable to all Charleston's very special places. Our room faced the street and was comfortable but small. Bathroom, too, was small. Closet space was sufficient yet difficult to utilize since it was so close to the door in the room. Despite these room issues, the inn itself was quite remarkable. It was gaily decorated for the holidays and the staff was wonderful. The evening social included jumbo shrimp and various canapes one night and other dips and specialty appetizers another night. You truly could make a meal of these tasty treats if you wanted, but, alas, Charleston's magnificant restaurants beckon one to leave room for an evening of dining and driking. Wine during the social hour, too, flowed freely, and the atmosphere in which it was served was elegant but relaxed. We also enjoyed use of the bicycles to ride around town. All in all, Vendue Inn is a very special place and next time, I would hope for a room upgrade. With that, there is a certainty that this inn would score a five!!!

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a larger, more spacious and updated room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Charming, clean, and comfortable. We picked this Inn out if the Select Registry book of B&Bs. We stopped in Charleston on our trek back to the chilly Northeast after some time in Florida. We were upgraded to a larger room and given a bottle of wine as a welcome gift. Ehen we arrived we were greeted by the most wonderful and friendly staff .. esp. CROSBY .. Breakfast was excellent .. we will definitely return !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Vendue Inn is very convenient to most of the great attractions in Charleston's historic district. Continental breakfast is free and a great full beakfast is reasonable. The building is beautiful, but the rooms can vary widely. We have stayed twice in larger rooms with fireplaces and they are great. The service is very friendly. The hotel serves a very nice free happy hourvwith drinks and snacks.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federalsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Vendue Inn in Charleston, SC. The inn has the cozy feel of a bed and breakfast. Even before our arrival, we were contacted by the concierge with an offer to recommend restaurants and activities. The service was top notch from the moment we arrived and we could not have been made to feel more welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second stay at Vendue. It exceeded all of our expectations as it did the first time. The location is wonderful, so close to everything. The breakfast is made to order and delicious. The afternoon wine and cheese party is always a fun time to meet other Inn visitors. The concierge was very helpful. We have stayed in many places in downtown Charleston, this is always our favorite!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.