We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Federalsburg
1 review
“My New Favorite City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Vendue Inn in Charleston, SC. The inn has the cozy feel of a bed and breakfast. Even before our arrival, we were contacted by the concierge with an offer to recommend restaurants and activities. The service was top notch from the moment we arrived and we could not have been made to feel more welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    263
    75
    49
    38
See reviews for
103
809
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second stay at Vendue. It exceeded all of our expectations as it did the first time. The location is wonderful, so close to everything. The breakfast is made to order and delicious. The afternoon wine and cheese party is always a fun time to meet other Inn visitors. The concierge was very helpful. We have stayed in many places in downtown Charleston, this is always our favorite!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved our stay. Great for exploring the many places in Charleston. Also shopping and dining was great. The staff at the Inn was so friendly, from the housekeeping to the Inn keeper.
The Concierge service was exemplary. He could not have fulfilled all our requests any better than he did. The breakfas was great also

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and beautifully decoratged. Nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a 7 hour drive, check in was quick and responsive and our room was ready, it was a one bedroom king suite with a fire place and a beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The location is wonderful, close to shopping, reataurants, etc. The hospitality at the hotel was more than expected and as loyalty members we not only got a wonderful breakfast daily, we also got turn down service in the evening. The bellmen, servers, and all other staff we came in contact with seemed to really care and ensure your experience was a good one. My husband and I will go back to the Vendue on our next trip to S. Carolina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Venude is well located for walking, shopping, dining in Charleston. The rooms are typical of the period, but tend to be a bit from-frou for me. Breakfast is included if you join the loyalty program, and despite being neither a banana lover nor french toast lover, I yearn for the Banana Fosters French Toast - so good, but pass on the maple syrup, no need for that! Staff is warm and friendly, and it's fun to partake in the afternoon reception to meet other guests and enjoy the ample appetizers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I have been waiting with anticipation to explore Charleston SC. We wanted to experience Charleston and its southern hospitality and charm. The Vendue Inn did it for us! Perfect location. Unbelievably friendly staff. We extended our stay because of them. We can not remember being treated better and any other hotel. Our room had an old world charm, complete with a fireplace and the most comfortable bed. We were in the Inn across the street which was very handy because public parking is right next door. Do not be nervous to drive to this Inn. It is very easy. Because you are right down town, everything is within walking distance. More restaurants than you can count. (My favorite was Pearlz Oyster Bar). The Vendue Inn offers a free breakfast, don't miss it, and a managers social hour of a free cocktail (excellent wine) and great hors d'oeuvres. We will never forget it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Vendue Inn really surpassed our expectations by going out of their way to make our trip a memorable one. We received an upgrade when we arrived and everyone made sure we had all the information we needed to get around town. They have a nice included breakfast in the morning and bikes you can use to see the sights. Overall a very charming inn, great for a weekend away. I will definitely be revisiting. It is also close to a bunch of fantastic restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.